We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Love The Beach House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Chagrin Falls, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Love The Beach House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I travel for business and if I am working within an hour of this hotel I will stay here. It is in a beautiful location. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and will do what they can to assist you. The goal of the staff is for you to have a wonderful vacation. The bar and restaurant have wonderful views and the staff in the bar and restaurant are also friendly. I have stayed here many times and will continue to stay here whether for work or vacation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Jeannette S,

Thanks for being such a loyal and supportive guest of The Beach House. I really enjoyed reading your review and truly appreciate the recognition of our staff. We indeed have a terrific team of associates working at our Resort.

The next time you stay with us please ask the Front Desk to call me so I can have the honor to thank you in person. I would also like to tell you all about our exciting plans to make The Beach House even better in the coming months and get your feedback.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    397
    182
    116
    88
See reviews for
471
492
37
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is unbeatable and the tiki bar is fantastic, although it being open is unreliable which was very dissapointing. The checkin process is mind numbing, it takes forever and the woman at the desk seemed to br completely clueless. Room service is broken, there is no other way to describe it. The front desk and restaurant don't seem to be in the same page about what's going on. We gave up on the idea of room service all together finally. As far as the rooms go, they are average, nothing to get excited about but they are clean and well maintained. The beds are not comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the ocean out our 3rd floor window but the outside of the windows were so filthy you could barely see through them. The pool is incredibly beautiful but unfortunately not heated so this time of year its unuseable. Overall a nice experience because of the location but it would have been nice to be able to take better advantage of the amenities. I think this hotel could benefit from a hotel impossible visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabuckowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear sabuckowing,

I sincerely appreciate your review and the honest feedback detailing the positive and negative experiences during your stay and apologize that our performance was not what you expected or deserved. Although it's always disappointing to receive a review from an unsatisfied guest, these reviews are a useful tool in helping to improve our service consistency.

As you mentioned in your review, The Beach House location is certainly unbeatable and the Tiki Hut is definitely fantastic, but as the new owners of The Beach House we also recognize there are areas we must quickly improve. We have a comprehensive property improvement strategy in place that will help prevent the service inconsistencies such as the ones you mentioned. In addition, the coming months will see many beautiful enhancements to our recently renovated Resort........including heating the pool!

I assure you that your next visit to The Beach House will surpass your expectations.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort Hilton Head Island. We had the most amazing time. Our view from our room was nice. The front desk helped us out a lot (because it was our first time on the Island) with getting around. The service in the restaurant was excellent. Over all I give them a 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PageTravelxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Pagefamily-13,

Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay at The Beach House Resort. It's great to know that our wonderful ocean views and the Front Desk staff helped make your first visit to Hilton Head such a pleasant experience for your family. Our Food and Beverage Team works very hard to ensure that our service levels are always high and it's very rewarding to know you received such excellent service in our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Beach House during your next trip to Hilton Head.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Overall stay was great except for early closing of the tiki hut. Already planning my next stay. Beachfront, with plenty of business offerings in short walking distance. Great welcoming bartender, kish,, @ the bar.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear moonnc,

Thanks for your wonderful review and the great comments.......especially the kind words regarding our longtime Bartender Kish, he is very passionate about making sure our guests have a great time while visiting our Marker 59 Lounge.

When you come back I'm sure you will be very pleased with all the improvements our new ownership group has planned for the very near future.

We're glad to know you enjoyed your experience during your recent stay at The Beach House and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here before the reno, and it seemed a little pricey for what it was. The reno made all the difference! Very nice, location is perfect, and the service was excellent. We even went to the hotel bar for happy hour. They did such a great job upgrading the place! A wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Beware: There is a resort fee but the pool, beach access and tiki bar are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear gcr22,

Thanks for the great review of The Beach House Resort. I couldn't agree more that the recent renovations have made made such a difference and that our beachfront location is perfect. It's great to know that you also experienced great service during your stay.

As I mentioned in an earlier response, The Beach House Resort changed ownership in February and we have very exciting plans to further enhance the property and elevate service levels to ensure all of our guests have an even more enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is an older hotel that is ok. For the price I would say that it was not what i would expect out of a Holiday Inn. For 140$ a night I would expect a newer place or at least remodeled. The room had a very strong cleaner smell. I do not think I will be back to this location. Maybe spoend a few more dollars and stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Jay R,

Thank you for your recent review of The Beach House Resort. I'm very sorry you did not feel your stay was worth the price you paid.

I would like to let you know that on February 28th ownership of The Beach House Resort changed. We believe that The Beach House Resort is a great place to stay on Hilton Head because of our oceanfront setting and walking distance from Coligny Plaza, but we recognize there are opportunities to improve our guests' experiences. We are very excited about the many upcoming improvements we have in store that will help make The Beach House an even more enjoyable resort. I hope that you will reconsider staying at our resort again.........I'm confident you will have the experience you expect and deserve.

Best Regards,
Jeff Elseser
jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Arrived at our floor level and as soon as the doors opened we could here people yelling and blaring music. Of course we were lucky enough to be right next to their room. I went down to the front desk hoping just to be moved somewhere further away from that room so that we could sleep. To my surprise, the front desk was extremely helpful! Ryan, not only moved us, but we went from 5th floor with a window and noisy neighbors, to 3rd floor, ocean front with porch, and now extremely quiet, all for free and with no hassle whatsoever. Overall, great experience, Ryan's service was great, and made the overall experience great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mogorman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn H, General Manager at Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments about The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort. We are very glad you enjoyed your time at our resort! We apologize about your noisy neighbors when you first arrived. I am pleased to know our front desk staff was able to assist you! We take pride in not only providing excellent facilities, but also excellent guest services. We hope you choose to return to our resort the next time you are on Hilton Head Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Beach House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In April 2016, Beach House Resort completed $7 million in floor-to-ceiling guest room renovations. The new Premium Oceanfront Guestrooms offer front row seats to live music at Tiki Hut - and the new Premium Patio guestrooms are steps from the sand. The newly renovated Junior Suites offer plenty of space, ocean views, and space for up to five guests. With more than 50 miles of scenic trails at its doorstep, the resort's newly designed interior emphasizes Hilton Head Island's stunning coastline - with an airy, coastal beach vibe. And there's more... Highlights: • The 202-room renovation has transformed Beach House into a truly boutique, oceanfront resort on Hilton Head Island. • Beach House is home to the world-famous Tiki Hut, the only toes in the sand, drinks in hand experience on Hilton Head Island-here you'll enjoy live music daily, watch the pros play volleyball, and sip cocktails crafted by one of the Island's favorite bartenders. • Start and end your day at The Porch Southern Kitchen, serving up Low Country favorites all day long, complete with outdoor seating, an oversized fire pit, late night live music, and dive-in movies. • The sparkling Resort pool, located steps from Coligny Beach, is a perfect place to soak up the sun. • Beach House is just down the sand from Beach Market shops and restaurants ... and across the street from Coligny Plaza's 60 shops and restaurants - all connected by walking paths. • The renovations extend beyond the guestrooms - over 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space has been upgraded to reflect the genuine beach vibe, including two of the finest private, beachfront event venues on the Island. The Resort can accommodate groups up to 300 people for events, weddings and retreats. What hasn't changed? The sounds of the ocean waves. Hundreds of yards of unspoiled beachfront. The perfect location across from Coligny Plaza. Onsite dining and live entertainment at The Porch and Tiki Hut. And everything you've come to love about Beach House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing