We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice 2nd stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice 2nd stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Another very enjoyable stay at MBB. This time we were assigned to the beach villas (last time we were in the garden villas). These were a tiny bit more dated and worn then the garden villas - but still very good. Lots of kid activities, plus pools and beach kept everyone very busy. We actually went over to the garden pool several times. The water was a little cooler (and more refreshing) than the pools at out building.
Super easy access to the beach!
One of the only things that was a little inconvenient was that we were required to keep our beach/pool towels throughout our entire stay. I had to wash them every night (because I'm a clean freak) which was a little bit of a hassle. Instead of doing one load of "clothing" laundry and swimsuits each night, I had to do towels too. Not a huge deal, just a little inconvenient;( This was just a new policy for us...last year at Newport Beach and Phoenix we were able to turn our towels in for new ones whenever we wanted. If I had known before coming, we might have brought some of our own beach towels from home, to cut down on the laundry each night. I'm sure Marriott is just trying to cut down on expenses.
Overall, would highly recommend MBB, but might request Garden Villas for our next stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bevo4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    214
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
387
191
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Barony Beach Club is an excellent place for a summer vacation. It is in a great location on Hilton Head. My family and I have enjoyed our stay and were disappointed we had to leave. The front desk staff is extremely welcoming at check in. The property is maintained in perfect shape. If you have an issue, they take care of it immediately. The entire staff is friendly and willing to help out if you have a question. It is a perfect spot for families. We enjoyed our stay and will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt22260993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Our family has stayed at a number of different Marriott vacation club properties over the years and this was our first time at Barony Beach Club on Hilton Head Island. We were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the villas and resort accommodations. The beach is beautiful, although it was a bit of a hike from the rear of the property by foot. The outdoor grilling and picnicking areas were outstanding (apparently they were recently redone) as well as the outdoor games. The rear pool with the water slide was a hit with all the kids. Our only disappointment was that there was no playground for younger kids, and the on site marketplace was much smaller than the usual Marriott Marketplace. Overall it was a pleasure to stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review! We are happy your family enjoyed their vacation with us in July and appreciate your feedback about the Marketplace & kid's activities. We look forward to your next stay with us at Marriott's Barony Beach Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is our second time to Hilton Head, but the first time on this property. The property is set up for families and offers a lot of games, etc to keep them busy. We were disappointed to see they do not offer such services as providing new beach towels for free. This is the first property we have been to that does not offer this. The rooms are also a little older, but very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batesjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This resort is tucked away from the road. Its a beautiful resort with a nice beach. There was a lot of families with children and they all seemed to enjoy themselves @ the pool or beach. Our room was to far from the beach but the resort has a golf cart shuttle service to help w/ that. The "Garden Villas" are not the what I consider "Garden Villas" due to the layout of this resort. The staff is Very Nice and Very Helpful. I would definitely consider going back again. Even though I feel the amount of points is really out of line. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation. But not to anyone looking for "Nightlife".

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed. Take the room location that suits your need the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review Eric! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the resort and the beautiful beach. We hope you will be able to return again on your next vacation on Hilton Head Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Barony Beach Club this past June. The resort is a bit more remotely located on the northern end of HHI than other Marriott Vacation Club properties on the island. While the room was conveniently located to the pool and the beach, we were a bit disappointed that the resort assigned us an accessible room although I am a Gold Elite member of Marriott Rewards. The BBC is an excellent place to stay for a family beach vacation, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eethomaswfnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our 15th season staying at Barony Beach and the overall appearance remains very high. Improvements are constantly being made so the investment of the time-share owners is assured. Our grandsons have vacationed at Barony Beach since they were toddlers and they are still finding enjoyment in our stays there.
The staff is always very, especially Ms. Nettie and John the Concierge. Any problem in the unit, and Engineer is right there. Issac at the bike rental stand has done a wonderful job for years.
The beach in front of BB is wide and clean and goes for miles. To the other side of the Westin Hotel are private homes along the beach, so there are very few people going in that direction. We enjoy that area of the beach because the shelling is superb and the beach is a wonderful place for bike riding. This year there were very few days of pounding surf, so the skim boarding was also excellent.
This year new, improved, boardwalks were installed from the pool area to the sand. The structures are a visual improvement, but be warning, the walking surface of the boardwalks get hotter than the sand. Many a child just touched them and cried. I am sure the management will have those hot boards somehow corrected very soon.
This year we tried a new Gulah restaurant and the food was excellent although the seating and service was somewhat chaotic, but it was a fun evening. BYOB with no uncorking fees. We probably will not be able to get a seat next year, but try Roasted Fish and Cornbread.
Hats off to the management for preserving the property so very well

Room Tip: Have John make those dinner reservations for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wmlifsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for joining us for your 15th visit! We truly appreciate your kind words and are happy to be your destination of choice on HIlton Head Island. We look forward to your 16th visit and thank you for your TripAdvisor review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.5 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 29 in Hilton Head
300 reviews
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#3 of 29 in Hilton Head
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Address: 5 Grasslawn Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clear you mind poolside at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Nestled on in infamous Hilton Head, South Carolina, your feet will be covered in sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing