We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tucked away location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Savoy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tucked away location”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

If you want to relax in a wooded, tucked away location yet have direct access to the beach, Barony is a perfect getaway. We like to stay near the pool close to the clubhouse. It's much quieter than the oceanside pool. The only thing they need to improve on is the poolside bar. It is so small.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    220
    54
    21
    12
See reviews for
403
197
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southold, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This place really caters to time shareowners. It's not easy to find, but beautiful and on the beach. We stayed over Feb. break. The weather was chilly, but we loved the indoor pool and water aerobics.
Very relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17wandalust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

As a Marriott member of several other weeks, I was not treated as a valued owner at check-in. There are 6 total bldgs on site. I asked to not be put in either of the 2 bldgs (Garden View Side) that are an easy 5 minute walk away from all the activities. I got put in the Garden View area anyway.
The reason was because the unit owner that put the hotel in the Interval system that I ended up using was a garden view owner. I even asked to pay for an upgrade. Nope. This was the worst treatment I have received in 10+ years of Marriott ownership. If I had received an Interval resort trade that was anything other than Marriott, I would have expected the lack of cooperation at check-in. To be fair, other than my check in experience, the resort staff was very professional & helpful as with all Marriott resorts I have experienced.

As a travel tip to future guests, I would not check in to this resort until their MAJOR/ multiple pool renovations are done in June 2012 (yeah...they say May 2012). The renovations are a positive sign that they are upgrading with all the yearly maintence fees, its just that I paid the SAME price for not having those features as someone will pay in June with the features. If you don't care about having use of both main outdoor pools or easy/ direct access to the ocean, then I'm sure the resort will meet all your needs.

Room Tip: Prior to June 2012, ask for anything other than the "Garden View" bldgs. There is literall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1FamilyMan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

First time ever we decided to spend Feb vacation in Hilton Head. Barony was a great place to stay but I must admit that this time of year must be the place for all the senior citizens to go to, which was fine, but didn't expect it. The 2 heated pools were great, and we didn't notice the construction noise as we were in the main complex. They are putting in a new pool in the area across the main complex so be aware of the noise level there and quite frankly the construction with heavy equipment that is over there. Marriott should shut down the buildings that are closest to the major pool construction, but in typical Marriott style of getting every penny from all that go, did not close any buildings. Enjoyed biking on the island and clearly the beach too but it wasn't as warm as I was expecting and they also had a fair number of great kids activities. I liked the quietness of the place and will consider doing April vacation next year and lets hope for warmer temps then.

Room Tip: We always enjoyed the high floors as you have a better chance of getting some sort of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRDMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is a place for families and older (senior citizens) people, preferably with their younger grandchildren. If you have a teenager, or if you are a young adult looking for a party place, this is definitely not the place for you.

We normally go for a week during the summers, and they have a good mix of paid and free programming for the adults and children.

My only complaint, and the reason I am looking forward to going to another hotel this summer, is that the water in the pool is very warm ... the kind of water that when you jump in to "refresh" from the heat, it just adds to the hotness. I wish at least one of the pools was not so warm, so that I could have a refreshing experience in the (sometimes) oppressive heat of South Carolina in the summer.

Room Tip: High floor next to the beach is always nice ... but everyone wants that ... so, good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surreyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corryton, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel is very nice and well maintained. It is a timeshare community, but there weren't any pushy salespeople lurking around. They treated you as though you'd just purchased the largest time share plan they had to offer, even though we purchased nothing. The 2 bedroom villa we stayed in was HUGE and offered nice updates like granite countertops and a fully equipped kitchen. The balcony was large and roomy. My husband and I vacationed with another couple, and we had plenty of privacy. The rooms are spread out enough so that you do not hear any noise from other visitors. The pools were nice, the hot tubs are nice, and its not a long walk from the beach. The staff was very courteous. I'm not a huge fan of Hilton Head, but the Mariott was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorryTNgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We visited the Barony Beach Club in January using an Interval Internation exchange. We called ahead, telling them that we were in out 70's with some difficulty walking and requesting to be close to the important facilities. The staff was wonderful. Our room was close to the lobby, elevator, heated pool and beach. We had a great ocean view room. Although they were doing some construction to the garden area below us, we hardly noticed that it was going on. Our villa was clean, well appointed and comfortable. We enjoy cooking and found the kitchen to be quite adequate for our needs. The grill area is beautiful and kept spotlessly clean. There were all types of activities available but there was no pressure to join unless you wanted to. Once we told them upon check-in that we were not interested in purchasing any addition time shares, we were not contacted again. All in all this was a relaxing stay, and the staff did all they could to make us comfortable. We were blessed with beautiful weather, even sitting by the pool in bathing suits three of the days.

Room Tip: Call ahead with your requests. They will do their best to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mheine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.5 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
309 reviews
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Address: 5 Grasslawn Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clear you mind poolside at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Nestled on in infamous Hilton Head, South Carolina, your feet will be covered in sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing