We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

As a business traveler, who travels every week, I am picky about where I stay. Linda (front desk)has mastered customer service. She chose a perfect room for us. I thought the rooms were comfortable, clean and had a wonderful view. The balcony is wonderful to enjoy the view with a nice glass of wine. The rooms were quiet in the evenings, although the hotel was booked. There is a great pool ,music in the afternoon and hammocks with a view of the ocean. The hotel is ocean front so it is an easy walk. The staff are amazing, always smiling and there to help. I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FanofRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
FanofRome,
We are so excited to hear about your stay with us! Thank you for posting this review of of our property. We look forward to your next stay with us and hope we will be able to exceed even this trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    568
    345
    163
    89
See reviews for
525
584
37
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

But everything else is great!

The staff is super-motivated - all exceptionally friendly and helpful. Marriott must have great training/incentives

Beach front room was wonderful. Nicely furnished, great bathroom, lots of closet space, great balcony (6th floor).

Conroy's restaurant is terrific - some of the best grouper you are likely to get anywhere on the island. And room service dining is excellent.

All facilities are extra nice - we splurged and did the pool cabanas AND the beach chairs/umbrella so we could move from beach to pool and back in fine style.

For a beach front vacation experience with every amenity imaginable at your beck and call this would be hard to beat.

Odd that such a nice place has no movie channels or PPV? And yes, the tap water on HHI literally stinks. Always has since I lived there in 1982. We stopped by Walmart and stocked up with a case of bottled water.

When you dine out anywhere on the island, ask if the water is tap - if so, pass.

Room Tip: Beach front 4th floor or higher with balcony in main building is awesome. Pelicans fly by your windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusibello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dusibello,
Thank you so much for posting this review of our property. We are so delighted to hear what a great stay you had with us! I wanted to let you know that although we do not have pay per view movies we do have dvd players available at the front desk if you would like to borrow them with an assortment of movie choices as well. We hope you come back to stay with us again soon so you can enjoy another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Palmetto Dunes location of this hotel is great - right on the beach, a couple of restaurants nearby, and 3 golf courses on property. The pool area was nice and the lobby is attractive. The staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and appreciated. That is where it ends. The room was nice room, it didn't smell or have stains on bedding or floor, but the ocean view was a stretch. The bed was quite comfortable. After arriving in our room we discovered our refrigerator was frozen up, they changed it out. The first night we were there the power went out and the hotel was evacuated. We understand that can happen but please don't leave us sitting outside for 1 1/2 hours without any communication. We could see the firetrucks out front so we knew it must be pretty serious. We were finally told we could go back to our rooms and what doors to enter. No one was available to direct us to the correct door so we wondered around until we found an open door. A staff member on the elevator told us the elevator was working. We entered and headed up to our floor, or so we thought. The elevator only went down to the bottom floor. We exited and found the stairway. The power came on in our room sometime during the night. The next morning in order to use our toilet we had to use a glass and fill up the tank so we could flush. While in the shower the fire alarms went off again. No communication saying 'this is a test' - I didn't know if I was going to have to wrap the towel around me and run out. If the hotel would address its many issues and make updates I would come back, but not until.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
MarshaDavid,
Thank you so much for posting this review of our property. Guest feedback is the best source we have to use to show us what we need to improve upon. I want to apologize for the lack of communication you received during this incident. The incident itself was trying enough on many of our guests so I do apologize that we were not able to ease your fears and make you more comfortable through keeping you informed. Your feedback has been shared with the management team here and we will work more on our communication. I do want to thank you for the kind words you had about the rest of your stay and would also like to let you know we will be undergoing a full renovation of the property beginning within the next few months. We hope you will come back to stay with us again in the future so that we can give you a much better experience to remember us by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hilton Head hotels

Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked a stay for just one night, thankfully, at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa. The lobby, pool, and common areas are very nice. The food was good, resort priced, but still acceptable. The staff was very helpful and courteous; from the parking attendants to the servers. That is where the good stopped. We booked an ocean-front, king room. Checkin was 4 pm, but our room was not ready until after five (The front desk comped the valet parking for the delay). After our room was ready, a quick check of the bed revealed "body" hair, cheez-it crumbs in the sheets and other stains on the white duvet.The room was not cleaned at all, just a quick straighten-up. There was hair in the shower, splatters on the mirrors. The house keeping manager was very apologetic and offered a $50.00 credit towards drinks while they "re-cleaned" the room, which we did appreciate. Two hours later the housekeeps changed the sheets. The bed is very, very soft, which was not comfortable for us. The room bathrobes were stained...no comment necessary. The room did have a musty smell, which means that the air filter has not been changed in several months. In the morning light, we noticed the green mold on the walls. I was able to wipe the mold off with a damp cloth. This is a lack of maintenance and nothing more. When we mentioned thins to the "assistant Manager" at the front desk, she told us that it is common on the island (I have stayed at several island hotels and have never had this "common" problem at a resort). We were blown off and pretty much dismissed for mentioning this. The only thing that was missing was "bless his heart". We would NEVER recommend that anyone stay here, but if you do, don't forget the $16.00 Resort fee, plus the 22% room tax, not including the Valet, tips, $4.00 coffee....

Room Tip: Rooms at a different hotel will make your stay more enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WobzCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
WobzCT,
Thank you so much for posting this review of our property. Guest feedback is the best source we have to use to show us what we need to improve upon. I want to apologize for the state the room was in when you checked in. This is not a Marriott standard and I understand how frustrating that was for you. I also want to apologize for your not receiving the Marriott caring service we strive to provide. I have shown the respective departments the details of your stay. So that they may focus on these issue to keep them from occurring again. We do want to thank you for your kind words about the rest of your stay. Please email us so that we may discuss your stay in more detail at hiltonheadays@columbiasussex.com. We do hope you change your mind and come back to visit so that we may change your opinion of our property and you can have a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
162 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Old rooms,overpriced rooms,telephones that do not work,water damaged roof, breakfast that nearly poisoned me...enough said. In need of a total make over. Moved to Sonesta Resort- now THATS a hotel worthy of 4 stars. This is worthy of 2 stars

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray Goldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Ray Goldberg,
Thank you so much for posting this review of our property. Guest feedback is the best source we have to use to show us what we need to improve upon. I want to apologize for your unsatisfactory stay with us. I have let the respective departments know if your feedback so they can use it as a training tool. I also wanted to let you know we will be undergoing a full hotel renovation beginning in a few months and hope you will come back to visit after that point so that you can experience all the changes and freshness this will provide to our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My first trip to Hilton Head and was looking forward to a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. At least that was what I thought I booked; my room looked out at Palmetto Dunes with beautiful trees. I could glimpse the ocean if I leaned over the far end of the balcony. I'm from Pensacola beach and all of our rooms that are advertised ocean view are just that; not views of trees. Would have booked somewhere else if I had known. Staff said it was just too bad. Never again...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Virginia M,
Thank you so much for posting this review of our property. Guest feedback is the best source we have to use to show us what we need to improve upon. I want to apologize for the misinformation you were provided as well as the service provided to you during your stay. Our ocean view rooms have some obstructions in the view by means of a palm tree or a few bushes and are a view from the balcony, where as our Oceanfront rooms will have an unobstructed view of the ocean from your room as well as your balcony! We hope that you will come back to visit soon and enjoy one of our beautiful ocean front rooms and change your opinion of our property around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff was polite, courteous, and helpful. But that's all I have to say good! I stayed at this hotel several times about 30 years ago. I was deeply disappointed on this trip. My "upper floor, ocean view room" turned out to be a first floor side room, almost in the basement. The outlets were rusty. The "ocean view" consisted of seeing one corner of the pool deck through a lot of trees -no ocean in sight. Watch out for the shower! You have to be standing IN THE SHOWER TO TURN IT ON! Be prepared for that first burst of very cold water. (Hint: if you are tall enough turn the head towards the wall first.) The In-RoomDining menu has little resemblance to what is actually offered -and as far as dining goes both Conroys and the Cafe were very poor -and this on an island with 200 superb restaurants! (Try Skittles at Coligny for an excellent breakfast that was 60% cheaper and far better than that at the hotel. And being a Silver Elite Member meant is awarded with nothing at this Marriott -not even free internet. This is my second bad Marriott experience in 8 months. They won't be seeing me there again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Albert J C,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. Guest feedback is the best source we have to use to show us what we need to improve upon. We do apologize for the experience you had with us. I have informed the respective departments of your trip and they are discussing the best changes we can implement so that the future. Please email us so that we may discuss your stay in more detail at hiltonheadays@columbiasussex.com. We do hope you change your mind and come back to visit so that we may change your opinion of our property and you can have a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Hotel Circle, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A corporate-style hotel where the majority of guests are there for business - many with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing