We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The pool bar closes at 6:00 and the night life is dismal other than that it was a great experience expect for the security lady. We were there for a family wedding and the night of the wedding was the only night at the hotel it had a night life.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,018)
There are newer reviews for Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,294 - 2,300 of 3,018 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have stayed in several hotels at Hilton Head and the Omni is the best by far. The size of the room make you feel like you are in a suite. The grounds makes you feel like you are in a special place and not at a typical hotel that could be located anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel looks old and dated. For $300 + per night to sit on a plastic couch is ludicrous. This I would expect from a motel 6 and not an Omni. The hallways are dark and appear dirty. Although there are new hallway light fixtures all of them without exception were dimly lit and installed crooked! The resort fee is also a bone of contention. I don't drink coffee or use internet / WiFi yet I was charged for both. Management refused to prorate the resort fee to accommodate me. The pool area is poorly serviced - there was trash and piles of used towels everywhere. Also the pool security was overbearing. I would expect to wear an armband at a lesser resort but not here. I came down early one morning without my husband/bracelet and was told summarily to leave the area until I could come down with the proper band in place. I gave them my room number and name but that was not enough and was required to leave the pool until I came back with my bracelet. There is no other resort of your caliber that I have stayed in that has such stringent and guest unfriendly policies.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
5  Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The resort was pretty consistent with what all the reviews had said! Room was large and clean! Pools were nice except for the 2 days we couldn't swim in the big pool because some child pooped in there! Service was good except pool side .. Very slow! Breakfast at HH Prime was awful!!!! Don't pay the 17.95 for the buffet!That's a huge ripoff!!! Eggs were powdered and everything else was just mediocre at best! Made that mistake once and didn't do it again! Look at options for breakfast like the general store which is a 15 minute walk from the resort! That place is a gold mine!! Worth it and cheap! We did take advantage of the free coffee in the mornings by using our omni preferred card! The location to everything was a huge plus! Beach access was great and my son loved the basketball court! We would definitely stay again ..We just wouldn't eat there!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband & I were so disappointed in the Omni Resort & the management that we checked out early & went to another hotel. For starters, ceiling fan was broken, food was in cabinets (looked like sunflower seeds??), furniture was broken (drawers fell down when opened), when I called to speak to the General Manager (Andy), he responded by saying, Housekeeping didn't tell me about these issues. Did I mention how the elevators weren't air conditioned & reeked of urine??? Oh when I mentioned the multi-million $ renovation to Andy... I was told it was only on the property, not the rooms. No where was this mentioned. The only thing "Omni" about this hotel is the price. There are far better hotels than this one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
9  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniHiltonHead, General Manager at Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort. As General Manager of the Resort, I can assure you that these incidents are far below the standards we adhere to. We have passed along your feedback to the appropriate departments and resolved each item. As Andy, Assistant Front Office Manager, mentioned, we have completed renovation of all public areas of the hotels and will renovate the guest rooms this November. We do hope you decide to return to the Omni at this time and experience the outstanding service I know our team provides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our stay was beautiful from start to finish. The room we requested had a spectacular view of the beach and pool, and the accommodations were gracious and very comfortable, especially the bed and sheets. I love the little extras that were offered such as the morning in-room coffee service and complimentary sparkling wine we unexpectedly received in honor of our anniversary! The breakfast package was more of a benefit than I anticipated, with a wide variety of quality dishes. My wife enjoyed relaxing besides the fire-pit, and the live music was a delightful plus. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The resort is in a beautiful setting with a very big beach. The rooms are very spacious, with a small kitchen area, featuring granite countertops and fully stocked cabinets. I was pleasantly surprised to find plates,cups cutlery and even a toaster in the kitchen. As food prices on the resort are high, I would suggest bringing supplies in from a nearby food market. Our terrace overlooked the gardens and was very relaxing. Two situations made this a less than perfect escape. First, the service in the restaurants is very, very slow. Second, there were small children everywhere!! The adult pool was not heated but the other two pools were completely dominated by families with small children. The fire pits at night would've been relaxing but they were also overrun by unsupervised children. Ditto on the hot tubs in the evening. I needed to put ear plugs in to relax one morning. We were very impressed with the property but if you are an adult couple or group looking for a quiet beach escape,this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizcranwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Address: 23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $163 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oceanfront Resort Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Hotel Head
Hilton Oceanfront Hotel Head Island
Hilton Head Island Hilton Oceanfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing