We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great property in great location”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Prior to my visit I looked at other reviews that hyped up the newer properties like Grand Ocean and Surfwatch. On my visit to Hilton Head, I visited all the properties (except the two in Harbour Town) and I like Monarch the best.

The location is definitely the best. Being within the gates of Sea Pines Plantation changes the experience for the better because you completely lose the need for a car which is quite liberating on vacation. We biked everywhere, reserve was close, and both South Beach and Harbour Town are easy to bike to. The grounds within Sea Pines and the hotel are incredible too...even without an ocean view, the rooms have awesome peaceful views from all the balconies. This property is right on the beach as well without having to walk over long bridges to get to the beach like some of the other properties.

The only negative is that the floorplans are not quite as spacious as Surfwarch for example. For me, however, Monarch is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank caazmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    107
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
169
86
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful, relaxing vacation at the Monarch (April 6 - 13). I spent the first part of the week with a girlfriend, and our husbands arrived near the end of the week. Our villa was very nice with both pool and ocean views (Azalea building - 3rd floor). Prior to arriving, I requested that the twin beds in the 2nd bedroom be put together and you would have never known that it wasn't one bed. The ONLY negative about the villa was that although the furnishings were new and attractive, the sofa and chairs weren't particularly comfortable. We actually joked that the sofa was like sitting in a church pew. I do realize that it must be difficult to find attractive durable furniture, but it would have been a bit more enjoyable if the sitting area had been a little more comfy.

There is no pool bar (which would have been nice), but the Sea Pines Beach Club is right next door and serves drinks and lunch outside. the beach was a little crowded directly in front of the Beach Club, but fairly empty in front of the Monarch property. We brought our own chairs and umbrella and set up a nice quiet area each day near the beach access on the far side of the Azalea building.

We rented bikes at the Monarch ($30 per week) and I suggest that everyone do this (there are other rental places nearby that may be cheaper, but the convenience of renting at the Monarch is probably worth the price difference). We rode to Harbour Town a few times for both breakfast and afternoon cocktails. We took the free trolley (the stop is at the entrance to the Sea Pines Beach Club next door to the Monarch) to Harbour Town once for dinner. I highly recommend Harbour Town Bakery for breakfast - sit outside if the weather is nice. We also rode our bikes to Coligny Plaza - there are several restaurants and shops there too.

The staff at the Monarch is top-notch. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. We will be staying at the Marriott Grande Ocean in August - looking forward to it, but will miss being in Sea Pines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twt2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Couple weeks ago I had the opportunity to do a road trip (finally vacation time) and I chose Hilton Head as part of my trip because all the reviews and pictures I found before, it was very quiet, and away from everything I know.. a 2 bedroom villa, that looked more like my apt in Charlotte! nice, clean big tv's, a friendly staff in the hotel that have different activities for everybody from morning to night time, also you can hang around in the pool jacuzzi, play some ping pong, walk to the beach. or go the restaurants nearby are to die for. This Monarch at Sea Pines is definitely two thumbs up!

Room Tip: A 2 bedroom villa for a family of 4, or for 2 couples it is the best selection (3rd floor), and a mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShowtimeAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is another wonderful and well maintained Marriott property. We have stayed here before but this time the villas had been totally remodeled so it was even nicer than it had been previously. The grounds are just lovely and it is a beautiful stretch of beach. Being at Sea Pines makes it convenient to shops and restaurants and bars. There were a couple of small room glitches due to the recent remodeling and as soon as we made the manager aware they were taken care of immediately. Everyone who works here is so friendly and professional and the upkeep on the grounds is excellent. So clean and lush! It is an older property but you can't tell. All the areas around the hotel are pristine and spotless and the villas are very clean. The second bedroom in the villa is smaller (only twin beds) than the newer properties which could be an issue if you were traveling with older children or adults. Overall it is an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in an end unit in Camellia on an upper floor and the balcony got great morning/ early afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marienville
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great oceanfront property recently renovated. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit with living room and fully equipped kitchen and washer dryer. Furniture and kitchen appliances brand new with new carpet, tile floors and fresh paint. One bad thing, a long walk to the outdoor elevator in this 5 story property. There were 2 swimming pools, one heated, 3 hot tubs and an outdoor fire pit.. A mimosa social on Friday was a plus before an afternoon at the beach. Very limited grocery selection, you will need to go to the nearby publix for breakfast items, snacks etc.

Room Tip: Ask for room near elevator if on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 721JimM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Everything was nice, from the staff to the scenery. A beautiful resort. The beach is easily accessible and clean. The pools and deck were also clean and short walk from our room. The room are very nice and spacious. The kitchen was extremely clean, as were the dishes and refrigerator.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolverines238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If being beach front is what you want, this is a good location. We especially enjoyed the heated pool, hot tubs and fire pit. very nice and relaxing. The property itself shows its age, despite a recent renovation. The workmanship was shoddy at best, for example--dishwasher not properly installed and wouldn't shut without force, tub water spout sticks out from tile half an inch, curtains don't quite cover the length of the windows. The bathrooms are very spacious and beds very comfortable. The living room furniture is cute, but hard as a rock! The property also boasts many activities including shuffleboard, bean bag game, huge chess board, foosball (broken), coin operated boats (out of order), pool table (incomplete set of balls and set on an angle so all the balls roll downhill). We rented bikes for the week and had a great time pedaling all over the place. There is no restaurant on this property.

With the great location, this place could be fantastic with just a little attention to detail. For the price, one of the other Marriott properties on the island may be better choices.

Room Tip: The Azalea building is ocean front--request floor three or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.5 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
764 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#4 of 28 in Hilton Head
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines

Property: Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Address: 91 N Sea Pines Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Marriott, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Monarch At Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing