We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveler rating
174
118
33
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
118
33
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea pinestwin bedsbeach club next dooroldest marriottharbor town and south beachmarriott propertytime shareliving roomocean frontping ponggrand oceanhilton head islandan older propertyrented bikeswasher dryerfire pitheated pool
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 359 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2017

We had a terrible experience here. The rooms are old and very small. We were evacuated due to hurricane Irma on 9-12-17 still are not allowed back. No one has explained why and no one will accept or return calls. Thousands have lost their vacation time with Marriott Vacation Club here on the island (not just the Monarch) while other businesses have been back on track within 1 or 2 days after the storm (which was far from a hurricane on Hilton Head) Marriott Vacation Club is doing a terrible job with communications and customer service. We have been a Marriott owner for 27 years and always raved about the quality and service, but since Marriott Corp spun them off, things have been going steadily downhill. We are selling our 3 properties.

Room Tip: Don't book the Monarch, it is one of the oldest in the Marriott Vacation Club Chain and it shows.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nomadgdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We suffered significant damage due to the storm and are working diligently to get all resorts back open and fully operational. Our Owner and guest hotline offers the most up to date information at 800-306-9506 and is updated regularly. We look forward to reopening and welcoming you back to Marriott's Monarch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

We stayed in the Dogwood building but were still only a short walk to the beach. Our villa was extremely clean, well stocked and very nice. The staff is very knowledgeable and willing to help with any and all questions or issues. The pools and grilling area were very nice and having bike rentals onsite was great.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Brian, thank you for a perfect review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 8 years ago. I was happy to see that they amenities have improved. There were activities everyday that kept our 3 kids 9,11 and 14 busy. The loved the pools, shuffleboard, pool, ping pong and the hair braiding. The staff was very friendly all week. Some of my favorite things:
1. The beach storage... amazing! Loved leaving my beach chairs by the beach each night and not having to carry them everywhere.
2. Splurge and get the bracelet with the chip in it that doubles as your room keep.
3. Plethora of bike racks! We brought our own.
4. The sofa bed in the villa was the nicest I have ever seen. Soft comfy beds.
5. Clean villa! Great wifi.

Cons:
1. A housekeeping cart was left outside of our room all week. Odd. Not bothersome but not aesthetically pleasing either.
2. The bracelets with the keys in them were not available until the end of the week.
3. The pool cues were broken and there should be lights at the shuffleboard.
4. Parking can be tight if you come back late.

We will definitely be back. It is a safe and fun place for the whole family. The beach to the right is less crowded and honestly one of the best on the island! Sea Pines Beach Club has lunch, dinner and snacks just next door. Perfect location.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank pvbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Thank you for a perfect review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in Hilton Head. We hope you will join us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

We have been staying at the Monarch for almost 20 years now and always look forward to it. The villas are well equipped, clean, and comfortable. The grounds are well manicured with many amenities. Two pools, gas grills, shuffleboard, sun lawn, toddler water area, exercise room, billiards, and table tennis. They also have an organized activity or two each day. The rooms seem to be redecorated every so often which keeps them fresh looking.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KFCincy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Welcome back! We are so happy to hear you are enjoying your Ownership. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

This was an incredible experience! The rooms were very clean and the staff was great. The resort offers two pools, three hot tubs, beach access, and a bar/restaurant. There are also multiple games, discounted paddle board rentals, fitness classes, etc. This was such a wonderful experience. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Alexis, we are so happy to hear you had a great stay with us here at Marriott's Monarch! Thank you for taking the time to leave a perfect review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews