We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was there from 01/17/2014 to 01/20/ 2014. We were assigned a room on ocean side. It had a nice view of the resort. The room was spacious and comfortable. The front desk was very helpful.We spent a lot of time walking on the beach. We did rent bikes . It was disappointing. We had a flat tire and had to call for a replacement. We were given a jinky map that was hard to follow. I would go to Sea Pines to rent bikes. The overall experience was very good. I plan to return shortly.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for ocean side unless you have children. The garden view is built around young fam...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nschuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Barony Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 785 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

These are villas with full kitchen, living area, two baths and two large bedrooms. Even has a nice balcony. Parking is under the unit so no need to get wet. Very large outdoor pool and adequate indoor for winter and cooler weather. Lots of restaurants in a 10-15 minute drive. Beautiful private beach. Front desk folks very accommodating.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 414Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

It was a bit chilly but with heated indoor and outdoor pools that didn't stop us from swimming, renting bikes, golfing, dining out, eating in, shopping, walking the beaches.... There is so much to do here and that was just ON the resort property! A very nicely appointed property, very clean and "new" feeling. Staff was great if there was anything we wanted. There are many fun daily activities to join in, if you choose. Lots for little ones to do and adults too. We could paint wine glasses, play in the scrabble tourney, or Bellinis and Bingo....line dance, watch movies, compete in the resort Iron Chef contest! And that was all in one day... In the winter! We will come again in the summer.

Room Tip: Request if you want ocean view, but we liked seeing the pool and fire pit courtyard
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earthlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The property is very well maintained and the front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful.

My wife and I checked in and were assigned to the Garden Villas which is a separate property across from the entrance for the main property. We did an exchange via Interval International (II). Since it is early January 2014 - it is off season and the property was not too crowded

The unit itself had two bed rooms (1- with king bed and 2 - the other with two queen beds) - two bathrooms, two jet tubs, etc. - very nice.

If we knew earlier, we would have requested a unit with the main property. The access to the ocean / beach is via that property. Also the exercise room / pool / spa are off the registration area back at the main property.

The garden villas have their own unheated outside pool and a water slide - but it being January and a recent cold spell - the water temperature hovers in the 40's - too cold for this guy. During the warmer weather seasons, it looks like a very nice setup.

Guest activities were minimal (probably due to off season)

So to get to the inside heated pool / exercise room - you need to walk a goodly distance to the main property. We did not use the on site restaurant - it looked nice and it too was off the main property

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We appreciate your positive review of Marriott’s Barony Beach Club! While we are happy to hear the villa exceeded your expectations, our team apologizes you were not happy with your villa’s location. On your next visit with us, please feel free to put in a request for your room location within the category reserved and we will do our best to honor it. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our third visit to Hilton Head, South Carolina. The other times were during the summer season. This was the first time in December, January. The first 2 days were nice, in the high 50's, we could walk on the beach and use the heated outdoor pool. They also have a heated indoor pool. The grounds are beautiful and kept up nicely. Then the rain came for 2 days and the temperature went down to the 30's. Most people left due to the wind and temperature, we stuck it out. Would I return to this place ..yes..would I return during the off season of December. I don't think so. Not much to do when it is raining and cold. There is a brand new Kroger just down the street which is very nice and they have their own gas station.

Room Tip: They will email you prior to your stay to confirm your time. In that email I would recommend tell th...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We appreciate your positive review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club! We regret the unfavorable weather on your most recent stay but are happy to hear you'll return. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The property is very well kept and the rooms are clean, comfortable, and well- really perfect! We loved being in a condo and we were not hounded by the timeshare people (thank God). The beach access was convenient and the food at All Y'all's was just fine. Very beautiful property. Reminded us of a Sandals Resort we stayed in Jamaica - but this Marriott was nicer. Very quiet and convenient. We all loved it and would not change a thing - but the cold weather we had.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank CA_Blond_SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stay here about twice a year for a week at a time each. This time it was over new years. The staff is always great and will go out of the way for anything you need. Theyt are going through a little construction so the pizza place is closed and theyt are getting rid of the gift shop.

We hadSunday brunch here and it was horrible. Two of us barely ate a bite and we we told the bartender, she said she was sorry we didn't like it. Also the plastic utensils are very cheap, they melted in the French toast! The food quality was way below Marriott standards.

Other than the food the rooms are great, plenty of room and easy to get around.

We will be back, just not to eat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club! As a loyal Tripadvisor contributor, we truly value your feedback regarding your stay with us. While we are happy your family enjoyed their time at our resort, we apologize the food service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with our food and beverage team so we may continue to improve our offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.9 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.5 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Address: 5 Grasslawn Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $163 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clear you mind poolside at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Nestled on in infamous Hilton Head, South Carolina, your feet will be covered in sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing