We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Been Disappointed in 10 Years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Never Been Disappointed in 10 Years”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This location is great -- in the "heel" of Hilton Head Island, tucked away from much of the traffic and congestion of most of the island. You can easily get to everthing you want -- Shelter Cove, South Beach in Sea Pines, Palmetto Dunes, Coligny Beach and many other locations. Bring your bikes or rent onsite for the week -- you will not regret.

Just spent our week at the Barony -- been going for 10 years and we have NEVER been disappointed. For everyone complaining they cannot get an oceanfront room -- this is not a Marriott hotel where you can simply make the recommendation and expect to get the room. There are 6 buildings (approx. 45 rooms/building) -- of the approx. 270 rooms onsite, only 35 are oceanfront. These rooms are "reserved" for Barony owners FIRST (multiple Barony week owners getting priority). Of Marriott's 9 Hilton Head properties the Barony is generally the most popular ....... so, if you're not a Barony owner your chances of getting an oceanfront room are VERY slim.

For those that complain of the walk from the garden villa buildings to the beach -- from the garden pool just go through the fence by the fire pit and maintenance office, which puts you in the Westin driveway, turn left and walk behind the Westin -- it is a considerably shorter walk to the beach.

This year, for the first time, we rented a cabana by the big pool and beach for the entire day -- it was $60, which included 6 drinks of our choosing. The cabanas are a great spot to stay in the shade on the hot summer days and it keeps you close to both the pool and the ocean. Check at the front desk or in the materials you get at check-in for details.

In February they completed their every 5 year update of the rooms -- this included new carpet, new tile, new beds, new curtains and drapes and new HD LCD tvs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlphaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    217
    54
    20
    12
See reviews for
394
194
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

It was like pure heaven! We had a 2 BR Garden Villa. Let me say that we only had myself, my mom, and my 2 children (ages 6 &12). This room has a huge king bedroom, another bedroom with 2 double beds, and a sofabed. We all got our own bed. That was awesome! We also got a great friends & family rate! Because of the great rate, we didn't complain about the long walk to the beach. Garden Villas do have a long trek!! I ended up having to carry my 6 year old because his water shoes were rubbing a blister. Plus our ice chest, and beach umbrella. Trust me, that was miserable!! It's like almost a mile to the beach from that area because there is not a straight walkway through. They should definitely put in a walkway with direct access.

The pool on the garden villa side was uncrowded and we spent most of our time there when not at the beach. The view was gorgeous even with a pool view.

We walked several times to the main building. It is quite a stroll, but not terrible. We did have trouble, like others, getting the gate to work with our key. Not a big deal, just a press of a button and they let you in.

Beach was fabulous and one of our favorites during our trip. We also stopped at Myrtle Beach, Nags Head, and Virginia Beach. We saw 3 jellyfish washed ashore at Hilton Head making my kids leary of going into the water. We didn't walk the beach either, so that was just in our vacinity. Shells were abundant and my kids loved collecting them.

I would return....for the right price. But for the normal rate, I would probably do some comparisons around the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovepuzzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRIOT4657
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Spent May 28th - June 4th at Barony with my wife and 2 daughters 8 & 5. We arrived around 6pm at Barony. We checked in and asked if they were able to provide us with an oceanfront room. They were not able. The way it works is that they have 35 Oceanfront rooms. People that get those rooms go in this order. Own multiple weeks at Barony, Own a week at Barony, own Multiple weeks with Marriott at a different location, own a week at a differenyt Mariott location then just exchanging with Interval International or toher exchange company. Bascially you will never get an oceanfront unless you come during an off peak season. We understood and accepted the room and building they gave us. At least we were next to a pool and 4th floor. We were also clsoe to the bike rental (more on that later). We drove to a local restaurant/pub next to Bi_low supermarket. The food was okay and not too expensive.

Next morning, Saturday, I got down to the bike rental at 9am when then opened. I was dissapointed in the price. It is $ 25 a week for a bike. I got 2 bikes with Tag Alongs for my kids. The Tag Along is an additional $ 25 per week. So, for 2 bikes with Tag Alongs it cost $ 100 for the week. It would have been better if the Tag Alongs were $ 10 or $ 15 for the week.. Looking back we wished we did not rent. We rode the bikes once to the pool next to the beach and that was it. We wound up walking the rest of th vacation to the big pool and the beach. It was probably a 5-10 minute walk to the beach from our room, but you would not notice the time.

We spent the Saturday at the beach. The ocean was warm, warmedr than I expected. The girls and I spent time looking for seashells while my wife layed by the pool reading a book. We had to take the shells back the next day as they stunk really bad in the buckets we bought in the marketplace at Barony. I found out when we got home from vacation that we should have soaked them water with a little bleach. That would have killed any bacteria on the shells.

Sunday we drove to Charleston for the day, Monday laid low at the pool, Tuesday we drove to Savannah for the day and took the Old Town Trolley Tour. Wednesday we went to Harbour town and South Beach Marina (that cost five dollars for the day to get into Sea Pines Plantation. Lots of little shops there though. Thursday laid low at the beach and pool and Friday we spent the day in Savannah again before our flight ook off at 5pm.

We did the timeshare presentation which is at Marriott Surfwatch. They were selling for Myrtle Beach. We did not buy Myrtle Beach but wound up buying an every other year at our home resort at Marriott Canyon Villas in Arizona.

I would highly recommend barony for it close proximity to grocery, tourist shops and the beach.

I always laugh when reading other reviews about housekeeping. These people must not own a timeshare and just book the room as if it were a normal hotel. In a timeshare, there is no housekeeping unless you want to pay for it. Think of it as being at a vacation home. Unless you hire a maid you have to do the work yourself. The room is cleaned when you check out, but while you are there you do it yourself. Most timeshares have a full kitchen, all the supplies and a washer & dryer. Just buy some groeries, laundry soap and you are good to go.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PATRIOT4657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We exchanged for a week in April at part of Interval International. The layout of the property is unusual in that there are 4 buildings on the main campus near the beach, and 2 other buildings called the "garden villa's" are ~100 yards away across the street. According to the front desk, the 4 buildings on the beach are predominately for owners or people exchanging from other Marriott locations - Since we were neither, we were placed in the garden villa's.

The room itself is rather large having 1 bedroom with a king bed, and a 2nd room with 2 queen beds. There are also 2 full baths both with jacuzzi tubs and showers. There is also a private porch with a nice view of the pools. We found the room to be fairly quiet. The only noise was from small planes with roaring engines landing at the nearby hilton head airport. The decor of the room was nice, but not over the top. The furniture was laminated blond-colored wood with a green/yellow scheme - Appropriate for a beach location. There is ample parking with most of it being underneath the units.

The location is a little tricky to find unless you have a GPS system. The resort is on the heel section of Hilton Head and conveniently located to the main road. We've visited ~20 timeshares over the year and rank this #2 for the facility itself (independent of the location). If we were able to get in the ocean side we might rate it #1.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vol_World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Let me start off by saying when you go, make sure if you need anything please ask for Tyrone. His service was great. The grounds were just wonderful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom. The bedrooms were big and very clean. Wonderful stay. I would truly recommend. Thank you very much Tyrone for your service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles05Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We traded our timeshare for a week here during the off season, and ended up with a beautiful two bedroom beach front villa. Since we were looking for rest and rejuvenation, we did not participate in the many possible activities, but were impressed with the variety. A special concierge gave us valuable tips on island activities, stores, and restaurants. The quiet elegance of this resort and Hilton Head in general stands in sharp contrast to most beach resorts.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Va
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

I really enjoyed the clean rooms, easy check in/out. The hard packed sand on the beach was wonderful for talking long walks. I was disappointed with the no mid week maid service and no view of the ocean. There were limited rooms with ocean view and like other raters said they were for long term guests. There was daytime construction noise which didn't allow us to enjoy fresh air during the day.

I loved all the kitchen amentities and the super soft towels. Water pressure in the shower was a little lacking.

It was a quick walk to the beach. The inside courtyard area was incredible, lighted grills, lots of swings, heated pools and wonderful fountains. Lots of little things to do on site. It also had free wireless and an incredible workout area.

I would highly recommend taking a hike/walk in the Sea Pines Forest. That was a very nice treat. Also, a kayak trip (shop around, most were $40, I got mine for $25) was filled with dolphins and even a bald eagle! There was some nice nightlife at multiple bar locations. I would highly recommend going to Sante Fe for dining, it had to be the best food I had in awhile! The Oyster Factory was a great place for dinner and drinks at sunset.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingtheWorldGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.5 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#3 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Address: 5 Grasslawn Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clear you mind poolside at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Nestled on in infamous Hilton Head, South Carolina, your feet will be covered in sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing