We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hilton head is marvelous and staying at Marriott's Barony makes it perfect. On the ocean with beautiful pools and landscaping it is a vacation delight. Golf is close and the weather was great. Highly recommended for families or couples

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CaptDaveKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 813 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have been a Marriott owner for over a decade and have never been upset with our accomodations until now. This is the strangest layout of a property I have ever seen. We asked for oceanfront but those go to the owners there which I understand. What I do not understand is how they could build the "Garden Villas" BEHIND the Westin Hotel? In those buildings you have a view of the kid theme pool and the front of the Westin Hotel. To get to the beach you have to walk around the building, across the road that goes into the Westin, and then all the way through the main Barony property. P.S. the "Beach Club" there is the OFFICE, sounds nice but there in no beach club there.
In addition to that when we checked in it smelled of mold. I found a very wet spot in the carpet and it turns out that the dishwasher had been leaking for who knows how long. They came and fixed the leak but did not offer to move us to another unit and instead we were left with a blower trying to dry out the carpet.
The sheets are cheap, the towels are cheap, and the entire unit needs updating which is strange because they told us they just went through a major renovation.
Only one small pool is heated? Why would you have 3 pools and only heat 1?
You will also have the pleasure of leaf blowers every morning from about 8 - 9 not to mention the cars and trucks going into the Westin.
If you have a Marriott ownership DO NOT request this place. Pick another Marriott on HHI.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dewey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

As Marriott owners of four Aruba timeshares, we exchanged a week with Interval International for the Barony. Very smart. We were contacted by the concierge, Debra Bell, a couple weeks prior to our arrival. She is a gem. As we are here for our anniversary, she. Told us to contact the front desk for an oceanfront villa. We called and were told that oceanfront villas are few and usually reserved by owners. Much to out delight we were given an oceanfront. The resort is great. The villas are clean as a pin and spacious. Everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. As an example, we brought bikes but forgot locks. I asked the front desk and said to see Amos who gave us a lock. Indoor heated and outdoor heated pool and cold pools too. We will be back, Barony, hopefully more than once. BTW, Hilton Head Island has no neon lights and a ton go bike trails. Make sure you have a GPS as all stores are hidden by lots of trees.

Room Tip: As the grounds are beautiful any villa would be a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the moment we checked in we knew we were someplace special. The front desk service was great, the facility and rooms were clean and in excellent condition. The beach in Hilton Head is probably one of the best in he world. The sand is soft and surf is mild, perfect for family days on the beach. The best part are the activities in and round the pool. The resort is close to great golf courses and some of the best restaurants on the island. It is no wonder my family goes back every year.

Room Tip: Every room is good. Look for a low floor if you have kids so you can use the stairs to get to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfisch100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

First the island is wonderful. It was easy to get around. The Marriott Beach Club was beautifully located in a great setting. The rooms were big and comfortable. We got an email prior to our visit welcoming us and letting us know if there was anything we needed who to contact. Great customer service. I have never had that with Marriott before and I am a vacation club owner!! We are definitely going back for another stay soon. I highly recommended this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed on the wooded side but ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The units are 2 bedroom- 2 bath villas and beautiful. I have never been in a condo so clean. Housekeeping does a great job and comes by every day to put dishes in the dish washer, take dirty towels, make the bed. We are used to staying with condos using VRBO.com which is VACATION RENTALS BY OWNER so we have to do all of the housekeeping ourselves.This was a nice switch from that. The grounds are well kept and gorgeuous. We were very happy here and would suggest this spot for anyone who wants to visit Hilton Head, Savannah and Tybee Island as we did.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcm9131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

First let me say that we are somewhat spoiled by the amenities and quality of the Marriott hotels, and the Marriott Barony Bay Beach Club did not disappoint.

We received an e-mail about 3 weeks before our travel date asking if we had any special needs, or requests. I requested a "trash removal/ towel switch" for halfway in the week. The fee is $13.00 to do so.

We also requested an Ocean front unit, and if we were assigned a Garden unit, then perhaps a higher floor.

They were kind enough to call back about a week before our trip to say that they could not honor our unit location requests, and that we would indeed be in the Garden units. The floor would be assigned upon check in.
To be honest, I didn't expect that we would have an Oceanfront based on previous reviews. I think it was better to know in advance. No expectations or disappointment.

The unit: 2 bdrm, 2nd floor Gardenia building. Very nice, very roomy, and clean. All the necessities neatly in the cabinets and drawers. Washer and dryer with a small pack of detergent. Big porch with a great view of the pool.

I had asked for a higher floor upon check-in, but actually glad they couldn't accommodate us.
We were nice and close to the outdoor grilling area and an easy walk down to the pool.

*note..halfway through the week, we had to call about the towel/trash service on the day requested since it was getting late and no-one had shown up. They arrived around 4:00, and basically just handed us a pile of towels in exchange for our dirty ones. We had already collected them before they arrived to save time. I'm sure they would have replaced them neatly in each bath, but we didn't want them fussing while we were getting ready to go out.
We later discovered the trash chute was right next to the elevator and a short walk away from our unit. I wouldn't bother paying for that particular service again..kinda felt silly that I had.

The Garden area: Honestly, YES it is a pain in the neck to walk back and forth to the main hotel area, and to the beach. It's a very scenic, easy walk, but a walk nonetheless. If I had little ones with all the beach paraphernalia, I would find it pretty inconvenient. BUT...., If I did have little ones I would probably never WANT leave the garden units!

The pool and landscaping are so beautiful!. Lot's of southern charm with a bit of whimsy. The area was never crowded or particularly noisy. We loved the grilling area.( busy at dinnertime) It's covered with a pretty portico and has 2 flat screened TV's and a fireplace!. The area also has a ping pong table for entertainment between burger flipping :)

The Garden pool has a big slide and a water play area. Also a fire pit and a Jacuzzi. One thing to note..the pool is NOT heated and a bit chilly for off season swimming.
In the evening they turn on these lovely gas lit lanterns that give the pool area such a picturesque glow.

Given the choice of units... if I couldn't stay in an Oceanfront, I would stay in a Garden unit before a courtyard unit at the main hotel any day.

The main pool area: Fun and busy. The poolside bar served up some great Pina Coladas, and the lunches looked tasty, although we never ate lunch there. They have beach chairs for rent at the "All Y'all" grille, but note that the rentals are only for small portable beach chairs and not the ones you see with the umbrellas on the beach. Those you have to rent from the lifeguards on the beach (odd system).

The Cabanas are very nice, and may be rented through the front desk. Tip: I was told that several families would call at 7:00 am on the dot to rent them for the day. Might have to be an early riser if this is something you want to consider. We never bothered.

The indoor pool is nice and warm, but lacks a bit of personality and was never crowded. There is an outdoor upper pool just outside the indoor pool that was also heated, but also very understated. Not sure why they don't dress the area up a bit with more flora/fauna when the rest of the grounds are so charming.

Most guests hung out by the large waterfront pool, even though it was unheated and a bit chilly for April. They have great tropical music playing on the speakers throughout. Lots of palms, umbrellas, and pretty atmosphere.

There was a one man band playing Jimmy Buffett songs at the pool Gazebo one day that we really enjoyed.

Other than seeing some early morning fitness on the beach and activity in the pool areas, it was pretty quiet around the grounds for a "sold out" week.

The beach was gorgeous and had plenty of people, but never felt crowded. Lot's of early morning walkers and a few bike riders.

We spent a lot of our time out and about enjoying the activities and food of Hilton Head Island but found our stay at the Marriott Barony Beach Club to be 100% relaxing and everything we wanted in our vacation!

Kudo's to the staff who always give a friendly hello to the guests!

Restaurant recommendations:
Marley's: Fun, great tropical atmosphere. Good variety, Yummy dinner. Delicious ice cream.
Dye's Gullah Fixin's: Always a fav. Must make reservations!
A LowCountry Backyard: Good southern flare, decent food, cool outdoor seating.
Charbar: OMG..best burger EVER!

Room Tip: Garden units are lovely. Yes they are a bit of a walk to the beach, but the atmosphere of the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lfrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.9 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
6.6 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
4.7 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
6.8 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#5 of 28 in Hilton Head
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Address: 5 Grasslawn Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $201 - $715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clear you mind poolside at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Nestled on in infamous Hilton Head, South Carolina, your feet will be covered in sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing