We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise”
Review of Trattoria Divina

Trattoria Divina
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Divina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pope Ave & Greenwood Drive
Description: Chef Hugo Lee brings his culinary expertise from San Diego with over 23 years of experience creating Italian food that surprises and delights our patrons. From the Lobster Pot Pie to the Ice Sculpture Sorbet, everything presented is made TO ORDER and on premise. Chef Hugo prepares everything from sauces, pastas and soups from scratch daily. Located in Park Plaza outside the Sea Pines gate, Trattoria Divina offers fine dining Italian food like the island has never seen before.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
503 reviews
415 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Yesterday my wife and I had planned to try a new restaurant (Trattoria Divina) for lunch. It was recommended by Trip Advisor as the # 4 rated restaurant on Hilton Head Island. The local restaurant guide had indicated that it was open for lunch from Wednesday thru Friday.

When we tried to enter, the door was locked and it was obviously closed (we found out later that the "guide" was incorrect). We started to walk away, when the door opened and one of the staff asked what we wanted. We said we thought they were open for lunch, and he said they were not, but asked us to wait a minute as he went back into the restaurant.

Imagine our surprise when the owner appeared and invited us in! She said she had staff there because they had a catering event, and offered to open especially for us! We refused at first, but she insisted and we were seated and given the dinner menu. She said we could order from the dinner menu and she would give us "lunch sized" portions.

The food and service were absolutely outstanding, and the ambience was perfect. We can highly recommend this as one of the best kept secrets on Hilton Head. We will definitely return.

By the way, two other couples approached the restaurant and were also admitted and served lunch. It was a wonderful surprise for all of us.

Thanks Karen for an experience we will never forget.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry M, Owner at Trattoria Divina, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were in fact cooking for a large group and cleaning. The interesting thing about our group is that we think like family. If you're already cooking for 20 plus people another two or even four is nothing.

The day you came, the Chef was also giving a cooking lesson with one of our visitors from Long Island. It doesn't get more Italian than "La Familia".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    113
    44
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice Find”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Enjoyed our first meal here. We dined on a Wednesday evening without reservations, we were immediately seated and give a complimentary glass of wine. We ordered our drinks and were given another complimentary appetizer prepared by the chef-blue cheese grape. Then they brought us some delightful bread. We ordered the shrimp cocktail and a house salad with candied walnuts in a champagne vinagrette. Both were very enjoyable. For entrees we had the pollo milanese and the fresh catch of the day - an Italian white fish. We chose not to have any desserts. Very good service and great atmosphere. The place filled up very quickly. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vlohokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We could not have been in the same place”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived at 730 and only 2 other tables were busy. There was no HIGH energy, in fact it was a bit scary since the other tables were already leaving. We ordered mussels which were lukewarm and did not taste fresh. We decided to stay because of the reviews but our main courses were mediocre and we both questioned how fresh the seafood was. The service was fine but there are lots of other great restaurants in town that have much better food and atmosphere. I would think twice about coming here ...perhaps someone at the restaurant is writing these High Energy great reviews......

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank be714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry M, Owner at Trattoria Divina, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I have read your review and believe me, the entire staff takes it quite seriously. We apologize if you didn't have the experience you expected. It's a shame that while we weren't busy no one knew of your displeasure.

The people associated with our restaurant have the highest level of integrity and have no need to falsely represent our establishment. Your insinuation of it makes me sick.

Be assured that the Trattoria Divina Family are fully committed to satisfying any client regardless of the demands. It's our home, we love it and absolutely love to share our culinary talents along with best and/or most interesting wines we find.

Should you ever consider us again, please call the restaurant and have the staff advise the owner that you're coming in. You'll always be welcome in our home.

PS: For the record, I'm not sure I'd call our place "High Energy" either. Granted during the Heritage we were booked and our staff handled it, but the one thing we try to do is serve without drama or show the stress often found in our business. If anything we see our place as romantic, laid back and a social eatery. in fact that's what a "Trattoria" is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just as good as our December experience”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I ate at this restaurant last December, so I took my daughter last Friday. I had the Sea Bass and she had the veal. We both loved our meal. The service was as good as last time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best date night location in town!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. Staff and service is 1st Class all the way! Enjoyed our date night! Now our favorite place to enjoy together! Looking forward to having our friends join us for a night out with friends! Fun, high positive energy place to get away from our busy schedules and just enjoy some R&R with family or friends! Highly recommend you enjoy this restaurant soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoTraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Divina also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Trattoria Divina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing