We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had high hopes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We typically stay at Hampton properties and rarely book ahead. We were pleased when they had a room available on Valentines day and the rate was excellent. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Had dinner at a staff recommendation and it was great. The trouble is that the walls and doors are paper thin. Nothing like hearing the children of a fellow guest running up and down the hall at night. Every time another guest left or entered their room, our door room rattled. I realize some of this could be resolved by people being more considerate and not letting the door slam every time. Frequent travelers understand that. All in all, we were pleased with the stay. Hopefully those who read this will take the slamming door comment into consideration when staying away from home!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Quintersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Quinters Family,

Thank you for your review. We were pleased to hear that you had nice things to say about our staff - that is always a great thing for management to hear. I'm sorry that some noisy guests dampered your stay - but pleased that you fully understand the situation. We do try to keep guests informed on keeping the noise to a minimum.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Linda P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 886 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

Room was clean and the staff was super friendly! From the minute we walked in to when we checked out, the staff was always acknowledging us and greeted us with a smile. Great stay and clean hotel. We were there for a (sad) family event and quite a few family and friends were staying at this hotel and all had a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Carol Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Carol Ann,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! It's always great when someone takes the time to write the good things. I know that it was a tough time while you are here and the staff wish to offer our condolences. We do hope that you and your family have a chance to return soon for a more joyous occasion.

Kind regards,
Linda P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed one night at the Hampton Inn, Hilton Head Island. The front desk associate was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and we appreciated the freezer compartment in the mini fridge for our freezer packs. This appears to be an older hotel with newer furnishings and decor. I liked the fact that it had non-feather pillow options. The room is small but had a comfortable King bed and desk and chair. Large flat screen TV too. The bath is small with the vanity in the small hallway as you walk into the room. Shower and toilet are in a separate room with a door across from the vanity. It makes it a little tight for two people to get ready at the same time. Not sure if they have rooms with larger baths but it might be good to ask!

Room Tip: Ask if a room with larger bathroom is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrllsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your comments. You hit the nail on the head - we are an older property and although we have gone through a redesign, the vanity outside the bathroom is one of the things that we wish we could have changed but cannot. I am pleased to see that you did not let it ruin your stay!

Thank you again and we look forward to a return visit!

Kind regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hampton is a great place to stay when away from home. This hotel had great service, room was nice and clean, and breakfast was very good. The only issue I had is that I wish they had faster wifi to stream movies since there wasn't much on the TV.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Michael,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here enough to let others know that we have great service, clean rooms and that you enjoyed the breakfast! As a management team, that is what we strive for - to make people feel at home.

We understand about the streaming wifi and also wish it could be faster - there are some things about island life that just move a little slower....

We do hope you have a chance to return soon as we look forward to welcoming you "home" to the Hampton Inn Hilton Head.

Kind regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel met our needs. It's a little tired. The staff was friendly. Would not stay here again. The HVAC unit out of service upon check in. The problem was reported to the front desk and then resolved. Rooms were clean and the breakfast was what you would expect from the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear James,

Thank you for your review - we appreciate all guest comments as it helps us to continue to improve. I know that we have been working to replace all of our HVAC units over the last couple of weeks in preparation for the upcoming busy season. I apologize that yours was not working upon checkin but am glad the staff were able to resolve it while you were here and that you found them to be friendly.

Our hotel has been around since 1988 and it has seen many renovations since that time with the most recent being completed last summer. While we may not be as "flash" as some of the brand new Hampton Hotels, we did get very good numbers on our most recent corporate inspection. I do hope that your stay with us has not hampered your view of the Hampton Brand and that you will continue to stay with Hamptons across the globe - and maybe even give us another try in the future.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards,
Linda Prosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at Hilton several times last spring and summer. Almost all employers were friendly, especially Angie. The pool was very nice and well maintained. Rooms were kept very clean and breakfast was very good. Food items were rotated each morning so you didn't have basically the same food every day. Great location for shopping, restaurants and beach. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Linda,

Thank you for your kind review of the Hampton Inn Hilton Head. It pleases us to hear when our guests notice us doing things right! We hope you have the opportunity to come back and see us again this year. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Linda Prosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I always experience very good at all Hampton Inns I stay at, the quality, cleanliness and locations work for me, & usually the price compares equally to all other hotels in the area. I always tell others I stay at Hampton Inn whenever possible.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Harriett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Harriett,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Hampton brand! We are pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with Hamptons and seem to have enjoyed staying with us here as well. We hope that you also take advantage of the Hilton HHonors program - as part of Hilton Worldwide, you earn points at every Hampton stay that can earn you free stays and more...

Thank you as well for sharing your thougths on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you! And we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hampton Inn Hilton Head whenever your travels bring you back in this direction....

Kind regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
857 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
1.6 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#19 of 28 in Hilton Head
628 reviews
3.9 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Address: 1 Dillon Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926-3691
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range: $97 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hilton Head 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most conveniently located Hilton Head Island hotels, our Hampton Inn is just one mile from Hilton Head Airport, The Hilton Head Hospital and the beach. Whether you’re traveling on business or on vacation, you’ll enjoy the same range of free amenities at our Hampton Inn Hilton Head. Expect in-room internet access, a fitness room, outdoor swimming pool, and delicious waffles and more at Hampton's complimentary hot breakfast.Unwind in one of 121 spacious guest rooms and suites renovated in 2012. Recline on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®, available in one king-sized bed room or a room with two queens. Work at the large desk or prop a laptop on the portable lap desk and sit back in the comfortable armchair.Take advantage of the 24-hour business center and grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Hold a meeting in one of two modern meeting rooms with full technical support, or play a relaxing game of golf at anyone if Hilton Head Islands public courses including Port Royal Golf and Racquet Club, located opposite the hotel and Palmetto Dues Golf just a short drive away. Other Hilton Head attractions include two Tanger Outlet Malls, Belk’s, the Sandbox Children’s Museum, Coastal Discovery Museum, the Arts Center of Coastal Carolina, Shelter Cove, the Salty Dog and Harbour Town. You can also enjoy any one of the 12 restaurants located within walking distance of our hotel.Remember, never a parking fee and never a Resort fee! Wi-Fi is complimentary and each room offers a complimentary micro wave and refrigerator. Busses are always welcome at the hampton Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hilton Head Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing