We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Courtyard and pool areas are lovely,easy access to beach,great food at both restaurants,but rooms lack cleanliness.Spacious rooms with soft beds,dust filled ceiling fans and mold in bathrooms........avoid

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank mesettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniHiltonHead, General Manager at Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort. We appreciate your compliments on our Food & Beverage outlets. However, I apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations regarding our room product. I assure you this does not meet our standards. As you noted, phase one of our renovation has been completed on the hotel grounds, including the lobby and pool area. Phase two is scheduled to begin on the guest rooms. We hope you decide to return and give our resort a second chance once the renovation has been completed. I know we can exceed your expectations at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,803
    707
    242
    90
    37
See reviews for
1,174
1,096
55
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel setting was wonderful and relaxing. The weather was perfect. The meeting accommodations were ideal and provided areas where the speakers could be heard easily and slide presentations could be viewed without difficulty. The room temperature was comfortable. The food that was provided for breaks and for lunch was delicious and healthy. The access to internet within the hotel was not clearly addressed and explained at check-in of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff were very friendly. The breakfast at the restaurant was amazing a little pricey. The chicken quesadilla at the palmetto area was wonderful. The room was roomy & clean. Just a short walk to the pool & beach. Great relaxing vacation. Would recommend & would definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My 5-day stay at the Omni in Hilton Head was wonderful with a spacious room complete with a small kitchen and a balcony patio overlooking a beautiful courtyard. I could sit on the patio in the evenings and listen to the music below. The staff was very friendly and gracious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Celia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg PA, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

They charge $20 to use the pool even if you do not use it. I did not use it why should I pay for it. I booked a ocean view and got a tree view. Please cut down the trees so we can see the ocean. I paid a lot money to see the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank GARRET L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Beautiful setting, clean, and comfortable beds. No bell service was offered and we had to carry our luggage from the parking lot up the steps and to our room. No carts were availabe in the area we were in so we had to hand carry it in. Our room overlooked the courtyard and the ocean. Very Pretty and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The most disconcerting issue is the carpet tack strips (in the middle of the floor separating the tile from carpet areas) which jabbed into our feet due to the tacks being longer than the carpet thickness -- hope we don't get a deadly disease from sharing these bloody needle-like tacks with previous guests.

The hotel had a nice pool area, but the buildings were dated inside and out, with stucco applied like peanut butter, some rotted wood hanging loose, and open-air hallways. Doors were constantly being slammed and barking dogs in the halls could be heard from all other rooms on the floor.

Our "studio ocean view" room was large and had a balcony (sliding door with no screen). Balcony overlooked the parking lot (with the ocean in the distance) and was nice except for a wasp nest and a resident tarantula-size spider.

Nice 42" LCD TV and granite countertops throughout, but the ceiling was cracked and very poorly-patched in more places than we could count. HVAC was quiet, but mini-fridge was very loud.

The bed was very comfy but mattress was old -- the center of the mattress was caving in like a sinkhole causing us to roll into one another.

The bathroom was a bit moldy, and body contortions were needed to reach the toilet paper.

Fire-ants and sand-spurs were covering the walkways from the pools to the beach (wear shoes and walk fast).

We stayed 4 nights and didn't use 6 out of the 7 items that make up the $18 daily "Resort Fee", but all guests pay the same regardless. The resort fee is for in-room coffee machine [normally free at all other hotels], WiFi [normally free with SelectGuest membership], local phone service [we used our cell], shuttle transportation service [we used our own car], fitness center [we walked on the beach instead], spa reservations [we didn't make any], and self parking.

Staff seemed friendly. Apple bowls at the front check-in desk were often empty, but the lobby had some flavored water dispensers, and free bottled water was also provided in the room. Called front desk for housekeeping & engineering but we gave up after waiting an hour for them to show up.

Handicap access is poor (a parking lot is right next to the rooms but there are stairs and no ramp nearby for a wheelchair or luggage).

Hotel has a restaurant and convenience store. No free breakfast (a morning breakfast buffet is around $18/person).

When driving around the area, note that many sections are gated communities and the guard will not permit you to enter unless you're staying there, and some areas of the island (such as Sea Pines which we visited for no reason and were disappointed) will require you to pay cash to enter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
813 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Property: Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Address: 23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oceanfront Resort Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Hotel Head
Hilton Oceanfront Hotel Head Island
Hilton Head Island Hilton Oceanfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing