We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, location and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value, location and clean”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Based on recent reviews on Tripadvisor, I booked to stay here for 3 days, finding the cost, location and comfort of the beds to be what I hoped. They delivered! The Inn had been recently renovated, so it had decent decor, nice tile, carpets and good tv and mattress. It is next door to a pancake restaurant, across the street from a good bagel shop (had Seattle's Best coffee!), and centrally located between the beaches and golf plantations. At $89 a night, includes taxes---a bargain the end of June! The manager told me about the Palmetto bugs--keep the door shut, they fly towards the lights--we never saw any.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We thank you for your positive review. We hope that the next time you are planning a trip to Hilton Head you will stay with us.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    153
    72
    36
    40
See reviews for
134
165
35
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Johns
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed just for one night and for sleeping only - the location was great. Very convenient to family who were in Shipyard. If I were staying for an extended time - I would not find this place up to snuff. But, for one night it was okay.

It is clear this is an older, really older motel. It used to be smoking for sure.. there is still hints of it in the rooms. But is it your basic lodging - so, for the price it was fine for the purpose it served.

If you go in knowing this and have reasonable expectations - you'll be fine!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ALoJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Went over to HHI for a short overnight trip and booked here at the last minute. I could not have been more pleased at the great value of this hotel. Everything was great -friendly check in that took less than 3 minutes, mid-island location was perfect, the room was spotless and appeared recently renovated. Even better, checkout was at NOON, just fabulous. The room was not huge so might not be ideal for a long trip if someone was going to be spending a lot of time in the room, but was perfectly sufficient for a shorter trip. Bed was SO comfortable, just as nice as those at hotels at two and three times the price. This was such an amazing deal. We definitely plan to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegfoodie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you as our guest again.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

after reading some of the previous reviews I decided to call the property manager and just ask if some of the issues had been settled , I spoke with Chris , she indicated that she had only taken over the management of this particular location approx. 6-8 months ago , there was reports of palmetto bugs and roaches in the rooms , well first off if you are below the mason Dixon line you better be ready to see a few palmetto bugs , and no they are not as big as Volkswagens , bottom line , Chris told me that since her arrival the rating of this hotel has risen in a very good way , we did not see any bugs in our room , exceptionally clean , pool was clean , it was everything Chris had described and we will go back , thank you Chris , we had a great time,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello it was a pleasure meeting you. I am pleased you had a great time while here.
I hope that the next time you and the family are visiting Hilton Head you will come back and see us.
Call me personally and I would be happy to take care of making your reservation and extending a preferred rate
Chris Anselmo
GM
843-686-6808
email I0148@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I can only add to recent positive reviews. This hotel met all my expectations (clean room, recently refurbished decor, comfy bed, quit location) and exceeded those around service. I was always impressed with the help I received from the front desk as well as the cleaning staff. True Southern hospitality.
My only warning is to those who expect a free breakfast bar as offered by similar chains. This hotel has coffee and muffins but little else. Not a deal-breaker for me. And as many have already pointed out, there are two fine breakfast restaurants and a mini mart within 100 yards.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DE-Touron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed yourself while you were here.
We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Hilton Head.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Red Roof at Hilton Head has a great location and is very close to the waterfront that has great restaurants, shops and the Shannon Tanner kid show. It is only a few miles from the beach and is clean, one of the only places on the Island that allows pets to stay free and is a nice place to stay for those on a budget. I have stayed at this motel about 7 or 8 times now and plan to continue staying there when I visit the Island since I do have pets. The staff is also very friendly. They also have rooms with a microwave and mini frig, which is very nice. Hilton Head is a beautiful area too and I love going there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review! At Red Roof we want you to feel like this is your home away from home. I will share your kind words with the staff. We look forward to having you as our guest.
See you soon.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was the perfect hotel. The location was good (3 miles from the beach), the price was amazing, and customer service just doesn't get any better. Everything was clean and stocked. No breakfast here, but there is a diner to the left of the hotel and gas station to the right. The pool looked good, but it was still too cold when I went. The staff seems to take pride in their work, not something you see everyday. By far the best Red Roof I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura27282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We value you as our guest. We look forward to having you stay again soon.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#25 of 28 in Hilton Head
599 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#18 of 28 in Hilton Head
615 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#20 of 28 in Hilton Head
624 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
848 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Property: Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Address: 5 Regency Pkwy, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3311
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing