We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disney quality”
Reviewed May 1, 2007

My wife an I drove down from NY for a 4 night stay. It was our first time on Hilton Head Island and as Vacation Club members, we were looking foward to checking out the resort and the area.
Check in was quick and easy and as usual the entire staff in the resort was extremely nice and helpful. They had tremendous knowledge of the island and surrounding area. As you will read, there are two pools one on the property in the resort which is quite nice. You can grab a snach or drink at the counter upstairs. The pool area is cool at night when lit up. The other pool is at a nicely set up private beach club which you can access by bike, car or Disney shuttle. The club also has a walk up bar and counter service for lunch. (We didn't get to sample the food). The resort is in a good location with everything you need in close proximity. Just outside the gate are two restaurants, both with outside bars on the water. You can walk around the marina and see a bunch of restaurants and shopping. Lots of golf nearby and the front desk will assist you with tee times.
About a 15 minute drive will bring you to Harbour Town which is loaded with shops food and drink on the water. Our personal favorite was The Salty Dog.
Overall it was a beautiful island with a lot to do. and very relaxing. We'll be back. Good luck

  • Liked — Nice people everywhere
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Frank67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    191
    44
    14
    8
See reviews for
561
200
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We spent 4 days at the disney resort in Hilton Head, before heading up to Augusta. As always, our experience at any Disney resort was outstanding. Not to be mistaken for the thrill and excitment of Disney World, but just a relaxing pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank PaLongball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, WI
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

Our extended family of 6 stayed at this beautiful resort May 17th thru 24th. We all had such a wonderful time! Our ages ranged from 3 to 60 and yet there was something for everyone to do.

I would like to address a previous post regarding the ‘darkness’ of the resort. I am not sure what the poster expected (maybe some Key West style colors) but the theme of this resort is South Carolina fishing cabins. Disney is very big into having a theme for their resorts and I found this one very appropriate. We had a two bedroom villa and did not find it dark in any respect. The colors lent to a relaxing, peaceful ambiance. I loved how even on the wooden bench in the hallway there was a hint of Disney (I won’t give it away – you have to go and find out what it is for yourself). The view from our balcony was nothing short of spectacular. I have stayed at resorts that are right on the ocean and I couldn’t say that those views were better – just different. The marsh view that this resort has is constantly changing during the day. I could have spent my entire time just sitting on one of the two rocking chairs they provide for you on the balcony except that there was so much else to do.

We rented bikes for the length of our stay which was very reasonable - $80.00 for all of us. If you like to bike, welcome to paradise! We set out everyday on an adventure. The paths are very nicely done and take you past some gorgeous landscaping.

The kids programs are terrific and the cast does a great job making the kids feel special. Most of the programs are at no extra cost. There is also a campfire several times a week. Many are educational and center on the local environment – river otters, dolphins, the marsh, etc.
.
One thing I must mention is the excellence of the staff in regards to the safety of the guests. While I was sitting by the pool a young girl went down the slide and had trouble getting to her feet. While the fully clothed parent just stood there calling their daughter’s name, the lifeguard blew his whistle and jumped in. In less than 20 seconds three other staff members came running – one to cover the lifeguard’s chair and the other two to assist the original lifeguard. The little girl was fine, thankfully.

Another incident happened to our three year old. While walking on a wood deck she got an enormous sliver in her foot. We tried unsuccessfully for an hour to get it fully out – kept breaking off. I called the front desk to ask about a walk-in clinic and they said they would have a first responder come to our room within five minutes. Sure enough, the head of the recreational staff – a wonderful person named Rich – came to our room and spent another hour with us. Despite all of our best efforts we were unable to remove the sliver. Rich felt very bad about it and brought her back a huge lollipop and promised to drive us to the walk-in clinic the next day which he did. (the doctor had to make an incision and put her on antibiotics but he did get the sliver out!). That kind of service would not happen at just any old hotel. I don’t impress easily but my hat is off to the staff there.

We loved our time there so much we are already planning a trip back!

  • Liked — The activities
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank vero4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington county
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

We expected a more Disney-like experience, but were really disappointed. The place is very dark. The furniture, cabinetry, floors, rugs, etc...everything is DARK. Even with the drapes open, it's still gloomy.

Disney really missed the mark with this one. Not only did they make mistake after mistake in regards to furnishings & decor, they neglected to put a restaurant here. Dedicated Disney vacationers are used to dining at a quaint Disney restaurant - not here, unless you like a little walk-up sandwich window. Yes, there are alot of restaurants in this area, but most are pizza shops and diners.

We have no plans to return.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Poorly lit, no restaurant
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NJTravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

This resort is delightful in winter. Who would have thought? I went in January to celebrate my boyfriend’s 30th birthday, and it was nearly deserted. We felt like we were in a very posh and secluded resort. The staff was great—no slack off time during low season here! In fact, it was just the opposite. They had plenty of time for conversation, letting us know lots about the island and the resort. There were still plenty of activities—I would call a week early and get a list faxed. They change every week, but most are pretty much the same. I thought we’d have tons of relax time, but there was so much I wanted to do. And having a list ahead of time helped me plan.

We did the kayak tour, and were going to do the dolphin tour that was offered, but we did not have three people. You can pay for three and still go, but try the kayak tour first. We saw a lot of dolphins, and it was cheaper than the dolphin tour, so we saved some money. Kayak ran around $30 each, and there was a guide. We rented poles for $5 a day, and fished off the pier and up by the lodge. Bait is $2 a bag, and comes with about 12 frozen shrimp. We did catch fish—some decent sized ones, and there is a place on the pier to clean them. You will have to fish at high tide, though, which is not typically in the middle of the day.

The resort is amazing. It is very well themed, and you can relax or do activities. B’lou Crabbe is a great story teller, and the campfire with s’mores is great fun, even for adults. We also enjoyed taking the nature walk and talking to the naturalist.

It is true the beach is far away, but we rented bikes for our length of stay--$50—and would ride there every day. It took about 15 minutes, and the beach house and beach are both spectacular. We found LOTS of shells. Be aware, it is illegal to pick up the sand dollars or star fish if they are still alive on the beach! Also, be aware that there is nowhere to eat on property in off season after 5 PM. Expect to have to go off property for a meal. Don’t forget to buy your refillable mug when you get there!

This resort didn’t get great ratings for couples, but we loved it and had a very romantic time—lying in the hammock, watching the sun set at the beach, collecting shells. I was worried I would be bored going in off season, but I loved the tranquility of being one of the few people on the island and at the beach. And being more secluded made it feel more romantic.

Last tip, if anyone in your party is celebrating a birthday, be sure to let the front desk know. They’ll put balloons and a card from Shadow in the room on the special day. And make sure to catch at least one story session with Mr. Crabbe! It’s great fun!

  • Liked — All of the activities
  • Disliked — Lots of things closed early in off season
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank gerialexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2007

We stayed at Disney's Hilton Head Resort from Dec.27-30 and it was great. The campfire was a blast for the kids and adults alike. We went fishing, crabing and to the beach house. We didnt notice any of the "smell" that has been mentioned before. We stayed in a studio with two small kids and there was plenty of space. The staff was very friendly. When we checked in there was a new cast member at the front desk who was a little slow with the computer, so another cast member stepped in to speed the process, they even sent up a small gift to the room because of the slow check in.

We are die hard Disney people, going to the world twice a year (from Chicago) we are not DVC owners, you must realize before you go to Hilton Head that yes it is a Disney property but it is not Disney World, it doesnt have all of the non stop action that are offered at WDW, but this is a great place to get a way too non the less, we had a great time. Be sure to go to the Wreck of the Salty Dog for dinner one night!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank 7973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

Disappinting for a Disney Property. Pictures of it depicted a white cheery Hotel, unfortunately when we got there it was dark, and gloomy. Hotel needs to be updated- rugs were stained and furniture too! Dark interior decore made me have to open every curtain and put on all the lights. If you like camping and a rustic feel, then you'll love this place. There is not much to do in the resort either, which is very disappointing. Disney needs to update this property and revamp its entertainment here.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank NYDisneyfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.5 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
836 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Property: Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3522
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing