We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families and adults too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
new york, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for families and adults too”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just got back from a from a week at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines. Loved, loved, loved it. There was so much to do. Every morning, Monday - Friday, there was a choice of four aerobic/exercise classes with Michele. She is absolutely terrific! I felt like I had stumbled into a spa vacation. Also, loved the cocktail receptions, the breakfast, the Sea Pines tour with Caitlin, the outdoor games, the lunches. My only gripe with the hotel was that as much as I like kids, It would have been nice to have a bit more adult pool time. It would have been great if they could have designated the lap pool as an adult-only pool or at least to enforce the no flotation devices in the lap pool rule.

If you like the beach it was also very nice and very convenient. Even with a lot of people on it, it never felt crowded. The water was wonderfully warm however with that also comes jellyfish. I got a pretty bad sting on the second day I was there. It would have been nice to have been provided with some information as to what to do when stung as I hadn't a clue and made it worse not better.

As others have commented parking is a bit of a problem here particularly if you have two cars as we did but it's not as bad as everyone makes it sound. The second car is really the problem. If you only have one car you should be fine.

This was our first trip to Hilton Head and I can't wait to go back and when I do I will definitely stay at the Monarch!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marggreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    108
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
174
87
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
woodlandstx
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here over Memorial Day week. Hilton Head is lovely, and Sea Pines is my favorite part of the Island. The units are quite large and spacious, equipped with everything you need for a pleasant stay. Our kids have a great time on the beach and taking tennis lessons at the nearby Stan Smith Academy. The location is very convenient and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazelcrestmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have been coming here for 27 years. We have been an owner at Monarch for 25 of those years. The grounds are spectacular, nice pools, right on the best beach on the island and miles of bike paths at your doorstep. This is Marriott's original timeshare so it only has 1 master bedroom and 1 room with twin beds. However, all units face the ocean or the beautifully landscaped gardens. The décor is updated and refurbished on a regular basis . . . a friendly and helpful staff . . . at times the Camilia Building takes on a cluttered look with laundry carts all over the exterior hallways, but not the other buildings . . . hopefully they have corrected that problem.
Parking is very limited in summer and HHI is a zoo in the summer . . . we like fall, winter and spring.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review! We are truly thrilled to hear you both continue to enjoy your vacations at Marriott's Monarch! Your feedback is truly appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate managers at the resort. Thank you for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club community and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fetsund, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our American friends as they chose the hotel. As a European this was not worth the money. Old, wore down and way too expensive for what we got!
The beach was great and the resort for the kids was OK, but for me: I felt screwed! If all Americans want to go to Hilton Head I recommend another hotel. This was perhaps a fine hotel 30 years ago and desperately needs an update.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Fetsund_NorwayGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for you review. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your stay. In order to further understand your issue, we would like to invite you to contact our customer care office at Customer.Care@VacationClub.com or by calling 1-800-860 9384. Thank you for staying with us at Marriott's Monarch and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have been coming here for over 20 years. We would not stay anywhere else on this island. I have stayed at multiple locations on Hilton Head and can honestly say this is hands down our favorite. Sure there have been problems in the past but the management has always been there to work through them. Parking is the number one issue right now and has been an issue ever since day one. That being said, I would still not stay anywhere else. The units are well maintained, the staff is always friendly, the beach is wonderful... It's quiet and family friendly with lots of activities throughout the week for kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_N_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review! As avid visitors such as yourself we are thrilled to hear we continue to enhance your vacation experience. Your comments are truly appreciated and will be shared with our team at the resort! Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A prerequisite for a SUCCESSFUL FAMILY VACATION in Hilton Head is a beach location. Not only is Monarch situated on a beautiful, wide beach in Sea Pines (across from the new Plantation Club and next to the also new Beach Club), its location is great for bike riding either to Harbor Town or South Beach. While this is Monarch's 30th anniversary it sure doesn't show its age as is evident by the renovations to modernize the units (spacious for a family of six) as well as the grounds. Monarch even offers a herb garden for its guests to use (its located adjacent to the fire pit - which is lit nightly). Oh, by the way, I forgot to mention there are two large ocean front pools and hot tubs. Another plus is that bikes are on property for rental - a real convenience. Monarch should be on anybody's short list if one is looking for a place that offers all the necessary attributes for a wonderful vacation memory.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffreyb406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have been staying at the Monarch for the last 15 years. It is Marriott's original timeshare property and they keep it decently updated. It's not the biggest, the best, nor does it have the amenities of other Marriott locations, but it is great for a family beach vacation. The rooms we always stay in contain a master suite, a second bedroom with two twin bed and attached full bath, kitchen, and living room with a queen size pull out bed that was probably the most comfortable pull out I have ever tried. There are LCD TVs in each bedroom and the living room. The living room also has a BluRay player. The full kitchen is decently stocked with plates, cookware, utensils, etc. If you plan on grilling on one of the 5 or 6 gas grill located at the gazebo and you're using a spatula, bring your own. The only spatulas in the unit are plastic. They do provide tongs that are about 12". There are two pools, three hot tubs, shuffleboard, a gas firepit, foosball, table tennis, covered lounges away from the pools, beach showers, and a children's water play area. Bikes, beach carts and chairs are all available for rent. There is also a decent fitness center. There are activities and events each day, some are free while you are charged for others. I feel that the Monarch's location is ideal. It is located next to the Sea Pines Beach Club (which is currently undergoing a sizable renovation) and across the street from the Sea Pines Plantation Club. It also seems to be in between Coligny Plaza, Harbourtown, and South Beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia Building which would not be my first choice, but it wasn't bad. When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KFCincy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We are pleased to hear you and your family had a comfortable stay at Marriott's Monarch. Your comments regarding your experience are helpful and greatly appreciated. The pull-out bed is indeed surprisingly comfortable! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.5 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
773 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
8.5 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines

Property: Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Address: 91 N Sea Pines Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Monarch At Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing