We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Nearby Hotels
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Grande Ocean(Hilton Head)
$454
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$153
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$209
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$218
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$271
$215
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
168
113
31
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
113
31
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea pinestwin bedsbeach club next doormagnolia buildingharbor town and south beachpools and hot tubsmarriott propertytime shareliving roomocean frontping pongsecond bedroomgrand oceanan older propertyvacation clubrented bikeshilton head island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 345 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just got back from a from a week at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines. Loved, loved, loved it. There was so much to do. Every morning, Monday - Friday, there was a choice of four aerobic/exercise classes with Michele. She is absolutely terrific! I felt like I had stumbled into a spa vacation. Also, loved the cocktail receptions, the breakfast, the Sea Pines tour with Caitlin, the outdoor games, the lunches. My only gripe with the hotel was that as much as I like kids, It would have been nice to have a bit more adult pool time. It would have been great if they could have designated the lap pool as an adult-only pool or at least to enforce the no flotation devices in the lap pool rule.

If you like the beach it was also very nice and very convenient. Even with a lot of people on it, it never felt crowded. The water was wonderfully warm however with that also comes jellyfish. I got a pretty bad sting on the second day I was there. It would have been nice to have been provided with some information as to what to do when stung as I hadn't a clue and made it worse not better.

As others have commented parking is a bit of a problem here particularly if you have two cars as we did but it's not as bad as everyone makes it sound. The second car is really the problem. If you only have one car you should be fine.

This was our first trip to Hilton Head and I can't wait to go back and when I do I will definitely stay at the Monarch!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marggreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here over Memorial Day week. Hilton Head is lovely, and Sea Pines is my favorite part of the Island. The units are quite large and spacious, equipped with everything you need for a pleasant stay. Our kids have a great time on the beach and taking tennis lessons at the nearby Stan Smith Academy. The location is very convenient and we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazelcrestmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have been coming here for 27 years. We have been an owner at Monarch for 25 of those years. The grounds are spectacular, nice pools, right on the best beach on the island and miles of bike paths at your doorstep. This is Marriott's original timeshare so it only has 1 master bedroom and 1 room with twin beds. However, all units face the ocean or the beautifully landscaped gardens. The décor is updated and refurbished on a regular basis . . . a friendly and helpful staff . . . at times the Camilia Building takes on a cluttered look with laundry carts all over the exterior hallways, but not the other buildings . . . hopefully they have corrected that problem.
Parking is very limited in summer and HHI is a zoo in the summer . . . we like fall, winter and spring.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your five-star review! We are truly thrilled to hear you both continue to enjoy your vacations at Marriott's Monarch! Your feedback is truly appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate managers at the resort. Thank you for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club community and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our American friends as they chose the hotel. As a European this was not worth the money. Old, wore down and way too expensive for what we got!
The beach was great and the resort for the kids was OK, but for me: I felt screwed! If all Americans want to go to Hilton Head I recommend another hotel. This was perhaps a fine hotel 30 years ago and desperately needs an update.

Stayed: August 2013
6  Thank Fetsund_NorwayGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for you review. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your stay. In order to further understand your issue, we would like to invite you to contact our customer care office at Customer.Care@VacationClub.com or by calling 1-800-860 9384. Thank you for staying with us at Marriott's Monarch and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have been coming here for over 20 years. We would not stay anywhere else on this island. I have stayed at multiple locations on Hilton Head and can honestly say this is hands down our favorite. Sure there have been problems in the past but the management has always been there to work through them. Parking is the number one issue right now and has been an issue ever since day one. That being said, I would still not stay anywhere else. The units are well maintained, the staff is always friendly, the beach is wonderful... It's quiet and family friendly with lots of activities throughout the week for kids.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jim_N_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your five-star review! As avid visitors such as yourself we are thrilled to hear we continue to enhance your vacation experience. Your comments are truly appreciated and will be shared with our team at the resort! Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews