We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Head Resort(Hilton Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveler rating
501
235
57
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
235
57
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden villajasmine buildingmorning gloryocean frontindoor poolsplash padfull kitchenmarriott vacation club ownerswestin hotelport royal plantationdaily activitiesmain buildingtime sharebar and grillhilton head islandhome resortcorn hole
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
785 - 790 of 826 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We have recently returned from a wonderful week at the Barony Beach resort. This was our fourth family reunion at this property which speaks volumes for its level of service and ammenities. After reading the majority of positive reviews we could not agree more. Our fellow reviewers accurately describe the Barony and I see no reason to be superfluous. Our comments will hopefully serve as a compliment to their opinions.

The level of service and property characteristics aside no place is without some problems . It is the extent of these difficulties and what the management does about them is important.

After setteling we (all 7 of us ) met poolside and found the piped in music overbearing and unnessarily invasive. Several fellow guests also complained and management was duly notified. Note, loud music was not a problem during the rest of our stay. A week long and particulary annoying situation was caused by discourteous people placing personal items on lounge chairs and tables very early in the morning and then not showing up until much later. We noticed many were "reserved " by 7 AM. This is against the rules and it caused friction among some. Management should stop this practice. It's not fair for those of us that follow the rules and the last thing one wants to hear while on vacation are a bunch of grown ups having words. Our last complaint deals with the temperature of the ocean side hot tub. 106 degrees is just too hot to be enjoyed during the day and potentially dangerous. Turn it down during the day and "goose" it at night if necessary. OK, that's it for problems. If you put them in perspective, not too bad, huh?

There is a mini -mart on the property but the prices are high for basics. You are better off going to one of the several nearby shopping centers for all necessities. Most are within 3 miles, and , yes there is a Wal-Mart.

Side trips and things to do abound and the hotel folks can steer you to the attractions of choice. A must see is the city of Savannah, about an hour away by car. You can also make the short drive to Harbor Town and pick up a boat for the leisurely cruise down the river to this jewel of a Southern city. There is a lot to do , from the sedate to the more adventureous.

This property is an outstanding place to visit especially with young children. We would not recommend it for the handicapped due to the need to walk from remote resort locations or families with teenagers. There is zero night life, but that's part of its charm.

One last point, the beach sand is quite firm and beckoned us each morning for a long and early morning stroll accompanied by graceful Dolphin rolling in the surf not 25 feet from away.

We hope this review is helpful and you enjoy your stay at the Barony .

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank njsidebyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We spent a week at the Barony. This is our 6th trip to Hilton Head and fourth location (3rd Marriott). The grounds of the Barony are great. I wish we could have spent more time at the hotel. The beachside pool was excellent - albeit unheated and thus cold. The heated pool was small and crowded. There is an indoor pool, which is certainly a plus, but fortunately the weather cooperated and we never used it.

We had an interior view from the Live Oak building. It looked out over the grounds (in between pools). It was uninspiring, but quiet at night which is a big plus for us with two 8:00 bedtimes.

The unit needed minor details updated, but overall was in very good shape.

The location is ok. It's not near anything - so you need to drive 10-15 minutes to get anywhere of interest.

Only downside:
Although we didn't stay there, you don't want to be in the two buildings behind the Westin - Gardenia and ----- (a name I can't remember). They are across the street from the main resort. However, it sounds like the unit you receive it luck of the draw. You don't know what you are getting until you get there.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DintyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We have owned here from the pre construction days in 1998 and have never stayed here. We have used the amminities every year though beacause as owners you can get your "day pass" for as many days as you need while in HH. This year we decided to extend our Christmas/NewYears holidays by coming down and staying in our home resort the week after New Years. We expected to be put in the garden villas but were pleasently supprised that they put the owners in the ocean side first. so we were placed on the 5th floor with an extended balconly and had a great view. Our private Consiarge was outstanding and gave us her private number if we needed her. I can say we did not "need" her but did take her up on the ofter and had her make our reservations so we did not need to and it all worked out fantastic. We even changed our minds on her day off and she still changed tee times and golf courses for us. All in all we loved it and will be back at our home resort again. Thanks for a wonderfull stay

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank ncbldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

The good...
Stayed for 3 days and 2 nights only. Family of 4, together with my sister and brother-in-law. The hotel was very nice. The first bedroom has a king size bed and second has 2 full-size bed. Outside there's a sleeper sofa too. Both bedrooms had their own bathrooms, plus their own whirlpool tubs. The bathrooms had sinks inside and there are sinks outside where the whirlpool tubs are. Plenty of drawers and closets. 3 TVs, one huge plasma outside, then each bedroom has a TV. Nice size kitchen with all the pots, plates, utensils, etc you need. They even provide you with a starter kit, which has coffee, cleaning products, etc. They have a washer an dryer too. Just perfect really.

We booked via hotel, which cost an arm and a leg. We got the last unit available, which is at the farthest building from the beach. Even then, the walk was okay. Even the 7 year old who usually complains was fine with the walk.

The bad...
There were minor issues, not enough to prevent us from going back. There's a gate before your car can enter the area and the cards that they gave us sometimes would need to be swiped several times. We had 3 cards and all were the same, we just kept swiping all 3. Too lazy to go back and ask them to replace the cards. Also, since we booked via the hotel on a nightly basis, the cleaning should have been included. But when I specifically asked the front desk, they said it's not included. Funny part is they eventually called us to inquire when is a good time for housekeeping to clean. We had washed all the towels at this point, so really did not need housekeeping anymore.

Another thing that we did not like and has nothing to do with the hotel was that the waves were too rough. Not sure if it's because we went later in August, or perhaps there was some storm coming. The waves became so huge and rough that at one point it knocked down all of us. We decided to get out and enjoy the pool instead. The pool is plain with some waterfalls and a sloping entryway. It was okay until some lady decided to put beach chairs on the sloping entryway and she and her sister chatted away. I was waiting for some hotel staff to say something but nobody did.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank pmmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

My wife and our three children (13, 10, and 7) recently spent a week at the Barony Beach and loved it! We had an ocean-front, fourth-floor suite (five story building), which provided spectacular sunrises, sunsets, and starry skies. We slept with the sliding doors open every night and loved the sounds of the waves.

The room was very large (app. 1300 square feet), and had just been refurbished with new carpet, furnishings, beds, etc. It was spectacular and clean, clean, clean!

If you go, rent bikes for the week, as it is tremendous fun to ride up and down the beach in the early morning, Also, the Barony had lots of programming for the kids, including movies by the pool at night on a giant screen TV. The exercise room was quite nice. (Joggers might not need the exercise room at all because the sand on the beach is compact, solid, and very easy for a long run.) Overall, the resort was almost perfect.

We have only two mild criticisms. First, the pools were not attended to on Thanksgiving and the following day. I would chalk it up to a shortage of staff on the holidays, and it was not a big deal. Note that only two pools are heated -- the indoor pool and the adjacent outdoor pool.

Second, folks who are interested in an ocean front view should consider where their building is in relation to the entire property, and specifically the Westin Hotel. The hotel fans are quite loud and for some (though not us) would be bothersome. Also, although the cleaning crew was very thorough and nice, we noted that our rooms usually weren't touched until 4 pm or later. Maybe this was due to Thanksgiving, and we didn't really care, but if you are expecting your room clean by early afternoon, then make certain the staff is aware of your expectation.

Thanksgiving Day found the beach full of families having a wonderful holiday -- it's easy to see why families come here year after year.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank alaskadreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews