We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay the higher rate and stay at the Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a good location but rooms are very tired and I could hear everything in the room next to me. The Westin is much nicer so pay the 50.00 extra per night and stay at the best hotel on the island.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Susan M,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

You may be happy to know that we are scheduled to undergo a renovation Fall 2014. Please be sure to revisit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,159 - 1,165 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was our first trip to Hilton Head and we ended up LOVING this place! The staff at this resort went above and beyond in every way! The welcome every time you stepped in the place was amazing! We unknowingly was offered an upgrade once we got there! We ended up with the Presidential suite! We thought we died and went to heaven! it was gorgeous! The rugs needed replacing and a few updates were needed but we had a wonderful stay! The restaurant in the hotel was amazing-and we are hard to please "foodies". The free parking was a perk. We were just a few steps from the pools and the beach. What a wonderful beach! We so enjoyed our sunrise and sunset walks on the beach. The resort was located very nicely on the island and there were many great restaurants nearby. As you walked into the resort from a walk or shopping, etc., they always had infused water for you to quench your thirst. If you have never come to Hilton Head-get there! AND stay here!

Room Tip: Ask if the Presidential Suite is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Gee Jam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will share your comments with our staff as well. If you are ever in the area again, please be sure to visit with us. We are scheduled for a renovation Fall 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I am a loyal marriott customer, however I almost canceled my reservation and chose a different hotel after reading reviews. I have not been lead astray by marriott so I decided to stick with it and I'm so glad I did! From the moment I pulled up to the valet, until the moment my stay ended, I was treated like a princess by the staff. I was fortunate that I traveled during the off season, so I was upgraded to a VP suite (room 276) I believe. The room was amazing! It had 3 balconies, 2 with a view of the pools and one large one with a view of the ocean. The bedroom had a large balcony and was amazing to wake up to the sun coming up over the ocean. The suite was complete with candles on the dining table. The hotel was very clean and had very friendly staff. There was an amazing sand castle in the lobby. The hotel is located on the beach, which was awesome. I had dinner at conroys that was delicious and again experience amazing staff. I had breakfast in the cafe (?) that was also delicious. I was so spoiled in 24 hours that I definitely plan to go back! The only pitfall was that I stayed during the record cold spell and the heat in the lobby and restaurants was not functioning properly ~ however once again the incredible staff saved the day by bringing me a space heater. Awesome stay ~ confused by prior reviews.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank GertieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Gertie RN,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are so glad that despite some not so pleasant reviews, you decided to stay with us! We're even more thrilled that we exceeded your expectations.

If you're ever in the area again, please plan on staying with us! As you know, we will not disappoint!
We are scheduled for a renovation fall 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was my second stay at the Hilton Head Marriott. I had called the hotel a couple of days before checking in to extend my stay by one night. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived to learn that I had been "upgraded" to an oceanfront suite. The suite was simply a larger room at the ocean end of the south tower building. Previously I had stayed in an ocean front room in the main tower. The hotel is definitely showing its age, and I was pleased to read a comment from the management that the hotel will be renovated soon.
Overall, the hotel is in a great location, and my room was on the top floor of the south tower, so it had an unobstructed view as close to the water as possible. I was also happy to learn that the resort fee now includes in-room wifi. Parking was free in the garage, though I'm not sure if this is year-round. The Marriott is on a great stretch of beach and is great for long walks in the morning and afternoon.
The bathroom is quite awkward, so I hope the layout will be changed during the renovation process. The shower door opens out right next to the bathroom door. There is no way to turn on the water without actually getting into the shower which can be a bit challenging given the awkward location of the shower door. The water pressure was seriously lacking as well.
I used the indoor pool several times, but was disappointed to see that there is a leak in the glass roof (quite noticeable during the rain while I was there).
Overall, this is still a great property, and I look forward to returning after the renovations are completed.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront room (high floor is best)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lirwin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for one night for business Check in was great friendly assistant manager checked me in. Rooms are tired and worn but the the location on the beach and the grounds are great. Liked the free parking. If I was to come back and stay longer with the family and use Marriott points I probably would look to another property based off the room

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biztravr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here a couple of nights after New Years just to see what Hilton Head was all about. As a Life-time Platinum Rewards member, I've stayed at many, many properties over the years. This is definitely one that is showing its age and in need of refreshing to newer decor. Another area for improvement is housekeeping. We called three times to have feather pillows replaced with foam to no avail during our first night .... the morning after left a special request again to have them changed out .... again, to no avail. Finally got ahold of the assistant manager and presto. Not good service in my book. All this said, the food and food service was great .... both room service as well as main dining room. Probably overall a good value for the price paid given that we stayed during off season and the hotel was not full.

Room Tip: Would recommend ocean view in one of the top floors (7+)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

the saving grace for this hotel is the customer service, beach and surrounding location. The rooms themselves are shabby -- faded curtains, dingy bedspreads. Also, there was a roach in my room! I think that about covers it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.5 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
886 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Hotel Circle, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $216 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier oceanfront hotel at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. Our world-class resort in Hilton Head, SC offers you an island escape in utter paradise. Enjoy newly renovated guestrooms, award-winning dining, three championship golf courses and spa. In addition, our distinctive Hilton Head oceanfront hotel's staff always delivers superior service to make your stay even more special. Our outstanding family-friendly retreat also offers a wide array of impressive amenities, including golf, tennis, biking, parasailing and so much more. Take advantage of our unbeatable location and enjoy easy access to a variety of nearby destinations, including local airports, shopping and popular tourist attractions. Plus, this Hilton Head resort provides dynamic event spaces, creating an ideal location to host your celebration or professional conference. Experience supreme relaxation and scenic views at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing