We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
$321
$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Grande Ocean(Hilton Head)
$669
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$574
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$142
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$258
$208
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$287
$251
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveler rating
502
237
58
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
237
58
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden villajasmine buildingmorning gloryocean frontindoor poolsplash padfull kitchenmarriott vacation club ownerswestin hotelport royal plantationdaily activitiesmain buildingtime sharebar and grillhilton head islandhome resortcorn hole
Filter
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 830 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This resort is tucked away from the road. Its a beautiful resort with a nice beach. There was a lot of families with children and they all seemed to enjoy themselves @ the pool or beach. Our room was to far from the beach but the resort has a golf cart shuttle service to help w/ that. The "Garden Villas" are not the what I consider "Garden Villas" due to the layout of this resort. The staff is Very Nice and Very Helpful. I would definitely consider going back again. Even though I feel the amount of points is really out of line. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation. But not to anyone looking for "Nightlife".

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed. Take the room location that suits your need the best.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for your review Eric! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the resort and the beautiful beach. We hope you will be able to return again on your next vacation on Hilton Head Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Barony Beach Club this past June. The resort is a bit more remotely located on the northern end of HHI than other Marriott Vacation Club properties on the island. While the room was conveniently located to the pool and the beach, we were a bit disappointed that the resort assigned us an accessible room although I am a Gold Elite member of Marriott Rewards. The BBC is an excellent place to stay for a family beach vacation, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank eethomaswfnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our 15th season staying at Barony Beach and the overall appearance remains very high. Improvements are constantly being made so the investment of the time-share owners is assured. Our grandsons have vacationed at Barony Beach since they were toddlers and they are still finding enjoyment in our stays there.
The staff is always very, especially Ms. Nettie and John the Concierge. Any problem in the unit, and Engineer is right there. Issac at the bike rental stand has done a wonderful job for years.
The beach in front of BB is wide and clean and goes for miles. To the other side of the Westin Hotel are private homes along the beach, so there are very few people going in that direction. We enjoy that area of the beach because the shelling is superb and the beach is a wonderful place for bike riding. This year there were very few days of pounding surf, so the skim boarding was also excellent.
This year new, improved, boardwalks were installed from the pool area to the sand. The structures are a visual improvement, but be warning, the walking surface of the boardwalks get hotter than the sand. Many a child just touched them and cried. I am sure the management will have those hot boards somehow corrected very soon.
This year we tried a new Gulah restaurant and the food was excellent although the seating and service was somewhat chaotic, but it was a fun evening. BYOB with no uncorking fees. We probably will not be able to get a seat next year, but try Roasted Fish and Cornbread.
Hats off to the management for preserving the property so very well

Room Tip: Have John make those dinner reservations for you.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank wmlifsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for joining us for your 15th visit! We truly appreciate your kind words and are happy to be your destination of choice on HIlton Head Island. We look forward to your 16th visit and thank you for your TripAdvisor review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just returned home from a week in HH at Marriott Barony Beach club. Our top notch 2 bedroom unit helped to make the trip a memorable one. Their well manicured , clean facilities in an outstanding location near the ocean are hard to beat. We also particularly enjoyed the pools and other outdoor activities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveH9034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The best part is the rooms themselves. They are large and can easily accommodate 4-6 people. Everything was clean and worked well in the suite. The kitchen was well-equipped and there all kinds of dishes, pots and pans. The beach was at the front and very nice, though we had no view of it. The grounds were clean and the service was great except for what is mentioned below:

Now to the main reason why I would not go back: There were 2 pools which were small and shallow (4.5 ft at the deepest). There was lots of families whose young kids dominated the pools the entire time. For us, relaxing and enjoying the pool is a big part of the vacation. In this place that seemed impossible. If you are not families with young kids, this place is likely not for you, but if you are, then it's probably great.

Another point. Marriott needs to cool it with the solicitation about buying timeshare. We booked this place like we booked any other hotel room. We didn't know were booking a timeshare. We are young adults and have zero interest in buying timeshare here or anywhere. 1 week before the stay they call pretending to help you with your stay but the purpose of the call is nothing but to get you to think about buying timeshare. Then again at check-in, they do the same, and finally they call while through your stay. We answered that were not interested in the call before the stay and at check-in, so don't call us anymore through the stay. They also have some people roaming around the resort "current owners", who sometimes I doubted their true identity, given the exact timing of when they show up to give their testimonials about how great ownership is (like right at check-in when concierge was trying to get us to sign up for the session).

Another catch related to the above is at check-in, they try to make you feel like 2nd class guests saying that the rooms you booked not available and reserved for the timeshare owners, and then they send you over to the guy who is "nice" enough to help you become a timeshare owner.

Room Tip: they tell you have to become Marriott timeshare owner to get a good room
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ManofTastes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review for Marriott's Barony Beach Club. We are pleased to hear the villa exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. Your feedback regarding solicitation is appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate managers. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest and for visiting us in Hilton Head Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews