We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I thought it would be based on prior reviews I read”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Paducah, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than I thought it would be based on prior reviews I read”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We statyed at this property recently and I was pleasantly surprised. We went because we got "tricked" into paying $199 for a Marriott timeshare presentation with a phone call solicitation about a year ago and when we realized it was nonrefundable we had to use it. Honestly I was dreading this trip because of all the bad reviews about this property. People had mentioned moldy, dirty rooms with substandard bathrooms but our room was not like that. The only thing I saw that I can mention is there were some dark stains on the walls that could have been mold or might have just needed to be repainted. The mini frig was very iced up so that limited what we could put in it. The housekeeping lady who was on our floor the 3 days we were there was grouchy and rude when we passed her in the hall or asked for anything like an extra towel or shower cap. She was frequently angrily mumbling to herself or complaining to other staff in the hall. The young man who was a housekeeper on our floor the day we checked out was very friendly and polite. She needs to take a lesson from him in guest relations. The beds were very comfortable and the airconditioner/thermostat was great because of the fact that it wasn't cutting off and on all night. This hotel needs to address the fact that people need more outlets between the bed for charging cell phones at night. Maybe a lamp with outlets in the base would be a good option. The front desk staff was very friendly and I felt like everyone I talked to at the front desk was well trained, professional and accomodating.
I was very surprised at the concierge service. I didn't talk to anyone there who seemed to be real familiar with the area. Debbie was polite but always seemed distracted and didn't really have advice or opinions. She was just able to pull up websites and menus when i asked about specific places. I expected to be able to get advice on local restaurants from someone who was very familiar with the area and I couldn't. The other ladies who worked at this desk seemed even less familiar with the area. Overall, I felt like this is not a $300/night hotel which is approximately the price if we hadn't done the timeshare presentation, but it was a $100 per night hotel for sure. I read in prior reviews that the elevators were slow and small but there were 3 and they seemed very fast, bright and clean. There is not much beach at high tide but lots of flat hard beach at low tide, perfect for riding bikes. The sand is very fine and was blowing in our faces when we tried to sit on the beach. The beach was ok in late September but I imagine that in the summer when the resort is full, the beach would be very crowded since the strip of usuable sand for chairs is minimal and the line where the lifeguards place the chairs is right in line with dried up sticks, maybe sea oats that they don't clean from the beach, so it's hard to stick your toes in the sand. This was our first trip to Hilton Head and I was surprised at how dark it is at night and signage is so minimal that it is hard to find where to turn onto the property. It is this way all over the island. It is even hard to find anything during the day because most of the shopping areas are not visible from the main road. They are behind trees and you really have to be paying attention or you will miss your turn. We tried to find things to do each evening and went to all the marina's that were promoted as interesting tourists areas but we were disappointed. Nothing much interesting going on at Hilton Head. There again, maybe this is different during the summer. The only restaurants we ate at that we would go to again were Skull Creek Boathouse for dinner and Stacks for Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
CindyC C,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. We are so happy to hear that your trip exceeded your lower expectations. We will be undergoing a full property renovation at the end of the next summer season. I do want to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. Your review will be a great training tool for our hosts to train with so that we may prevent these issues from occurring again. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    663
    399
    198
    112
See reviews for
634
696
45
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room is very dated as other have said. The shower pan had a large whole in it and some of the lights did not work. The service in the bar was slow at best.

The manager sent me an email promising a reduced rate due to a booking issue with the hotel. When we checked out the bill did not reflect the reduced rate. I have emailed the manager 3 times about this and informed the 800 number. Both the manager and the 800 number state they have the email and see the promise of a reduced rate and note they see where I was charged twice the rate stated in the email. However, almost a month later no refund has been given.

I would say for the price spend a little more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Matt_TN,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. We are looking into the matter and it should be resolved shortly. We will be undergoing a full property renovation at the end of the next summer season and do hope you will reconsider and choose to come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hilton Head hotels

san diego
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Only had one night, but loved walking the beach night and morning. Beautiful location with tons of beach. Off season, not crowded. Nice rooms, didn't have a good view, but I was outside on the grounds or beach. Pool looks nice, but I didn't have a chance to swim.
Ate in the bar area and was pleasantly surprised by the generous potions of shrimp and bisque soup. The flavor of both was absolutely delicious!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4funtravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
4funtravers,
Thank you so much for posting this review of out property. We are so excited to hear about what a great stay you had with us. We look forward to your next stay with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while attending a tennis match at the Palmetto Dunes resort right next door. It was a convenient and beautiful location. May be a little dated, as folks have mentioned, but the staff was wonderful and accommodating, our room had a gorgeous view of the pool and ocean and the buffet breakfast was top notch.
Only downside was the poolside music and entertainment on a Friday night. It was extremely loud, and even in our room, with the sliding doors and drapes closed, it felt like the music was right in the room. Fortunately the band stopped at 10pm, but for anyone who had a child trying to sleep, or who goes to bed early himself, it would have been impossible.

Room Tip: If you love a view, request an oceanfront room. Although all rooms are advertised as having a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Franibelle,
Thank you so much for posting this review of our property. We are so glad to hear you were able to have a wonderful day-cation with us and that you were able to enjoy our beautiful ocean front view. The hotel will be undergoing a full property renovation at the end of the next summer season. I do want to apologize for the private event that kept you up later that night. It is not a normal occurrence, and we do hope you will come back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just attended a conference at this location and although it was nice there are several things that need improvement. The rooms are clean but be careful where your room is located. If it is remotely near the bar area you will need to move if you want to go to bed at a reasonable hour. The staff is what made this experience worthwhile. Not one time did any request seem trivial or out of place. They were awesome but for me the issue of the water pressure or lack there of is something that I am not willing to stay here again. The water pressure is so low that it took me 20 minutes in the shower to rinse my hair.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room. All of the other rooms do not have any view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgaglione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Jgaglione,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. We are so happy to hear our staff made your experience worthwhile. I do apologize about the poor water pressure you encountered and will have my engineering team take a closer look at the water pressure in that area so that we can make sure this problem does not persist for our guests in the future. We hope you will reconsider and come back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Staff were incredible. Initially we had some problems with our room (the door would not open) this was resolved by immediately moving us to a new room with a complimentary cabana being provided the next day as a good will gesture. The service was fantastic, but the room was a little tired and dirty. Dust cracks and mould were just a few issues we experienced with the room.
One would often expect, especially from a Marriott that the quality of the rooms be exceptional. We would not have a room this tired in our own house. The beds were however clean and fresh.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Davidbauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Davidbauk,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. We are so thrilled to hear that despite some of the issues you experienced you were able to have a great time and experience our fantastic service! I do want to let you know we will be undergoing a full property renovation at the end of the summer season next year and hope you will come back to visit. We want you to be able to enjoy some of the updates and changes that will be made to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,NC
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hilton Head is one of our favorite places in the country. Upscale, quiet with great beaches and food. The Marriott is a large convention type hotel and that was why we were there.

The lobby is very nice, the staff was great and the convention facilities were good. As was the food there.

The rooms could use an update but they were clean. Food and drinks were expensive but that is what should be expected.

Overall, a nice choice for a great town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
bubbafb,
Thank you so much for posting this review of our property. We are so excited to hear what a relaxing and enjoyable stay you with us. We do want to let you know we will be undergoing a full property renovation at the end of the next summer season and look forwards to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
764 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
817 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Hotel Cir, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier oceanfront hotel at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. Our world-class resort in Hilton Head, SC offers you an island escape in utter paradise. Enjoy newly renovated guestrooms, award-winning dining, three championship golf courses and spa. In addition, our distinctive Hilton Head oceanfront hotel's staff always delivers superior service to make your stay even more special. Our outstanding family-friendly retreat also offers a wide array of impressive amenities, including golf, tennis, biking, parasailing and so much more. Take advantage of our unbeatable location and enjoy easy access to a variety of nearby destinations, including local airports, shopping and popular tourist attractions. Plus, this Hilton Head resort provides dynamic event spaces, creating an ideal location to host your celebration or professional conference. Experience supreme relaxation and scenic views at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing