We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice Hotel-Would Recommend for Couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
pgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel-Would Recommend for Couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Visited HHI for the 1st time & stayed at the beach house resort. After reading previous, negative reviews, I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was recently renovated & the rooms/lobby/restaurants were nicely updated. The hotel was clean overall, though, the hallway carpetting was a little run down (though understanably so- due to the sand, etc). The location was good-right on the beach & across the street from Coligny Plaza. The Tiki bar was convenient stop for lunch /cocktail breaks during the day & the entertainment was a bonus (though the all day/night performances would be a little loud for the rooms nearby). My only complaint was the resort fee. It increased from 10$ at time of booking to 13$ at check-in. The whole resort fee concept still eludes me- I would rather pay higher nightly rates than be hit with a fee for "amenities" that I should receive without question (pool, wifi, towels, etc). Overall, HHI was nice- though wouldn't be my first choice for beach vaca next year. I grew up vacationing on the delmarva peninsula & am more used of the whole "boardwalk/main street" resort feel. I didn't feel like l was "at the beach" once I stepped away from the ocean/beach area. Felt more like a lake/camping area with all the trees, etc.

Room Tip: Somewhere away from the tiki bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello Michelle,
Thank you for the thoughtful review and honest feedback. We’re happy our recently renovated lobby and brand new restaurant The Porch impressed you, and we’re glad our clean, comfortable rooms pleasantly surprised you. We are sorry you were displeased with the condition of the hallway carpet, but we are thrilled you enjoyed our location, Tiki Hut, and live entertainment. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to our standard resort fee; we’ll take your comments to heart, as we continue to improve. We’re glad you enjoyed your overall Hilton Head experience, but we regret not being your first choice next year. We hope you reconsider, because we’d love the opportunity to win you over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    366
    171
    108
    83
See reviews for
441
439
33
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

First of all let me start with the fact that we booked this hotel the day before (July 2nd) for a 4th of July weekend trip, so ended up paying a premium for that ($380/night). The property was beautiful and the restaurants were fantastic, especially The Porch Kitchen and Bar (fantastic bar tenders). It looked like the recently spent a lot of money upgrading the property, unfortunately, they haven't upgraded the rooms yet. When we got to our room we were shocked to see what a dump it was. Mold on the curtains, stains on the carpet floor, towel racks falling off the walls. It was booked full so we didn't bother trying to change rooms and from what we saw they were all in similar condition.

That said, the property was beautiful, the staff was great, everyone was friendly and helpful. The 4th of July celebrations was fantastic and we didn't even need to leave the property to see lots of fireworks. Beach was excellent.

Like I said, we paid a premium because we booked last minute on a holiday weekend. Might not have been SO disappointed in the rooms has we paid a normal rate. If they ever do some renovations on the rooms, we would probably come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clementine222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello Clementine,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience. We’re thrilled to have spent the fourth of July with you, and we’re happy you enjoyed our beautiful location, dedicated service team, and delicious open-air restaurant. We are very sorry that your room wasn’t cleaned properly prior to your arrival, and we sincerely apologize for other aspects of it that didn’t meet your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us. We recently completed renovations to our lobby and pool area, and we’re very excited about many upcoming improvements. We hope you come back to enjoy them. We promise to make your next visit even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We booked this hotel for a long weekend so that we could get in one last beach trip before school starts. We were very pleased with our stay. It is an older hotel, but it has been renovated and redecorated. The decor was very cute for a beach front hotel. The rooms were comfortable and clean and I can't say enough nice things about the staff. They were extremely accommodating with our requests for early check-in and late check-out! The location was great and the amenities were very nice. We really enjoyed our stay at the Beach House Resort and will definitely stay here again the next time we take a 2-3 day trip to Hilton Head.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello SCfam,
We love knowing we contributed to your family’s “last hurrah” before the new school year! Kids grow up way too fast. You should make as many memories as possible together, and summer memories are some of the best! We’re glad we could be a small part of that, and we’re thrilled you enjoyed our new renovations, great amenities, fantastic location, and clean, comfortable rooms. We’re delighted our dedicated team took such good care of you and was able to accommodate your requests. Your compliments mean a great deal to us, but another visit would be the best one yet! We would love to offer your family another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our family had a great stay at The Beach House this week. As soon as we arrived, we were quickly greeted by Carlton. and other staff members, who took us directly to our rooms. The rooms were ready in advance, clean, and cool. Rudzani was at the front desk and she was very accommodating. All the gals at the front desk were friendly and professional. The pool and beach were connected and so convenient to enjoy. The Tiki Bar music and musicians were a hit each day. The staff checked in on guests to ensure they were guests and were involved in organizing kid activities each day. Pool side drink service would be a nice added feature. Jason was the most friendliest and creative bartender. We loved his drinks. The Porch is the restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Ted made an awesome omelette for us and our kids loved his waffles, too. The food is southern comfort style and the decor is eye catching. It's a nice inviting environment. You can also order food and snacks at The Snack Shack centered near the pool area. The shrimp cocktail and pulled pork sliders are delicious. Food is prepared promptly. Pricing was reasonable. The Full Moon party was a hit Saturday night. Fith, the bar manager, was great at engaging the crowd with the live band and entertainment activities. The Blue Moon Band was amazing. We all danced in the sand for hours. The crowd was fun and even though our children are young, they were made to feel very comfortable dancing and having fun with everyone. The weather was awesome, too. We loved walking to the shops and restaurants near the hotel. That convenience was perfect. We will definitely continue to stay at this hotel each year. There's no better place for us!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boathouse1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Hello,
You've truly made our day! Your amazing review is sure to generate tons of smiles as we pass your praise along. We're thrilled to hear out hotel and restaurant teams made you feel welcomed and well cared for. It sounds like your whole family loved our location, amenities and overall fun vibe! We can't wait to see you again for another memorable beach getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The location of this property is great, it is within walking distance of shopping and dining and beach access. The outdoor bar, the "Tiki Hut" always provides a great place to stop and refresh during the day and on some weekends, such as last night at the full moon 80's party provides a fantastic place to enjoy the beach, music and beverages. The band they had headline "Blue Monday" was one of the best bands I have had the pleasure of listening to and I would make a trip back just to listen to them. Grey Rains (Mgr) is always helpful in taking care of any request that are made from guest. overall, a great place to just stay and have a good time enjoying the beach in a casual format.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello Ken,
Thanks for the terrific review! We’re thrilled we could show you such a fantastic weekend. We love the convenience of our beautiful location and are glad you agree. We’re happy our wonderful Gray could fulfill your requests. He’s quite the people pleaser and will appreciate knowing he’s succeeded. We’re happy you enjoyed our lively, yet laid back atmosphere. Our Tiki Hut team really knows how to throw a party! We’re glad you could join us for the fun and great music. Please return to Beach House for another amazing experience soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed with my family at the Beach House. We were very pleased with the service and hospitality we received from all the staff. Mr. Rains went above and beyond to make our trip enjoyable. Our usual spots have been Daytona or Jekyll but we decided to try Hilton Head and were very pleased we did. I recommend it to anyone who wants the perfect place to stay to come do what you come to the beach to do.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello David,
We’re thrilled we were the perfect fit for your recent family vacation. We’re happy to hear our fantastic service team, especially Gray, impressed you! Your recommendation means the world to us. We hope you come enjoy our great, beachside home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Let me start off by saying how friendly the staff was. When we arrived the director of guest services Gray was at the counter and welcomed us. Throughout our stay and with the hundreds of people he saw daily he still managed to remember and greet me by name. When we originally checked in we had a double bed room which did not give us the space we needed with the kids. Unfortunately all of the larger rooms were booked, however as soon as one became available (a day later) they called my phone and let us know we could switch.
The location is right on the beach, the pool was perfect and accomodated the kids and adults, the Porch had great food, and the Tiki Hut was a cool spot to get drinks. Patricia in housekeeping was very nice, and she made the kids laugh. I loved that the staff was made up of people from all over the world, it made for good light conversations when passing by. I do have to say one staff member who really stood out was Brandon. Brandon took care of anything we needed when we were outside enjoying the day, was always eager to help and very friendly. When I told him my son wanted to find some sand dollars and shells, he gave us some tips, some locations, and when we finally found some shells we shared the pictures and he was genuinely happy for us. When I told him we hadn't found any sand dollars, he went out of his way grabbed some and told me to hide them on the beach where my son could find them.

The downside;
Rooms could use a little updating but who really spends any time in them anyway when you're on the beach!
No room service. This is something they should incorporate. Makes it so much easier when you have three kids who don't want to sit still in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello Adam,
Your review means a lot to us. We’re absolutely thrilled our beautiful beach, fantastic pool, delicious dining venues and dedicated team helped make your family vacation so great. We love hearing how Gray made all of you feel welcome! Patricia and Brandon are amazing at generating smiles from our younger guests. Thank you for sharing your experience with them; your recognition is sure to make their day! We’re glad you enjoyed friendly conversations with our diverse team, and we’re grateful for your feedback and helpful room service suggestion. We’ll take that into careful consideration, as we look forward to many upcoming improvements. We hope you stay with us again soon; we would love to offer your family another wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Beach House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In April 2016, Beach House Resort completed $7 million in floor-to-ceiling guest room renovations. The new Premium Oceanfront Guestrooms offer front row seats to live music at Tiki Hut - and the new Premium Patio guestrooms are steps from the sand. The newly renovated Junior Suites offer plenty of space, ocean views, and space for up to five guests. With more than 50 miles of scenic trails at its doorstep, the resort's newly designed interior emphasizes Hilton Head Island's stunning coastline - with an airy, coastal beach vibe. And there's more... Highlights: • The 202-room renovation has transformed Beach House into a truly boutique, oceanfront resort on Hilton Head Island. • Beach House is home to the world-famous Tiki Hut, the only toes in the sand, drinks in hand experience on Hilton Head Island-here you'll enjoy live music daily, watch the pros play volleyball, and sip cocktails crafted by one of the Island's favorite bartenders. • Start and end your day at The Porch Southern Kitchen, serving up Low Country favorites all day long, complete with outdoor seating, an oversized fire pit, late night live music, and dive-in movies. • The sparkling Resort pool, located steps from Coligny Beach, is a perfect place to soak up the sun. • Beach House is just down the sand from Beach Market shops and restaurants ... and across the street from Coligny Plaza's 60 shops and restaurants - all connected by walking paths. • The renovations extend beyond the guestrooms - over 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space has been upgraded to reflect the genuine beach vibe, including two of the finest private, beachfront event venues on the Island. The Resort can accommodate groups up to 300 people for events, weddings and retreats. What hasn't changed? The sounds of the ocean waves. Hundreds of yards of unspoiled beachfront. The perfect location across from Coligny Plaza. Onsite dining and live entertainment at The Porch and Tiki Hut. And everything you've come to love about Beach House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing