We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice (last-minute) weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice (last-minute) weekend getaway”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband wanted an oceanfront hotel, I wanted a comfortable bed, the kids wanted an indoor pool, and we needed to take them school shopping (outlets). With a certain budget in mind, we had to choose between unknown hotels in Myrtle Beach or the Marriott (which we prefer) in Hilton Head. (Marriott Oceanfronts in Myrtle Beach this time of the year are usually booked or overpriced.) We chose Hilton Head and it was the best decision ever! I'm always hesitant when I read hotel reviews because you don't know the people giving them. What may be nice to one person may not work for me. I admit that I am a hotel snob. When I go in a room, I'm checking linens, bathrooms, floors...everything. This Marriott is an older property but that didn't take away from our experience. We stayed on the 5th floor. We had a great view of the pool and the ocean. Spacious room, bathroom and balcony... My family of four had plenty of room to move around. Even with the rain, we all got what we wanted out of the trip.

There were some issues... The indoor pool was heated but the room was freezing. The bubbles in the hot tub looked dirty (people were coming in directly from the beach). We found some staff who came and fixed those issues. There was a wait for breakfast that Saturday morning. The young lady seated several people before us. We were having such a good time, I decided not to make a big deal about it.

My husband surprised me with a massage. It was my first time using a Marriott spa. The ambience, the experience... It exceeded my expectations and made up for all the minor issues :-). The tip was automatically included in the price. I've never done that before but it was worth every penny!

I go to Myrtle Beach for my job sometimes. However, when it comes to vacation and relaxation, I would choose Hilton Head and this Marriott again.

Room Tip: Choose higher than the 5th floor if you want more privacy from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADM611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
ADM611,
Thank you so much for posting this review of our property. It sounds like you had a wonderful and relaxing stay with us and we look forward to providing that for your next trip to Hilton Head! I am sorry to hear you had a few issues but I am very glad to hear we were able to get those issues taken care of and make up for them through our service and your experience! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    649
    389
    187
    107
See reviews for
612
687
44
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for the last 7 years and this year was a total disappointment. It has gone downhill fast. Rooms are in terrible need of renovating - paint peeling, marks on walls and the carpets in the rooms are just disgusting. So much sand in the carpet a steam cleaner couldn't even help. I see someone else posted that the rooms are slated for renovation this fall....the front desk told me it was after the end of the summer 2014.

I can't believe this hotel was upgraded to a level 6 on the Marriott points scale. I used 60K points for 2 nights - total waste of points. Marriott needs to re-evaluate the level of this hotel. I would say a level 3 would be a stretch. They have also dropped a lot of the family activities they used to do (or they do them in a much scaled back manor and now charge for them). On top of that the housekeepers were non-existent and the pool was totally disgusting. It was so cloudy you could not even see the bottom. The pool guy was there testing the water and I asked him what was up - his answer was it was everyone's sunscreen. That is a crock - resort pools are full of people all the time and it was not more crowded than any other year and I have never seen it look like this. I would not let my kids get in it - totally gross.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Robin M,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. We will be undergoing the renovation as planned at the end of the summer season as planned. I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Please email us at hiltonheadays@columbiasussex.com to discuss your stay in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from a 6 night stay at the Resort in Hilton Head. Staff was exceptional. Rooms were spacious. Upgraded to nice Oceanfront. The rooms are scheduled to be renovated this fall which will elevate the experience. Great tennis and bike trails. I would recommend renting bikes for the week off premise. The daily rate is a bit prohibitive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRur62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
DRur62,
Thank you so much for posting this review of the property. We are so excited to hear what a great stay you had with us. We hope you will come back to visit soon to enjoy some more rest and relaxation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

As other have said, this is in a great location on the island, ocean front on a nice section of the beach, with easy access and parking. Beach front room on 5th floor had a great view and nice balcony -- very relaxing and restful. But, for a Marriott Resort & Spa it absolutely needs a significant facelift. Had a room at the end of a hall and had virtually no wi-fi access; however the hotel did waive the resort fee that supposedly covers wi-fi. Bottom line: it's an OK hotel, but not up to Marriott and Hilton Head standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrSwampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Don C,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. We are pleased to announce we will be undergoing a full property renovation at the end of the next summer season in 2014. We will be getting that “facelift” you so desire and look forward to having a fresh new product for our guests to enjoy. We are also working on our wireless internet. We have changed companies now and are working out all of the kinks so that the next time you come to visit these issues should be resolved. We do hope you come back to visit soon so that you too can enjoy all of the changes that will be happening at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our first trip to HHI, and as Marriott Platinum members, we expect a lot from Marriott. The Island did not disappoint. This Marriott property has seen better days, and while we understand that beach-front real estate takes a beating, that is no excuse for peeling paint, loose tiles, or dirty carpeting. For the most part, we saw folks hard at work maintaining things -- the groundskeepers were very busy trimming (buzzzz....), and there was always somebody cheerfully hosing the sand off the deck under the showers just off the beach. Still, for a Marriott property, we expected more. Beds were comfy, yes, but there were no linens for the pull-out, and the extra blanket they brought was far inferior to those on the beds. We understand the pull-out is an "extra," but aren't the guests on the pull-out just as valued as those in the beds? Just a thought.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZSportyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
AZSportyMom,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. We are pleased to announce we will be undergoing a full property renovation and are looking forward to having all the new products and furnishings to provide for our guests. We hope you will come back to stay with us so that you too may enjoy all the updates we will be sharing with our guests once the renovation is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

You can't beat the ocean front location. Nothing like being able to walk out of the hotel and on to the beach. However, there are downsides. The place has gone to seed--ragged carpet edges, broken furniture, stains on the drapes (seriously!). The lobby is all hard surfaces and very loud. Our rooms were on the third floor--which opened to the lobby so there was a lot of noise drifting up and into the rooms. The staff just seemed sort of stunned, as if they were not sure what they should be doing. The concierge was useless. Look elsewhere. Fabulous HHI has a wealth of places to stay.

Room Tip: Insist on a room about the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank collegevisitor014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Collegevisitor014,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. We will be undergoing a full hotel renovation at the end of the next summer season and are excited to have a fresh new product for our guests to enjoy. We are sorry to hear the staff were not helpful for you during your stay. We do hope you will choose to give us a second chance so that we may give you a better opinion of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My stay at the Hilton Head Marriott was mediocre, and I can definitely say I've stayed at nicer hotels on the island. The resort was incredibly crowded and the first room they gave me was absolutely lousy. It faced out onto the roof and was right beside the noisy air conditioning units. I thought this was ridiculous--especially for $269 per night. They should either re-purpose that space or give a really deep discount for staying in them.
I had gnats in my room and it was also a little bit moldy which triggered my allergies. The facility is definitely overdue for a renovation/upgrade--worn carpet, stripping paint on the ceiling, old bathrooms.

On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and attentive. Overall, the service was the high point of my stay. The food was decent, and I liked the fitness room. Of course, the beach is always beautiful.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are on the beach side of the hotel. Odd numbered rooms face parking lot. Odd n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Scoke,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. We are excited to announce we are anticipating a full property renovation at the end of the next summer season in 2014. I do want to apologize for the state the room was in and your comment will be passed on to the departments in charge of these issues so that we may find a better solution for our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
796 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Hotel Cir, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier oceanfront hotel at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. Our world-class resort in Hilton Head, SC offers you an island escape in utter paradise. Enjoy newly renovated guestrooms, award-winning dining, three championship golf courses and spa. In addition, our distinctive Hilton Head oceanfront hotel's staff always delivers superior service to make your stay even more special. Our outstanding family-friendly retreat also offers a wide array of impressive amenities, including golf, tennis, biking, parasailing and so much more. Take advantage of our unbeatable location and enjoy easy access to a variety of nearby destinations, including local airports, shopping and popular tourist attractions. Plus, this Hilton Head resort provides dynamic event spaces, creating an ideal location to host your celebration or professional conference. Experience supreme relaxation and scenic views at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing