We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location for a fantastic price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Fareham
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location for a fantastic price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Our first stay at a Red Roof Inn and what a wonderful experience. Very friendly staff, immaculate room with new wood flooring and very comfortable beds. Yes once again free WiFi (Sheraton hotels take note). To cap it all they are very pet friendly. It is also in an ideal location for the beaches and golf courses on Hilton Head. We will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We too think the new flooring makes a wonderful difference. I will share your positive comments with the staff.
Please come and see us again next time you are on Hilton Head Island.
Chris Anselmo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    144
    62
    32
    31
See reviews for
122
147
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great experience.Friendly staff,pet friendly,brand new hardwood floors and matresses,great housekeeping and affordable price.The hotel has very friendly,helpful and professional staff.Jayme and Tammy were great.Would recommend and visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethO832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for your postive review. I am glad Tammy was helpful, and will share your words with her and the team. We hopw to see you again soon.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

For being on Hilton Head in the middle of the places we wanted to go, this was very reasonable. Anything of comparable price was not on the island itself, and it's a pretty big island so that isn't very close at all. For the $90 or so we paid, we got a newly redone room with flat screen TV and laminate floors. Parking was very full, but it's not a big property so even parking on the other side of the building wasn't that bad.

Only negative was no included breakfast. They did have 24 hour coffee in the lobby though.

I should also mention they have a stupid policy of a $1.50 surcharge for the room safe. You need to say you didn't use the safe at the start of checking out, otherwise you get stuck with this. We tried to tell them we wouldn't use the safe on check-in, and they said "well, if the staff knew who used the safe and who didn't, we could just follow you up and rob you." Really. I think they might need to work on that message.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smackfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I work in a feild that can be very pyhsically demanding, and time consuming. Ten to fourteen hour days can really take a toll on your body. My father and I had stayed with another hotel on the island before we decided to check out the Red Roof Inn.

Let me tell you how big of a mistake that other hotel was. With college spring breakers waking us up at 3:00 Am no wifi and horrible beds, i was begining to get testy and easily aggitated.

When I walked into our room at the Red Roof Inn I instantly knew that this is were we should have been all along. Jayme the very kind receptionist who checked us in called us in very short order just to make sure everything in the room was fine.

This is the best part though, the beds are brand new. They rooms still smell like a brand new house. When i fall asleep and find myself waking up fully refreshed and ready to go an hour or more before i had set my alarm. Thats amazing.

Jayme has done a great job making sure that we enjoyed our stay. When you go down to the office for coffee she tells you wich pot is freshest, and is also a great conversationalist.

WiFi works great, great selection of channels on the flat screen tvs (3*hdmi connections, sd card reader, and vga)

This is a great hotel, from the fluffy towels signature brand new beds and bedding, perfectly sized pillows, and friendly understanding and knowledgable staff.

These guys have youto covered.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boostew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review. Jayme is always very helpful and I am glad she added to your stay. We do hope to see you again soon.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is set in a tree-lined lot. Recent renovations didn't make it "brand new," but it sure was nice (especially the rate). We stayed on the lower level near the outdoor pool. The back units overlook a tree-lined parking lot (not a fence like other units) and have places outside to lock up bikes.

I liked our unit's floors, which mimicked wood. I am not a fan of rugs in motels/hotels because they get worn quickly. In this case, the only rug in the room was placed between our two beds. Walking on a rug prior to getting into bed shakes the dust off feet, whereas walking on a standard floor in the rest of the unit gave us the impression of cleaness.

Great Internet connections!

There is no breakfast service (outside of coffee), but you do get a 10% discount on food served next door at a popular breakfast and lunch restaurant.

Note that a large portion of the island is off limits as corporations with huge amounts of cash has walled it off. Nasty stuff. Tourists who are not guests of the wealthy or are not staying at a resort are limited to roaming the main park and neighborhoods that branch off that park. This is not to say that one's stay will not be nice, but it should set your expectations have you never visited before.

In terms of really nice tourist experiences, drive for about an hour over to Savannah, GA, and enjoy their Old Town and Riverfront area. Make a point of getting goodies at Savannah Candy Kitchen and The Peanut Shop. The Riverfront area is beautiful, has many restaurants/bars, standard tourist shops, and many places to sit and enjoy the beautiful area. Old Town, of course, is spectacular. For a little longer ride, visit Tybee Island just outside of Savannah.

Room Tip: Next door is a fab restaurant that specializes in breakfast and lunch (closed in the evening). Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you liked the newly renovated rooms, and agree the plank flooring is really a nice addition. We hope you will come and visit with us again.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

So we showed up at the SC Welcome Center on a Saturday night looking for a hotel on Hilton Head Island, SC. Spring Break Weekend. Ha Ha. Everything was booked except the last room at the Red Roof Inn. Never stayed at a Red Roof Inn but the price was right. Booked the hotel over the phone. Arrived 45 minutes later was was pleasantly surprised. New, renovated property with work station, large flat screen TV, Microwave, Fridge, safe, and a king sized bed. All redone 30 days ago. Cost for the night $79 plus tax. HBO, and free wifi included. No at this price no breakfast but within walking distance of numerous restaurants including a very nice pancake restaurant next door. Very nice hotel for the money vs. the $300 and up properties around here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Great value, nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I would like to say it was a pleasure having you here, I enjoyed meeting you when you checked in. I will share your postive words with the team. I do hope you will visit again.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I booked my room at the Red Roof because it is pet friendly. However, sometimes those "pet rooms" have a smell. Not so, the rooms here have recently all been renovated. I took a basic room so had few amenities, but for what I paid I thought it was a great bargain. There was coffee in the lobby 24/7 and wifi in the rooms. It was clean and comfortable. I'd definitely stay again if I needed a room on Hilton Head Isl.

Room Tip: If you have a dog to walk frequently or have difficulty with steps, ask for a 1st. floor room. Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks for the great review and the great tips for the guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#19 of 29 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#17 of 29 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#23 of 29 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Property: Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Address: 5 Regency Pkwy, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing