We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and beautiful view”

ELA'S Blu Water Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
ELA'S Blu Water Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 367 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: OMNI RESORT / MARRIOTT RESORT / WESTIN RESORT offer free shuttles to ELA'S Palmetto Dunes - DunesBuggy - free shuttle to ELA's
Description: Featured in Bon Appetit magazine and the winner of numerous Open Table awards, ELA's Blu Water Grille is a shining star on the Hilton Head scene. Fresh catch seafood and prime cut steaks of the highest quality, artfully prepared by our culinary team of experts, compliment the extensive boutique wine selection. Located at Shelter Cove Harbour overlooking the marina and Broad Creek, ELA's is known for the best water views on the island. A casual intimate interior, wrap around dining patio exterior, and nightly entertainment provided by local recording artists set the perfect dining experience or location to host special events, private parties, or rehearsal dinners
austin, tx
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and beautiful view”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Arrived at elas after a long day of travel. We wanted good food in a relaxing atmosphere. Elas was perfect. We sat at a tall table in the bar with a view of the water. My husband got to watch football on tv while I got to enjoy the view and the live music. We ordered lobster carbonara and grilled grouper. The carbonara came with a whole lobster tail and the claws intact. It was a beautiful dish and very reasonably priced. I had the fresh grouper which arrived with a very crisp exterior on a bed of beautifully prepared fresh vegetables topped with lobster butter. It was fantastic and so fresh. We had bread pudding for desert which was a little dry. Next time I will try the key lime pie. The wines by the bottle were very reasonably priced. I highly recommend elas and would come back if I am ever in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    177
    102
    58
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food & good service at Ela's”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

enjoyed the outdoor seating overlooking the Shelter Cove Marina. The Calamari appetizer was excellent. Everyone in our group enjoyed dining here

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice view of harbor - overpriced”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The view of the Shelter Cove Harbor is beautiful, but do not go here for a great meal. It is overpriced, portions bite sized and just not very good. Too many other good options to waste a night here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place for a nice meal. Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited Ela's recently to celebrate our anniversary. We've been to several different nicer seafood-steak type restaurants on the island and this is as nice as any. The ambiance with the restaurant being set right in the mouth of Shelter Cove is unbeatable. We were there for a beautiful sunset. Request a window table or sit outside, but honestly the place is small enough you will have a view from any table. Dress is "island casual" at least in the off season. Food was good, nothing here was mind blowing but it was all consistent and good. Our server was not the greatest but food and the view made up for it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmJ628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and food, BUT.......”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We had been boating and decided to stop for a late lunch. The server, Ingrid, was very pleasant and very slow or else overwhelmed.I had the arugula and pear salad which was wonderful. My husband had the iceberg salad with chicken. He ordered iced and I asked for a straw with my water. The food was very good and you can't beat the view but the straw never came, more tea never came and the check almost did not come.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MitziMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ELA'S Blu Water Grille also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to ELA'S Blu Water Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing