We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice location and great for kids.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice location and great for kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice location right on the beach and close to a lot. Easy to rent local bikes right close by too to explore the island.
Good activities for kids but do have to pay for some. Buffet was good but had a lot of people so careful of the time you show up.
Good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tayla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear tayla13:

Thanks for choosing the Beach House during your recent trip to Hilton Head. I know there are many choices and we do everything possible to make sure our guests leave being happy with their choice to stay at the Beach House. We also know that parents want nothing more than for their children to enjoy vacation and we're happy to know you found our activities to be so enjoyable and great for kids. We hope you will choose our resort for your next trip to Hilton Head.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    348
    161
    103
    79
See reviews for
413
418
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The wife and I stayed at the Beach House from 6/28-7/2-13 we reserved a king bed, the Hilton gave us a handicapped room since they had no other standard King Rooms available. Not too bad, some of the rooms ADA features are unaccommodating for non- ADA users, i.e. the cumbersome bath room facilities, but not a deal breaker. After reading previous reviews it seems some corrective measures were taken, the pool towels shortage! not an issue when we were there, the Pool Side Shack construction noise was noticeable but didn’t have an adverse affect. One thing though, some guest where in street clothes using the pool, this is something that should be enforced this made it less inviting to use the pool. The pool waitress service was good one day not so good the next, not a biggie. Overall, the staff was super friendly, the Marker 59 diner was good place to eat, and the beach was perfect. Local taverns, restaurants and shops were walking distance and all good. The Tiki Hut was nice, the entertainment was soft and relaxing, it's like a taste of the Tropics. I’d defiantly come back and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid accepting an ADA room in lieu of standard if you can but don't sweat it too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Anthony F:

Thanks for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at the Beach House. I'm pleased to know that you and your wife enjoyed your visit and would give us the honor of returning in the future. Thanks for noticing our improved pool towel handling processes that resulted from feedback posted on an earlier Trip Advisor review. As I've mentioned in earlier reviews, we use Trip Advisor as a tool to gauge our improvement progress and the tips provided by guests are very helpful. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused by the construction at our poolside restaurant, but hope that the complimentary drinks we passed our several times each day helped express our apologies for that inconvenience. Thanks for mentioning how super friendly all our staff is.......that is something we are very proud of at the Beach House. We hope to have you as our guest again on your next trip down south!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our stay at the Beach House was an excellent experience. We are from Cincinnati, Ohio and came with a large group of friends/families for the July 4th holiday. Everyone in our group stayed at The Beach House, and all agreed it was a very great stay. The front desk staff made us feel very welcome when we arrived and helped us with several special needs in our group. The rooms were very good value, and all had oceans views. The staff was AMAZINGLY FRIENDLY. The food was great (I'm a food snob)...the morning coffee at Marker 59 was excellent, and for dinner the grouper with mashed cauliflower and corn succotash was superb. We loved being able to walk right out onto the beach from the hotel and hung out every day at the pool and Tiki Hut. The bartenders at Tiki Hut were highly competent and knew how to mix every funky drink we ordered. If you get a chance, try to meet the Tiki Hut manager who is a guy named Fith...he is hilarious and friendly. He is like a cruise director, DJ, and emcee all in one...he gave our kids free sunglasses and invited some of the guys in our group to a beer tasting contest they hosted. They had a good balance of activities for kids and adults. It was also very nice to be within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms have at least a partial view of the ocean. The Beach House is literally rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear GlennK_11:

Thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review! I appreciate all the kind comments describing our friendly staff, great food, perfect location, and fun bartenders. I'm glad you were able to enjoy all of Fith's "Activities" antics like so many of our other guests also enjoy. We truly enjoyed having all of you as our guests over the holiday week and can't wait to have you back again next year!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our first trip to hh and after lots of research for the perfect vacation spot for myself, my husband and our teenage children we chose the The Beach House Resort and so glad we did. We had a good experience from the time we checked in until we checked out on July 4 after spending 5 nights I still wasn't ready to leave.
Pros- Fith was very accommodating and went above and beyond from excellent customer service to seeing him interact with the customers at the July 4th weekend activities.
Pro-Adrienne- front desk- also went above and beyond in friendliness and customer service to assure we she would try to help get me an extra night stay if at all possible! ;)
Pro- Washer and dryer on our floor
Con- The beds were not very comfortable, way to hard.
Con- Poor ventilation in the bathroom.
Con- breakfast was too pricey for families
Overall- We are pleased with our experience and will recommend The Beach House to friends and family and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbtallent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear JTStuddard2010:

Wow!! I'm so happy we were able to help make your family vacation so enjoyable. We are truly honored that you chose the Beach House after all your diligent research for the "perfect" vacation spot on Hilton Head. Obviously, you were able to see all the magic that Fith, our Tiki Hut Manager and Activities Director, and his team create every day.......he's definitely a special person and we are lucky to have him. Thanks for also mentioning Arleen at the Front Desk, she's also a real asset for our resort. Thanks for choosing the Beach House and taking the time to post your review. We hope you can make it back soon!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I'm a local and had friends in from out of Town. Going to the Beach House/Tiki Bar, even for a few hours makes me feel like i'm on vacation while at home and my friends really enjoyed it. The renovations to the hotel/bar look great, the property used to be a Holiday Inn. Service was noticeably better than previous visits. Jess was our server and was very personable and attentive. The bar was quite busy and Jess managed to keep with the best of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrapeGatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Grape S:

Thank you for visiting the Beach House and taking the time to post such a complimentary review. I'm pleased you noticed the significant improvements we've made since taking over as new owners a few months back. We're looking forward to this fall when will begin our more significant improvements to the resort. However, I believe the most important improvement we've made has been to our guest service as you also commented on. Our Tiki Hut server, Jess, has played a big part in helping to improve our overall guest satisfaction, and I really appreciate you mentioning her in your review.......she's a great asset to our team and she'll be very happy to see her name here as well. Hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Perfect location on the island with beachfront access! Rooms are clean with nice beds. Pool area and beach front bar are ample fun and when the beach calls you can stroll right on when you feel like it. Undergoing renovations which will make this wonderful property even better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdan064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Bigdan064:

Thank you for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at the Beach House Resort. As you mentioned, our pool is right on the beach and this makes it very convenient to enjoy both the pool and beach during the day. I'm very excited that our summer renovation projects are completed and available to help make our summer guests' experience even more enjoyable. Our next phase of renovations, which will occur in the fall, will help make the Beach House one of Hilton Heads most desirable resorts. Thank you for choosing the Beach House and we look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is not luxurious by any means and is quite pricey, but it is the best in HHI in my opinion. The location is the very best on the island......ocean front, lots of shopping and food across the street, bike rentals, its right at your finger tips, no need to drive any where. They updated the hotel so its very nice and very clean in the rooms and halls, and very comfortable. The pool is just ok, but the tiki hut bar, volleyball, ocean front, and poolside service is awesome. My only wish is that they would clean the beach a little better for seaweed and other stuff.

Its a great place for anyone. Its kid friendly, adult friendly....my best friend and I got every year. We walk to Starbucks, shop, lay on the beach, ride bikes. This year we will zip line and parasail, which is also located just up the road from the hotel. I love this hotel! The employees are really friendly and very accommodating as well. I'll be there again in 3 weeks and cannot wait!

Room Tip: If you want to be away from kids make sure to tell the staff, they can put you somewhere more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welchnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear welchnee:

Thanks for choosing our resort during your recent visit to Hilton Head. Your review is much appreciated and, I believe, a very accurate depiction of what the Beach House offers. Our location is absolutely unbeatable and our proximity to the beach and shopping really sets us apart from every other Hilton Head resort. Although we may not be luxurious by some standards, we do offer a relaxed atmosphere where guests can really be themselves and enjoy the Beach House experience. Our fall renovation plans will significantly elevate the amenities available for our guests and bring the Beach House up to a much higher level of luxury. Hopefully you can make it back down this fall to enjoy our resort in it's new suit!

Thanks for choosing the Beach House and we look forward to having you back in a few weeks!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Beach House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In April 2016, Beach House Resort completed $7 million in floor-to-ceiling guest room renovations. The new Premium Oceanfront Guestrooms offer front row seats to live music at Tiki Hut - and the new Premium Patio guestrooms are steps from the sand. The newly renovated Junior Suites offer plenty of space, ocean views, and space for up to five guests. With more than 50 miles of scenic trails at its doorstep, the resort's newly designed interior emphasizes Hilton Head Island's stunning coastline - with an airy, coastal beach vibe. And there's more... Highlights: • The 202-room renovation has transformed Beach House into a truly boutique, oceanfront resort on Hilton Head Island. • Beach House is home to the world-famous Tiki Hut, the only toes in the sand, drinks in hand experience on Hilton Head Island-here you'll enjoy live music daily, watch the pros play volleyball, and sip cocktails crafted by one of the Island's favorite bartenders. • Start and end your day at The Porch Southern Kitchen, serving up Low Country favorites all day long, complete with outdoor seating, an oversized fire pit, late night live music, and dive-in movies. • The sparkling Resort pool, located steps from Coligny Beach, is a perfect place to soak up the sun. • Beach House is just down the sand from Beach Market shops and restaurants ... and across the street from Coligny Plaza's 60 shops and restaurants - all connected by walking paths. • The renovations extend beyond the guestrooms - over 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space has been upgraded to reflect the genuine beach vibe, including two of the finest private, beachfront event venues on the Island. The Resort can accommodate groups up to 300 people for events, weddings and retreats. What hasn't changed? The sounds of the ocean waves. Hundreds of yards of unspoiled beachfront. The perfect location across from Coligny Plaza. Onsite dining and live entertainment at The Porch and Tiki Hut. And everything you've come to love about Beach House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing