We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Vacation Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
1 review
“Amazing Vacation Destination”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Beautiful hotel with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and work diligently to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Good food, entertainment, and activities available to make your trip your own.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Luther Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,811
    710
    243
    90
    38
See reviews for
1,183
1,099
55
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2014

A nice stay. However, the hotel is not up to Omni Hotel & Resort standards. Maybe in 2015 when all the rooms are renovated it will make a significant improvement. Staff was not as friendly as expected at this particular resort. Great location!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This resort is beautiful, clean and has friendly helpful staff. We stayed at the resort last year and came back a second time. Enjoyed the pool and children's facilities and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I am shocked over any bad reviews for this location. I did a ton of research before choosing the Omni and absolutely have zero regrets. My husband, myself and our three daughters (ages 14, 12, & 8) were visiting Hilton Head Island for the first time and absolutely loved the location of the Omni and the facility itself. Here's a breakdown:

1. Rooms: We actually had an amazing room on the 5th floor (Room 582). It was on the inside (so overlooking pool areas) with a stunning view of the beach. If you don't request it, you could be on the other side which overlooks the parking lot. The Room itself was incredibly spacious for all 5 of us - we had 2 queen beds and a rollaway and still had so much room to move around. These complaints that the rooms are in dire need of a makeover are ridiculous. Unless you look closely, you truly do not even know - they were absolutely fine and it was great having the kitchenette area. But once they do complete renovations, there should be no complaints.

2. Location: We didn't really understand the whole plantation thing before we went but now it all makes sense. The Omni is in Palmetto Dunes and is in a perfect location - easy access to Sea Pines Plantation (and therefore Harbortown); the Omni has incredible views of the sunrise; Harbortown has the best sunsets; the Omni is about midway down the island so if you go to Skull Creek Boathouse (highly recommend for dinner - but get there EARLY), located more in the beginning of HHI or to Salty Dog Cafe at South Beach or Quarterdeck in Harbortown, they are all easy to get to. You do have to pay a daily entrance fee of $6 to get into Sea Pines. Some people complain about this - I say get over it.

Also, the Omni has such a great set up with being SOOOOO close to the beach (short boardwalk between pools and beach). We loved it. We strategically parked our car each night and would unload our chairs and umbrella each day and setup on the beach for the day - make sure you pay attention to tides...high tide is pretty high and low tide is pretty low. The water was incredibly warm and perfect!

3. Activities: My kids loved playing in the pools - my husband and I even made it over to the adult pool one day. People do seem to save chairs even if they are not going to be there for long stretches of time. Kind of annoying but I get it so we ended saving some because we would be back and forth between the beach and pool. They played ping pong, giant checkers and we love the corn bags game located just outside the indoor cafe. We also brought our s'mores stuff to use at the firepits - lots of fun.

Bikes: We rented bikes ($10 for 1 hour; $15 for 2 hours, $20/day or $45 for the week), We had so much fun riding along the beach and bike paths - it's so incredible easy because it's so flat! HIGHLY recommend doing this.

Walking the beach in the morning: We got up at 6:30 every morning to walk the beach and watch the sunrise. We had a cup of coffee with us and it was perfect!!!! You always see the dolphins then which is amazing.

Horse Riding: We went to Lawton Stables in Sea Pines and did the 1-hour horse ride through the paths. It was VERY cool. We even saw some alligators in the waters which from a distance was pretty neat.

Jet Skiing: We rented a triple and a double jet ski (waverunner) at Palmetto Bay and had an amazing time - also saw dolphins then.

Shopping: Loved the shopping at Harbortown. We weren't as impressed walking around Coligny Plaza but worth the trip. There are a ton of outlets also if that's what you're looking for.

Fireworks: So on Tuesday's in the plantation right across the street (Shelter Cove) from Palmetto Dunes are fireworks (around 9pm). There are shops and restaurants so there is plenty to do beforehand. It gets a little crazy after but I think it's worth it.

Sand Dollars: These are amazing to find. At low tide, if you go in and feel around with your feet, you will feel scores of them. You can then reach down and pick them up - very cool. You are not suppose to take them since they are "alive" but clearly people were not following that.

4. Hotel Food: So we would normally grad a light breakfast at the cafe and then eat lunch at the Pool Restaurant. It can get pretty busy around lunch. The waitstaff are nice but we loved when we had Courtney - he was so incredibly friendly and made sure we had good service! Then we would go off-plantation for dinner....so many great restaurants!!!! The earlier you can get there, the less of a wait!

5. Savannah, GA: We even made a day trip to Savannah...very cool. It's less than an hour's drive although I think you can also take a ferry ride. We drove and then did the Old Town Trolley Tour - loved it and it gave is a great taste of Savannah.

I'm not sure what else to add but I do know we have ZERO complaints about the hotel - the room, the staff, the activities, the pools, the location, etc....all perfect!!!! We will absolutely be back and wouldn't plan on staying anywhere else!
Room Tip: Request 5th Floor, inside view (meaning overlooking pool areas and grounds - we had an amazing view...

Room Tip: If you are looking for a great ocean view, ask for inside view of hotel grounds...we were in Room 58...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Mom2Three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We reserved an oceanview room at the Omni for a 3 evening stay. I have stayed at Omni resorts in the past and those experiences were the primary reason I choose Omni for this trip. As a Marriott member we typically stay at the Marriott Ocean Grande when on HHI and that is where we will be going back to. Beware of booking an oceanview room, ask about specific location as our Ocean View room was a view of a large parking lot, tree tops and a glimpse of the water. I spoke with the front desk staff and they tried to explain the "structure of the building" and why it is like that...which I understand...but it should NOT be listed as Ocean View. I would have much rather paid far less (or the same) for a courtyard view. I requested a move however the courtyard rooms were booked. The front desk staff did offer to lower our rate however it was a very small reduction that still didnt equal a rate comparable to what that room and view should command. The pool CONSISTENTLY ran out of towels multiple times per day. Bring your own towels if you can to avoid this. Pools are relatively small and full, chairs are all claimed by 8 AM so get one early! Also, info online eluded to activities for kids and live music poolside but we founf this not to be true. There was no live music at all and no activities for kids (we typically stay at Marriott Ocean Grande where there are activities planned for kids and adults throughout the day). 2 single restrooms at the pools (we did not visit the adult only pool as our son was with us), and there was often a wait...faster to go to your room. We did lunch 3 days at the Buoy bar and while the menu was limited the food was always very good, hot, fresh. Wait staff was very attentive and kind as well. Overall, not the Omni experience we are used to having and we left fairly disappointed with the experience. We will be going back to the Ocean Grande for future stays on HHI.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. I was worried about the reviews on Trip Advisor but attempted anyhow. I was happy we did! Our kids enjoyed the pools, we enjoyed the room service and poolside service. The front desk staff was so accommodating even at 3 am! Housekeeping was so pleasant and welcoming. Only issue, chairs by the pool...you have to get there early, like before 12. Many people put towels down to "reserve" their chair but never (for three hours) came to use the chair agh. The Resort has a beach chair & umbrella rentals (so you don't have to deal with the lifeguards) and bike rental service as well! We'll be back next year.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at the Omni for our wedding anniversary. We loved the resort's pools: one with beach entry and many areas to sun and one an adult pool with cocktail service and cabanas, both overlooking the ocean. Easy access to the restaurants (casual deli with drinks and more upscale steak house that offers full breakfast in the morning), beach rentals, and fitness center. Each night we were greeted with a special amenity for our special weekend. The fresh baked bread and lemonade and strawberries with champagne were awesome. Our King room had a kitchenette and seating area in it with a balcony and patio furniture which made it very easy to stock some snacks and drinks for utmost comfort. This hotel is family friendly and we didn't really see a lot of couples. Regardless, the hotel was nice and comfortable and we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
270 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
817 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Property: Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Address: 23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oceanfront Resort Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Hotel Head
Hilton Oceanfront Hotel Head Island
Hilton Head Island Hilton Oceanfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing