We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was in Hilton Head for 5 days and stayed at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines. Very nice location - quiet, access to a number of things within an easy drive and to some larger wildlife areas that are an hour or so away. I've been an MVCI owner for about 20 years, and have stayed at quite a few MVCI properties. This has to be one of the older ones. While the villa itself was very nice and seemed to have been updated, the buildings don't resemble the newer MVCI properties. Regardless of that, if you're going to be in the Hilton Head area and want a nice place that doesn't require the most points, Monarch at Sea Pines is a safe bet. I know I'll be there when I go back to Hilton Head in the future.

Room Tip: I always ask for a high floor, because I know they'll be quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gdadtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thanks for staying with us at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines! The resort is actually the first Marriott Vacation Club resort that opened 30 years ago. We appreciate your positive review and for being an owner for over 20 years! Please visit us again on your next trip to Hilton Head Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 318 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during our kids Spring Break week April 5-12th. This was our first time in Sea Pines and it was awesome! If you want a spot that's nice, somewhat quiet and tucked away from the action this is the place to be. From our villa We had a beautiful view of both the ocean and pool. The entire place is immaculately clean, beds are comfortable and kitchen is well stocked for your use.

Since there was no place to eat on the grounds I'm going to have to rate it s 4 instead of 5. Otherwise it's a 5 all the way! Great job Marriott! Keep up the good work!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Chavlier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for the positive review of Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines! We are happy to hear you had a great time relaxing with your family in this beautiful weather. With the new Sea Pines Beach Club opening next door, there will soon be many great dining options within walking distance of the resort. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Almost hesitate to post this, because I don't want it to become too popular! Rooms recently renovated, very clean, plenty of room for a family of four (2 teenagers). Had an ocean front room in the Azalea bldg. Peaceful and relaxing for us, kids could have plenty of freedom without us worrying about them. Love all the Sea Pines bike trails.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank atlgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Don't know what was the best about this resort (property or staff). We had a beautiful view of the beach and if you love to walk beaches, this is the place. The property is updated and lovely. I believe it was just all updated last year. You can rent bikes for the week for 30.00 (or 10.00 per day) and ride through lovely Sea Pines.

The staff (especially Brent) are wonderful. Everyone has a smile and makes you feel at home. They will do anything to make your stay wonderful!

Room Tip: We had the 2nd floor, ocean view in the Azalea building - best view ever!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 549janetl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

We are happy to read your five-star review of Marriott’s Monarch at Sea Pines! Our team is thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and got a chance to take in the local biking trails. Please visit us again on your next trip to Hilton Head Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The grounds and the property are very well maintained and the beach is wide and beautiful. We enjoyed our week of long walks and bike rides despite the colder than normal weather.

We had not stayed in Sea Pines before and we found that it had pluses and minuses. The minuses definitely include the traffic and limited parking at this end of the island while the pluses include the concentration of shopping and the plethora of restaurants, even though we had to wait to be seated at 6:30pm on a Tuesday in Jan.

The staff was most helpful and attentive and gave us very good service. We liked Monarch and will probably return next winter for a sibling reunion.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. Most of the rooms do face the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmlifsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Marriott’s Monarch at Sea Pines! We look forward to your vacation with us in beautiful Hilton Head!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved the hotel, the room size / layout (we stayed in a 2 bed suite K, 2 T, sofa bed), all the hotel activities and amenities (large chess board, ping pong, shuffle board, bean bag toss, hammocks, lounge chairs, etc.)

Sea pines is beautiful!! Everywhere you look, and the beach is great!

Only issue we had was that check in is at 4pm and check out is 9am, a little stingy, We thought. We arrived at 1:30pm and thought we'd be able to check in, (being that they kick people out promptly at 9am - which we found out later on our trip). However, they took our name and number and told us that they'd call us when the room was ready. It wasn't until 3:50 that we for our room keys. Bummer.

We loved everything about the hotel though, and would likely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Southerngirlreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

We are happy to read your positive review of Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines! Our team is glad your family enjoyed their luxury villa and the resort amenities. We also appreciate your feedback about your check-in experience and apologize the villa did not become ready earlier. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have stayed at a number of the Marriott facilities on Hilton Head. All are excellent, but we prefer the Monarch, where we are owners, for its placement behind the dunes in Sea Pines. The beach at this point of the island is very wide and hardened at low tide with few people on the beach - excellent for biking with miles to ride without obstruction of water intrusion. As active Seniors we enjoy the miles of bike paths in Sea Pines and the trails within the Forest Preserve. Returning to our unit after activity is very rewarding - comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

We are happy to read your five-star Tripadvisor review! It is great to hear your family ranks Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines as their top destination in Hilton Head Island. We look forward to your next vacation with us and thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.5 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
785 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
8.5 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines

Address: 91 N Sea Pines Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range: $169 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Monarch At Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing