We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have had a better stay anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Myersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Couldn't have had a better stay anywhere”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We were down for our son's Graduation from Marine Corps Boot Camp at Parris Island, and picked this hotel off the internet because the rates were better than comparable hotels in Beaufort and Savannah, and were subsequently glad we did! Not only was the site convenient to Parris Island and Savannah (less than 40 minutes) and of course close to the amenities at Hilton Head Island, the hotel infrastructure was top notch and the staff very accommodating to our party of 10 (4 rooms). We had to change around a room or two because of location, which was done easily thanks to Ryan at the front desk, and our recently graduated new Marine was given his first breakfast out of Boot Camp free of charge. Even the alligators in the pond behind the hotel made an appearance much to the delight of members of our party hoping to see one in the wild. Members of our group are already talking about coming back to this hotel in the future for another stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralojre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    225
    113
    55
    44
See reviews for
272
246
25
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 4 days this August 2010, we visit hilton head a couple times during the year. we normally stay at our timeshare, However we could not find a room at our timeshare, thus our stay at the hilton. i am very particular and a litle anal when it comes to our lodging, i waspleasantly suprised at how nice our stay turned out to be. hotel is very clean and very maintained very well. room is big enough for a couple. room was very clean. all in all an excellent choice for mid price lodging on hilton head island. two complaints-air unit when on is very, very loud. it will awaken you from your sleep until you get used to it. this is bothersome enough for me to reconsider staying at this location again. 2nd complaint- access to public entry for the beach .the entrance to the public entry on the beach is at the far end of the island at Coligny Plaza, some 20 minutes away. they should inform you of this when making your reservation. at the very least they shoud tell you whe you check in the location of the beach. full disclosure is required.
nevertheless, we enjoyed ourselves immensly. very good room for the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdyerinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Located on the mainland side of the IntraCoastal Waterway Bridge to the island, The Garden Inn is 15 minutes from Colignie Beach and South Beach. It is also 27 miles from Beaufort, Fripp Island, Hunting Island, Savannah and other great attractions. Because you are not "on the beach", rates are a lot lower, but you get GREAT Hilton quality with all the amenities...and without the crowds! The staff is fantastic, especially Ryan at the front desk, who handled all of our questions in a friendly and knowledgeable way, and went out of his way to help us enjoy our vacation... great "personal" touch. The pool area is very clean and uncrowded...all the great HI restaurants within a few minutes. Best kept secret" Pinckney Island Preserve is within biking distance...14 miles of beautiful nature trails, salt marshes, and wildlife on the Waterway.
Highly recommend the hotel for everyone, other than those who need the beach outside their doorway...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freekick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We got a great price on-line for the hotel and thought we would try it. We were pleasantly surprised! Would definately stay there again. Only two downfalls. One, the entrance and exit to the hotel are not easy to get into for the first time and getting out of it is not good especially at 5pm when everyone is leaving the island. The best thing to do is use the light at the gas station right before the entrance to the hotel made life a lot easier. Two, there isnt a complimentary breakfast. You have to purchase breakfast like a restaurant. Eventhough kids eat free under 12, it was still a bit pricey for a family of 6. However, the room had a nice refrigerator, microwave, and coffee area. The room we had had two queen beds and enough room for two twin blow up mattresses. We didnt feel cramped. They also have a wonderful wonderful pool which we seemed to have all to ourselves eventhough the hotel was busy. It was nice. The beach was only 15 minutes away taking the toll road, so we were pretty close.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We had a seven night stay reserved in April for a June stay. We had a 12 hour drive from Pennsylvania so we arrived at 9:00 p.m. They gave us our room and it was a SMOKING ROOM!! It smelled so bad it was unbelivable. They only have 2 smoking rooms in the whole place and we were lucky enought to get one. We complained but they had no rooms left. The next day we got another room for the remainder of our stay. The room was OK. But the pool was another story. The first couple days we were able to use it, but when we went out there in the evening it had many many frogs and crabs in it. We did not go in it for the rest of our stay. The best thing about the hotel was the price we paid for the room, which was reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspm15621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We love the Hilton Head area. We book trips just to come and eat at our favorite restaurants. This was our first visit to the Hilton Garden Inn. It is well situated just off the island and a quick drive to all places on the island. The room was spacious and the hotel has been remodeled nicely. However, as mentioned in other postings, the air conditioning is very noisey and woke us up every time it came on. We also did not like the new mattresses. "Wrapping us in comfort" did not apply. They are not pillow-top but more like "fuzzy material" top with a very hard core. We did not sleep comfortably at all. The walls are also thin. We heard our neighbors blaring their TV very late into the night; could not tell where it was coming from (above, below or next), so did not report it. Too bad, we visit this area often; but the HGI will not be on our return hotel list.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2tsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill on Sea England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We were travelling through the southern states and called into the Visitor Center. They actually booked this hotel for us. It is very new so very clean. Our room was at the back of the hotel so was very quite. We had two huge beds. Coffee/tea making facilities with iron and board. We did not have the breakfast as we wanted to get off early. The hotel was only about 10 mins from the beach. We took the trolly bus tour from the Visitor Center which was very near the hotel. I would definately stay at this hotel again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adnil48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
7.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#20 of 28 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
7.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Address: 1575 Fording Island Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Head
Hilton Head Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing