We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort....a little pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Really nice vacation experience at a really nice resort. Very comfortable and well managed resort. Maybe a little pricey. Really enjoyed the pool deck and tiki bar. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joehadenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Joehadenough,
Thank for so much for taking the time to post this review. I am very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am glad you were able to spend some time enjoying our pool and outdoor pool bar while you were with us. We look forward to your next visit to the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,369 - 1,375 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very nice but a little old. Could use a spruce up. That being said the location is great. Right on the beach. Golf available all around. Nothing more than 10 minutes from the hotel whether your looking for golf or restaurants. The staff and service did a great job. I would stay here again without a problem.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Cabaz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Cabaz4,
Thank you so much for your time in posting this review of our hotel. I am glad that our property and staff were able to provide a great experience for you. I did want to let you know that we will be going through a full scale renovation at the end of this summer season, so on your next visit we will have a fresh new "spruced up" product for you. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you on the island again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were booked to stay at the Marriott's Grande Ocean on Sat March 30 so at the last minute we decided to come down to HH a day early and we stayed at the Marriott resort & spa on Friday. This place was very nice and huge, they have restaurants onsite and a sports bar area where I watched the NCAA tournament games while having very good drinks! they have a beautiful pool area with hammocks on the trees to rest, they have a basketball court where my boys loved and they have a beach bar and grill area. I didn’t have a lot of time here but will come back for sure the staff was very friendly and helpful!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Anthony R,
I am so happy you chose to come to the island a day early and were able to spend some time with us! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you were able to enjoy drink in our lounge and I hope your NCAA team didn't disappoint. Your next visit I do hope you choose to stay with us to relax by our pool or in one of the hammocks. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I went to the Heritage Classic golf tournament in Hilton Head from April 18, 2013 to April 23, 2013. We stayed at the Marriott Resort and Spa there and it was nice, albeit a little worn. The housekeeping was good and the room was clean, but the furniture was older than we are used to seeing in Marriott properties.
The beach is wide and white sand hard enough to ride a bike on or jog or go for a long walk without feeling like you are in a mire.
The staff was friendly and helpful and it seems that way at all Marriott properties. They must train them intently.
The fitness center was somewhat crowded, but had the necessary equipment to complete our exercise routines, including free weights, weight machines and cardio equipment (treadmills, elliptical machines and stationary bikes).
The restaurant was OK, but there are must better choices offsite, but nearby (Redfish, Hugo's, Alexander's, for example)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoogdaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Spoogdaman,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and at the Heritage Golf tournament. We appreciate the feedback you provided about the amenities within the resort and the great job done by our team. I did want to take the time to let you know that we will be undergoing a renovation this fall and we look forward to providing you with a beautiful fresh new product for your visit during next years Heritage tournament. Again, thank you so much for your time in sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The best aspect of this hotel is it's location; right on the beach and it is a fabulous beach that appears to stretch for miles and is great for walking in the early morning. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast menu gives a wide choice and the staff in the restaurant are superb. The lounge can fill up on weekend nights and be somewhat noisy but it is nice that you can get a meal in the lounge if you arrive late to check into the hotel.

Just behind the sandy area of the beach are some comfortable hammocks for lounging and there are chairs arranged to allow you a view of the sea.

Although this is a beachfront hotel do not automatically expect to get a view of the ocean as some of the rooms are on the side of the hotel property and do not really have a view of the sea. If you want an ocean view you should specifically ask for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband I stayed at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The staff is absolutely wonderful and so accommodating to their guests and the breakfast was awesome! We almost felt like royalty! We stayed in an Ocean Front King Room which was clean, comfortable. The view was perfect! The room could use a little updating, however that didn't matter to us, we still loved our room!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and request an Ocean Front Room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

As many of the previous reviews have mentioned, this beachfront hotel has a great location, however the rooms are in need of a serious update as they look tired and worn. Our room was clean, it's just in desperate need of an update.

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for two nights -- we received a pretty good rate and at the time we booked the room they were offering a $100 credit to Spa Soliel. We booked a couples massage and both the spa and the massage were wonderful. The $100 credit didn't get us very far, but that is to be expected at a "resort".

We arrived around noon, and knowing that check in wasn't until 4pm I decided to give it a shot anyway. I was told as long as our room was ready we could check in -- it was, so we lucked out. The employee who checked us in was very nice. Pretty much everyone who worked there was friendly and always asking if they could help.

We didn't eat at the hotel, from what I saw it seemed pretty expensive. We did stop into the General Store right down the road from the hotel (and still within the Palmetto Dunes resort area) for a much cheaper (and pretty decent) breakfast. They had some hot breakfast options and also served as a decent convenience store for most if your basic needs.

The weather wasn't so great while we were there, but it was still nice enough to sit out by the pool and enjoy my personal favorite, the hammocks. All in all, not a bad place and I'd stay here again if I could get a good price, but they really need to update this place.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lnich19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.5 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
901 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Hotel Cir, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $162 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier oceanfront hotel at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. Our world-class resort in Hilton Head, SC offers you an island escape in utter paradise. Enjoy newly renovated guestrooms, award-winning dining, three championship golf courses and spa. In addition, our distinctive Hilton Head oceanfront hotel's staff always delivers superior service to make your stay even more special. Our outstanding family-friendly retreat also offers a wide array of impressive amenities, including golf, tennis, biking, parasailing and so much more. Take advantage of our unbeatable location and enjoy easy access to a variety of nearby destinations, including local airports, shopping and popular tourist attractions. Plus, this Hilton Head resort provides dynamic event spaces, creating an ideal location to host your celebration or professional conference. Experience supreme relaxation and scenic views at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing