We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good the second time”
Review of Trattoria Divina

Trattoria Divina
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Divina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 367 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pope Ave & Greenwood Drive
Description: Chef Hugo Lee brings his culinary expertise from San Diego with over 23 years of experience creating Italian food that surprises and delights our patrons. From the Lobster Pot Pie to the Ice Sculpture Sorbet, everything presented is made TO ORDER and on premise. Chef Hugo prepares everything from sauces, pastas and soups from scratch daily. Located in Park Plaza outside the Sea Pines gate, Trattoria Divina offers fine dining Italian food like the island has never seen before.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just as good the second time”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Six months elapsed between our visits to Trattoria Divina on Hilton Head. Admittedly, our last visit in December is a quiet time on HHI and the restaurant was very quiet. Our interaction with the wait staff was very personal that evening and the dinner was excellent. It was much busier this time and again, the food was excellent and the wait staff very good. Just a different experience but we would certainly go back. The art by the SCAD students is interesting and the space reallly consists of three different dining areas. So, next time a different space will be a new perspective.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sfgfiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    112
    44
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible Service And over salted food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Upon our arrival 10 minutes early, I was told we could be seated but that it would be a few minutes before we saw our server. I had never had that before, but it was more like 10 more minutes. Our server really tried, but you could tell they were short staffed and overwhelmed. The food was TOO salty and was not worth the expensive price tag. Will not be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingTeach1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Eye Opener”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Somehow we've made it this long without being big fans of Italian Cuisine, but we've had a couple of real-good-to-excellent experiences in a row, and Trattoria Divina just put us over the top. We admitted our ignorance up front to our waiter, and he helped us with wine choices as well as our meals. Great attitude on behalf of the waitstaff, but then the kitchen really delivered.
Saturday night at the beach can be a zoo at the grocery store...who knew it was so easy to have a nice relaxing meal in a good restaurant? I always assumed places were packed on check-in day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry M, Owner at Trattoria Divina, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks for your review and for coming on check-in day. It's the best time to come. After a long drive/flight. Getting settled in your time share or villa and finally heading out to our restaurant for a relaxing meal.

We'll always try our best to kick start a vacation stay by preparing a special meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delisiosó!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Trattoria Divina was as good as any Trattoria in Italy. The atmosphere was perfect (not too loud and enough space between tables) and the food was delightful. If you go out to eat once in Hilton Head, I would suggest trying this. They take reservations through phone call as well as open table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chervebn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“great for couples or family”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I loved this restaurant. My wife and I visited in June, and it was so romantic. But families came in also and had a great time. I can't say enough about the food, which was excellent. Or the service, which was outstanding. How about this - a family came in and the kids were crabby and wanted pizza, which was not on the menu. But the waiter took their order and went to the pizza joint next door to get the kid's food. How about that! I'll certainly go back next time I'm in Hilton Head. This is a world class restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Divina also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Trattoria Divina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing