We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for the Price, Great Location, Friendly People” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel for the Price, Great Location, Friendly People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had never been to Hilton Head before. We have a Yellow Lab so a hotel that accepted pets was imperative. The Red Roof Inn here was very clean, and accepted pets. It was centrally located near all we wanted to visit. There was a breakfast restaurant right in the parking lot (Stacks) that was great for morning food. The people in the hotel were friendly, and the overall stay was nice. The room was clean. The mattressess at Red Roof need to be upgraded. The A/C system rattled a bit. The internet was fast and free. We got a special since I am a loyalty card holder so the value was excellent for what we paid. I would go back.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel faces the forest so there was less noise. And it was easy to walk the dog bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBillH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for the nice review, our guests are very important to us and your comments help us improve the stay for all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to Hilton Head.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    139
    57
    30
    30
See reviews for
115
144
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We like staying here on quick weekend getaways. Rooms are always clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. We usually get a King superior, but this time we tried the two room king. This worked out great for us as I am up earlier than my wife. Location is great being in the center of the island.

Room Tip: Be sure to go to Fresh Market for your snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Bill C: Thank you for taking the time to post a trip advisor review on your stay at the Red Roof Inn Hilton Head. I am pleased to see that you had a great stay and thank you for letting others know of this. I am glad you liked our King Suite; it is nice having that extra room. I hope to have you as a guest again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I checked in and was no toliet tissue in the bathroom,1 large towel for 2 people.The floors were not vaccumed and the in the bathroom you could see dirt and hair all in the corners and the side of toliet had not been wiped off.That night a roach was seen crawling up the side of my bed and the next mornning I was waken to a spider over my face in bed.This is beside no parking cause big trucks with trailers pulled in taking up 5 spaces and the Man running the front desk was so rude to tell us that spiders are all on Hilton Head.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mawmawangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and I sincerely apologize. I understand your dissatisfaction and concern. Any report of insects in a room is considered very serious at our hotel. Quick and decisive action is taken. The reported room is immediately put out of order. A professional pest elimination company is called to thoroughly inspect and treat the room.

The housekeeping issues that you mentioned are not typical at our hotel. I hope you will give us a try the next time you are in Hilton Head, I am sure you will have a great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here with my young daughter in July. It was a spontaneous trip booked on my iPhone, and there was some confusion at check-in (that the front desk clerk quickly resolved). While we were waiting, one of the employees graciously went out of his way offered my daughter a drink from the juice machine, which was off since it was past breakfast time.

Our room was fine for the price and location (Google Maps does NOT have this location marked properly, be warned, it's MUCH easier to get to, right off the main drag toward Sea Pines). While the bathroom was pretty tiny, it didn't really bother either of us. The pool was great -- clean and the area safe and comfortable, and she spent as much time as possible there, when we weren't roaming the island where I used to live.

I couldn't find a channel suitable for her to watch when I was showering, etc, so I was glad to have brought coloring books and the iPad along.

The staff was very helpful getting us to a beach with free parking, and we got there early enough that we got a great space. There's a BP right in front of the hotel, which is extremely nice for grabbing a quick snack before settling in for the night.

We were a bit late getting out of our room, but we weren't charged extra for a slight late check-out. I didn't want to leave the room sandy and yucky from our morning on the beach (I've worked guest services in hotels before and have great respect for housekeeping!) so I was glad I wasn't charged for trying to help tidy.

Thanks for helping my daughter have a great first trip to the beach!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice comments about your stay with us. I hope you bring your daughter back to visit us again in the near future. We will make sure the juice and pool are ready for her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coneyrs Ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I love the area that the hotel was in... The pool was outdoor and open all times except for bad weather like tornadoes ... The housekeeping did a great job with towels and washcloths ...The nathroom was very clean and rooms were clean ..The room smelled like smoke but that was a minor issues...Location was good .. not too far from the beach....carpet clean and flat screen tv was included ..

The vending machines made no sense 1.85 for a 1 liter .. There was a gas station in walking distance from the hotel and a restaurant as well ..

Room Tip: Highly recommended if you cant afford all the resort and plantation costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tremble003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Was very worried about staying here. As a recently singe parent, vacations are now on a budget. Usually stayed in resorts on these types of trips. This place was great. Minutes from the beach. Clean room, everything was brand new, carpet, bedding, flat screen tv, and the bath was recently remodeled. Looked like it had never been used before. Cleaned daily with fresh towels and trash taken out. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Like I stated before, I am picky and used to staying in resorts. About the only thing I can say could be improved, is the breakfast. Not much to pick from.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor in the first building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Booked from priceline for a last minute family vacation. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Location and price was a plus also. Hotel also had a very light continental breakfast in the office which I did not see on the website. The only thing I would have liked would be coffee and fridge in our room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#19 of 28 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#17 of 28 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Property: Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Address: 5 Regency Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing