We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business for 3 nights. Great time, wish the weather was warmer to enjoy the pool but it was still sunny and nice out. The hotel staff was friendly. The balcony was spacious, the location is great (palmetto dunes is so nice!). This is probably my first experience of the hotel finding a reasonable temperature for our meeting...usually they are uncomfortably over air conditioned. There is a poolside bar and nice sitting areas. The rooms are nothing extra. I will say that i would not stay here in my dime. They charge over $300/night during the summer which is absolutely outrageous. Its a good hotel, but nothing over the top to justify that price. I can see paying $230/ nt for ocean front at this hotel, not more than that.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Needketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    630
    374
    180
    100
See reviews for
593
664
42
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HINESVILLE, GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here one weekend in January due to a competition being held at this resort. We enjoyed our stay. This resort lived up to the Marriott name, as far as hospitality and comfort. Like others have mentioned, the hotel definitely is dated, but the all the amenities that you would come to expect are still there. We stayed in the main building where you check in. We loved having the beach right out the back door! We are already planning our next trip back just to enjoy tr ue family time without the worry of the competition!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GASOCCERMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear GASoccermom,

We are certainly glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate you taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. You'd be happy to know that we are scheduled for a "makeover" in the Fall of 2014.

We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair, Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a circa 1970s Hotel that has a wonderful location on Hilton Head and offers impeccible service. Sure the rooms are a bit dated , but the overall condition of the Hotel is very good, and it is easy to see there are constants efforts to keep it in tip top shape. The balance of how a place rates in my category, is based on service and not just the whether the Hotel is the prettiest in the area. This Hotel seems to often have very competitive rates and the bulk of the rooms face the ocean , so the views are calming and beautiful. You can not hardly walk anywhere in this Marriott without someone asking if they can help you, and small afternoon snacks are provided along with an exceptional conceirge service for those looking for those amenities. Why is this place not ranked excellent is only due to the fact that I would not like to misrepresent the overall accomodations. If you are looking for a pleasant place to stay, that has a welcoming staff, good amenities, but is not quite as plush as a new resort, then this spot will more than meet your needs. Great example of an older Hotel, working to keep constantly up to date, that has a little bit of wear on the edges just due to normal age, but has the staff, the service, the amenities at a very , very good price that it would be hard to complain. Fair pricing deserves a fair appraisal, and you honestly get more than you paid for here. Don't hesitate to order the She-Crab soup in their Restaurant ---- literally the best we had during our entire stay in South Carolina , no other eating establishment could muster up to their recipe !!

Room Tip: Ask for a 8th or 9th floor room facing the ocean ---- great view and quieter up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Viper 51,

Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We have to admit, our she-crab soup is the best on the island!! Also you'd be happy to know that we are scheduled for a "makeover" in the Fall of 2014.

Please be sure to visit with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were here Summer of 2013. We were in the angled building that is closer to the beach. We stay here 2 times a year. We LOVE the location, the amenities and the staff are great.

Unfortunately, our room was not very good this time. We had mold in our room. And, the room had a terrible smell due to this problem. Because the hotel was full they weren't able to move us until 3 days later. They made sure we had a great new room. The manager credited me points on my Marriott account among other things.

One thing for sure is Marriott is a great hotel. They rectify things right away and make sure you are completely satisfied. The response was almost immediate.

My kids love the pool area, we even rented a space with umbrella one day which was great. The service at the poolside grill is great and the food is good too.

We're headed back here again the Spring. I find it easier than renting a condo and less expensive. My room had a small fridge which is great for snack and bottled waters.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVClairenmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Clairenmaddy,

Thank you for continuing to be a loyal Marriott Rewards member and for staying with us here at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. We appreciate you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We are always looking to improve how we serve our guests.

We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I picked this hotel for a quick last minute gateway after a planned Caribbean trip fell through. I read the reviews on here and found a good online rate, so accepted that the hotel may look a little dated and tired based on reviews on here.

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. While the exterior of the hotel is a little uninspiring, and appears to be from the "The More Concrete The Better" school of architecture, the interior exceeded my expectations by a wide margin.

Checkin was fast and friendly with a complimentary room upgrade. As a rewards member I was also entered into a daily drawing for a $50 room credit. My room was oceanview, but on the third floor, so the view was more of the pool area and trees. It was still an attractive view though, and I actually liked the trees outside the room. The room itself was large, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and also very clean with no tub but a very large shower. There was a nice selection of what appeared to be high-end toiletries.

It was a little cool for the beach during my stay, but I did walk out briefly, and the beach is very nice for the SC coast. The pool area bar had very friendly and attentive service. Tonya, Chris, and Max were the three working during my stay and I never had to wait for any kind of service. The bar is in the shade well before sunset and due to the cool weather it was closed up fairly early.

I had dinner at Conroy's Restaurant inside the hotel. My service was good (Trevor) but it seemed overall they may have been understaffed for the level of business. Several people were having service issues, but the staff handled it well, particularly one guest who became pretty obnoxious. Food was OK....not the best ever. I had crab cakes and found them to be way too dense, more like hockey pucks than seafood. The sides were good, but not really worth the $24 for the meal.

Overall a nice weekend getaway experience, with the food being the only letdown, and it wasn't really that bad. Service was great, and the hotel itself was much nicer than I was expecting based on what I had read.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Nickpilot,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve how we service our guests. We will be sure to thank Tonya, Chris, Max and Trevor for their great service and attention.

Again, thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Despite the weather we had a wonderful stay because of the personnel. It is obvious that they not only selected outgoing friendly polite personalities but that they trained and educated in how to be the best. The pool outside is not heated for even the best if weather in March but the indoor pool which is grand and the whirlpool are perfect for the coldest of weather. The food served at the bar was great and just perfect proportions for the value . Loved the extra touches like flavored fruit water in the lobby. The inside is a comfortable traditional look despite the exterior being cold and concrete. The oceanfront rooms are large with comfortAble mattresses and sheets . The balcony large with wonderful views . With the room set back from the hall it was quite quiet which surprised and delighted me since I am a light sleeper. The bathroom large enough to accommodate two people at the same time. Overall I would say they gave gotten right everywhere I looked.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Diane M,

We are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Marriott, at first glance, is exactly what you would expect from a second tier conference hotel, but it also holds some pleasant surprises. Rumor has it the property is slated for a badly needed renovation: furniture, walls, tile, and grout all are tired and abused, in both public and private spaces. What works are spacious rooms with refrigerators, a pleasant staff, and a primo beachfront location. The garden view from an upper floor was a little like being in a treehouse, with almost nothing else visible on the island except the tops of trees. Does it beat an ocean view? Nope, but if you are looking to save a few shekels, it might serve. If you are there off season, as we were, the indoor pool is particularly appealing: beautifully landscaped with tropical plants and balmy, both in the water and out! We would go back!

Room Tip: The garden view from an upper floor was a little like being in a treehouse, with almost nothing else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfLuvCruzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear ProfLuvCruzin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad that you had a great experience with us, and yes, as you stated, we will be undergoing a renovation int he Fall of 2014. We hope that will plan a return visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Hotel Cir, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier oceanfront hotel at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. Our world-class resort in Hilton Head, SC offers you an island escape in utter paradise. Enjoy newly renovated guestrooms, award-winning dining, three championship golf courses and spa. In addition, our distinctive Hilton Head oceanfront hotel's staff always delivers superior service to make your stay even more special. Our outstanding family-friendly retreat also offers a wide array of impressive amenities, including golf, tennis, biking, parasailing and so much more. Take advantage of our unbeatable location and enjoy easy access to a variety of nearby destinations, including local airports, shopping and popular tourist attractions. Plus, this Hilton Head resort provides dynamic event spaces, creating an ideal location to host your celebration or professional conference. Experience supreme relaxation and scenic views at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing