We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Heritage Club(Hilton Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Grande Ocean(Hilton Head)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Inn(Hilton Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Fitness center
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
172
114
32
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
114
32
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea pinesoldest marriottmarriott propertytwin bedsbeach club next doormagnolia buildingharbor town and south beachpools and hot tubssecond bedroomtime shareliving roomocean frontping ponggrand oceanan older propertyrented bikesvacation club
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 352 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Monarch a number of times and in Sea Pines for the past 12 years. Monarch is lovely, very clean, extremely well-maintained and in a prime, beach-front location. It does not have food service or theme pools, but is located next to the Sea Pines Beach Club which has bar and food service a well as beach rentals. The Monarch has a kids water feature, a heated lap pool and large pool next to a gazebo with gas grills. There are three hot tubs and family games like shuffleboard and corn hole. Multiple organized activities range from boot camp classes to Zumba to kids activities like crafts and a pool DJ. The location in Sea Pines sets it apart from all the other Marriott resorts on the island. Sea Pines is gated with miles of bike trails under Live Oaks dripping with Spanish Moss. You can ride to South Beach Marina, Harbor Town, tidal pools, the Baynard Ruins - all within Sea Pines. If you want to venture out of Sea Pines on bicycle, you can circle the entire island, all on bike trails - something like 26 miles worth - or bike to Pickney Island Wildlife Refuge for a tour.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor units have larger balconies. 1st floor units have multiple accesses (front and rear).
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great property on the ocean front. Had a first floor unit with beach access. Large unit with kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and washer/dryer. Get ready, because parking is terrible! Ended up parking a far way away from the unit each night except the first and last nights. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pool very nice. Living unit was very quiet and clean. Everything you need is in the room.

Cleaning procedures need updated with the staff, though. We were there the first day when maid service came in. Cleaned toilet first, then the counter tops. Then took out dirty towels and brought back clean ones. Then made the beds.....all without cleaning hands in between. After that...we ended up taking care of the unit ourselves, including washing our own towels. I'm sure that's the way it is done everywhere.....I just prefer not to know!!!!!

Plenty of good restaurants in the area and shopping. This is a great location

I would come to this Marriott again if I were to return to Hilton Head. I always look for Marriott properties.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front. Pay the extra amount. Nice view and quieter away from the pool. Pool still very close and convenient.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigsteelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed on the first floor. Balcony lead straight out to the pools and beach. Rooms were big with 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths, a kitchen, and a living area. Parking was atrocious. Very hard to find a parking spot close to our building. Showers had very low pressure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cavs_Fan_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Monarch from May 25-June 7, 2013. This was our third year at the Marriott Monarch, so obviously, it is at the top of our list of places to stay on HHI. We have stayed in other Marriott properties on HHI, and visited all of them, and this is our favorite. It's not the newest or the fanciest, but it is the biggest bang for the buck (points) by far and we love the Monarch.

The first week, we were joined by our 22-year-old son and his fiance, and one of our 19-year-old sons and his friend. The second week, for several days, we were joined by some good friends from Atlanta. Just a note, if requested in advance, the twin beds in the guest bedroom can be made up by staff as a king-sized bed. We have requested this twice, and both times upon our arrival is has been done. And of course, no other hotel chain beats Marriotts for wonderful linens.

Many upgrades have been made since last year, including new window coverings, new queen sofa beds (mattresses are MUCH improved on these), new carpeting, and many upgrades to the property. This year, we were able to secure a first floor property, and we loved having the larger patio and we spent a great deal of time eating and relaxing on the patio. We always choose a garden view villa as the ocean view is just not worth the extra points to us when we can walk down and look at the ocean any time we want, plus we spend a great deal of time in the ocean.

Another improvement in this villa was a brand new walk-shower. I enjoyed the garden tubs but they were difficult for my husband to use in terms of getting in and out with his bad knees. The walk-in shower in the master bath was something we could both enjoy.

The children's pool area has been improved, as well, with the kiddie pool being replaced by fountains and a splash area. We no longer have young children, but I consider this a nice upgrade. Many areas on the property have been improved with new decking, they were in the process of adding remote-controlled boats to one of the ponds while we were there, and just in general, much seemed very much freshened up.

In general, we love staying in Sea Pines and feel like that makes a huge difference in terms of our enjoyment. We bring our own bikes (although rentals are readily available) and ride the many miles of bike paths through Sea Pines every day. The more private feel of Sea Pines is very appealing to us, and I probably wouldn't trade it for an ocean view at the more upscale Marriott Surfwatch as it is not in Sea Pines.

For those considering the Monarch, please see my other previous reviews for more nuts and bolts. Basically, everything needed in the villa is provided, including washer/dryer, and the villas are spotless. The staff is always well-informed and very friendly. When phoning the front desk, the phone is always answered very professionally. "Nicole", in particular, is very helpful. and the whole staff is extremely responsive. One night when we were a bit chilly, an extra blanket was delivered within minutes, for instance. When we set off our smoke alarm, the staff responded immediately to turn it off.

One other change worth mentioning is that this year, the Monarch staff is asking guests and owners to wear colored wrist bands while on the property and taking part in the activities and amenities. This prevents random people from the nearby public beach from coming onto the property unchallenged. This was not a problem for us, and the bracelets are just those rubber Livestrong-type bracelets, and the colors change weekly.

Please don't hesitate to contact me with any question about the Marriott Monarch. We can't wait to make our reservation for next year!

Room Tip: We prefer villas in the Camillia building. The first-floor units have larger patios, generally, than upper floor villas.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrishEyes0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Prior to my visit I looked at other reviews that hyped up the newer properties like Grand Ocean and Surfwatch. On my visit to Hilton Head, I visited all the properties (except the two in Harbour Town) and I like Monarch the best.

The location is definitely the best. Being within the gates of Sea Pines Plantation changes the experience for the better because you completely lose the need for a car which is quite liberating on vacation. We biked everywhere, reserve was close, and both South Beach and Harbour Town are easy to bike to. The grounds within Sea Pines and the hotel are incredible too...even without an ocean view, the rooms have awesome peaceful views from all the balconies. This property is right on the beach as well without having to walk over long bridges to get to the beach like some of the other properties.

The only negative is that the floorplans are not quite as spacious as Surfwarch for example. For me, however, Monarch is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caazmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews