We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great amenities, great beach access, average room condition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in a Traditional One Bedroom Suite. It was 750 sq ft with a separate bedroom which came in handy with the baby. There are only eight of these in the resort, and there are 20 additional one bedroom suites which are even larger. If you are trying to decide which to book here are some details on the views you could expect. I tried to find this information before I booked and had some difficulty. The Traditional 750 sq ft one bedrooms are on floors 2-5. They are on the outsides only of the U-shaped wings, which means they all have "resort views." This means a partial view of the ocean (depending on how high up you are) and the parking lot. They are right in the middle of the wing, which is nice for bringing in stuff from your car but they are the first room right next to the elevators and share the bedroom wall with the linen closet used by housekeeping and the vending/ice machines. We did hear noise from the linen closet, but not and night and it wasn't bothersome. The room had two balconies (one off the bedroom and one off the living room). The regular rooms just have one balcony.

The larger 1000 sq ft one bedrooms are all on the very tips of the U shaped wings on floors 1-5. The rooms on the first floor are a little cheaper and will have views of the parking lot and/or pools depending on which one of the four you end up with. The rooms on floors 2-5 will have an oceanview, getting better as you get higher, but will still overlook the pool areas. The pool areas can get loud when it is busy and there is not much privacy on your balconies if that is a concern.

The pools were top notch and the beach access was fabulous. There was a little splash pad and a playground for kids and the hotel rents bikes and arranges kids activities every day. I could tell they weren't quite done with their construction, but it wasn't anything bothersome. For example, a few workers were still installing hand rails on the new decking around the pools. They have also recently installed many new palms which don't have leaves yet so the pool area is not very shaded unless you can snag a seat under an umbrella.

The rooms were very comfortable for sleeping with great linens and pillows and a very dark blackout curtain. The only complaint we have was the doors between the bedroom, bathroom and living room were very cheap and thin. They were obviously old with chipping and peeling paint. The one between our bedroom and living room was so painted over that it literally could not be closed, which defeated the purpose of paying for the one bedroom suite. However, this was a very minor problem and on the whole the hotel and grounds were spectacular and I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reed13ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,050 - 3,056 of 3,079 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

I planned to stay at this hotel for a 2 day business trip and decided to make a week of it. When I pulled into the hotel drive I thought I was going to be disappointed because the outside looked very worn but don't let the outside fool you. It was very nicely finished with large nicely appointed guest rooms. Each room has a kitchenette and seating area. While the hotel was sold out over the Memorial day weekend it did not feel over crowded. There were always plenty of beach chairs. The best part of the stay was by far the service. All the staff were very attentive and went out of their way to say hello and ask me how my day was and ask me if I needed anything. The Onmi is doing a great job!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lra1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We returned to the Omni to find the public area and pool renovations just completed. The new zero entry pool is an excellent addition, and the upgraded and expanded pool bar and decking are very nice. The sleeping rooms are still the largest we have seen, and clean. The bedding, especially the pillows, are very comfortable. The only complaint we could raise would be that the design of the bathroom / closet area makes for tight quarters when closet doors and bathroom door are open simultaneously - a minor inconvenience. All staff members are friendly, and deliver first class service. We dined at HH Prime for breakfast each morning and the food was delicious.
The fire pits in the common area between the buildings are a nice touch for an evening of relaxation.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard view. You get partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatFan323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathoudu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo S, General Manager at Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Raphaël W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo S, General Manager at Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heinrich-S01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo S, General Manager at Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank 966christels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo S, General Manager at Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Address: 23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $165 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oceanfront Resort Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Hotel Head
Hilton Oceanfront Hotel Head Island
Hilton Head Island Hilton Oceanfront Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing