We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th summer in a row, again Disney does not disappoint!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“4th summer in a row, again Disney does not disappoint!”
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We love Hilton Head Island and we love Disney's resort in the Shelter Cove area. We are DVC members and cannot get enough of this resort. It is modeled after a fishing lodge and is on the marsh of Broad Creek. It also has a beach house and pool in the Palmetto Dunes area just about a mile away from the villas. They offer shuttle service to the beach house if you don't want to bike or drive.

The resort has many planned activities going on throughout the day. Our kids 9 & 5 really enjoy these. Some examples are Mickey tie-dyes, vacation pillows, character mugs, slime and bouncy ball making. In addition they also have informative walks such as "the secrets of the marsh" where a group is accompanied by their naturelist for a tour of the salt marsh during low tide, very interesting! They have walks on the flower and fauna and ones geared for little kids with topics like ladybugs. While no Disney characters appear here, the resort has its own mascot - Shadow a golden retriever who lives there. She is out for meet and greets with the resorts entertainer - B'Lou. B'lou puts on magic shows, entertains with stories on Shadow, lore of the low country, and even ghosts and hauntings of the low country. And then there are all the pool activities - pool games, karaoke, dance parties, bingo. There are also kids nights out and teen nights out. Campfires are held three times a week and end with the roasting of s'mores. A pool party is held on TUes. night culminating with fireworks out on Broad Creek. I didn't even mention any of the kayaking and dolphin tours you can sign up for or the fishing pier! And of course the water slide is a big hit also!! Hours are 10:00 to 6:00 with additional hours in the schedule here and there. There is just so much to do at this resort!!

The main resort area has a counter service window and also a supply and gift store. It has a refillable mug program with stations at the main resort and the beach house. In addition they have two special nights where they set up a BBQ meal that you can opt to be a part of and a shrimp boil another night. There are lots of other restaurants close by in Shelter Cove Marina that you can walk too and the island is covered with so many good restaurants to choose from its hard to decide where to go!!
And then there is that amazing beach!!! We love HHI's beach. We drive 12 hours for that wonderful warm ocean water and great sand!!! The waves are gentle here with no riptides and my kids always find abundent sea life like starfish, sand dollars, hermit crabs, conchs, horseshoe crabs, to inspect.

The beach house also has a pool which is very refreshing. There is a bar and a counter service restaurant here as well. Along with an air conditioned room with tvs and game tables. There's also ping-pong and fooseball tables set up and a small water play area for kids. The pool here has a volleyball net with volleyballs floating about just ready for a game.

The villas are very spacious. We have stayed in over our summers here a one-bedroom, two-bedroom, and three bedroom grand villa. All have been super. The two bedroom villa has a king sized bed in the master with two queen beds in the second bedroom and a full size sleeper sofa in the living room. It also contains a jacuzzi tub in master bath and washer and dryer unit. All of the above units have wonderfully large balconies with a picnic table and two rocking chairs. Love sitting outside on them and viewing the pretty landscape. It is very peaceful and relaxing at this resort. A

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MinnieGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    188
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
545
200
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We are DVC members and last year was our first summer at this resort. We liked every part of the trip so we convinced some family members to join DVC and to come with us. Everyone was overly impressed by the resort.

Each family had a 2 bedroom villa, which was more than enough room for each 4-person family and grandma that came along on the trip. Our villas were right on top of one another and were the only villas in that side of the building. It made it great for the kids to go up and down to see cousins.

We were in building 22, which is super close to the pool and the mercantile, exercise room and community hall. In this area is where the large majority of the resort activities take place. Our kids, 3 and 7, enjoyed all of the various programs that were offered. The overall favorite was the "Unbirthday party" where the kids played games, ate cupcakes, etc. They also enjoyed Goofy Bingo and the Campfire. We have been back for two weeks and they are still singing those campfire songs. Many of the programs are free and the ones with the cost are overall pretty minimal. Some examples of the programs with a fee are: vacation pillows, frames, Mickey Tie-Dye (we did this one both years).

We love Disney. However, the Disney culture/characters, etc. isn't overdone here at all. It is a place where you can relax and get involved in the activities or just chill if you choose. The beach house is very nice, but our kids spent most of the time at the pool area at the hotel. The pool at the hotel is heated and it was not very crowded on our trip. The kids thoroughly enjoyed having the water slide to use. If you are a pin trader, the hotel offers a question of the day in the mercantile and the kids can answer the question (lots of help is provided, too) and the cast members are incredibly accommodating (esp. the front desk staff) with trading.

My kids loved the magician - B'lou Crab and his magic shows. He also seems to be the handler for Shadow the resort dog, a sweet Golden Retriever. The other cast members remembered our kid’s names from the activities and it was great to see so many of them from our trip last summer.

I can't say enough good things about this resort and Hilton Head in general. As DVC members, we definitely plan to purchase points at this resort because we plan to return each year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shabooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

This was our first trip to the resort and we loved it. We are not DVC members, so we weren't sure what to expect. We tried the studio room, which was larger than we were expecting. It was comfortable and the view from the balcony porch was lovely. There are so many activities available there for families. Our 10 year old son loved the pirate party and the rabbit hunt with Shadow, the resort's Golden Retriever mascot. The pool table, table tennis, foosball, and fitness room kept our 14 year old son busy. We all enjoyed the pool slide at the resort's main pool!

We drove over to the beach house a couple of times, but they do provide shuttle service. Going around 9 AM gave us the chance to have the beach house pool to ourselves for a while. We really enjoyed spending time there. Having a restaurant right there is so convenient for lunch, too. The beach is quite nice and we had a blast in the water.

We definitely enjoyed our time at this resort and would recommend it to families who enjoy Disney experiences.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tennisfamily13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We are DVC members and this was our first time at Hilton Head. We have tried for 2 years to get in and wasn't dissappointed. We stayed for 8 nights just before Memorial Day, and found out that it was the perfect time to be there. Just before the summer rush. They have plenty of activities for the kids and families. Would highly recommend the Dolphin tour and kayak tour. A very relaxing resort. Loved the beach house! We were on the first floor and heard the upstairs guests moving in and out and some in the morning. But nothing too terrible. At the time we booked, we were told we could park our RV on site. There is no room. We had to park it at a public storage place less than a mile away. Disney's Hilton Head Island resort will hopefully help us kick off the summer again next year!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank purpletiger48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We just came back from staying at two resorts in Hilton Head - my wife and I (DVC members) stayed here for a few days before joining the inlaws at a different large resort in HH (which we could have traded points for, but luckily did not). It was SO disappointing staying at a different resort after enjoying all that Disney's property had to offer. We initially had difficulties booking more than one night, but more opened up the week before our trip. We were initially told that we'd have to stay in a two bedroom one night and a one bedroom another night. We weren't thrilled about having to move from one room to another, but it never happened - the front desk shuffled people around and called us on our cell while we were at dinner during our first night there to tell us that we were able to stay in our room and only be charged the lower rate! The two bedroom was way more than we needed, but it was so nice. Very roomy, very comfortable, everything looked pretty new - typical Disney resort. (Oh - should mention that wireless access is free only if you're a DVC member.)

We only went to Disney's beach once. It was nice, but we found an area closer to a tiki bar (in back of a Holiday Inn) that we liked better. Very few resorts/hotels are close to a beach, but it's not all that bad. We had no idea that HH was so bike friendly - we brought our own, but if you don't want to or can't bring yours, Disney has bikes that you can rent pretty cheaply for your entire stay. (Most resorts there do.) There are a lot of great bike paths in the area, and the beach is within easy biking distance from the resort.

The small snack shop at the resort is ok. I'd have preferred a restaurant, but there are a lot of great options within super easy walking distance. The snack shop offers breakfast as well as good lunch/light sandwich-type almost-dinner options. I loved their grouper sandwich - best I had there all week! They make good mixed/alcoholic drinks too.

We don't have kids, but saw that there were a lot of great things for families to do. My wife and I went to a campfire and made tie-dyed Mickey t-shirts - all would be great for kids. I was hoping to just be able to sit by the campfire and listen to a few stories over a few beers and somores, but it was way more involved than that. Lots of group participation songs - we left after about 4 songs. Not that it was bad, but it was definitely more for famimlies with kids. The cast members are amazing with the kids! I don't know how they maintain that level of energy for that long! The pool was fun too with a good water slide. It is too bad that the slide closes at 5 though. The hot tub is pretty large and was never crowded. The pier that goes out to the salt marsh is great for crabbing and fishing; saw lots of crabs being caught. Fishing and crabbing gear can be rented cheaply.

Went golfing and kayaking - highly recommend. Kayaking around the salt marshes was excellent. Shop around for values - prices can vary quite a bit among outfitters. You can take kayak tours or just rent your own for a few hours. If you don't mind going slow, I recommend the tours. My antsy wife got bored going so slow, so if you're more of a make your own pace type person and don't need a nature tour, she'd recommend going without a guide. (I'm a biologist and already knew a lot about the ecology of the area, but still learned a lot of great stuff from our guide.)

All in all, it was a great, relaxing time there. My wife and I had a hard time putting the overall feeling to words when we compared it to our time at the other resort we stayed at - more serene, comfortable, maybe just all the goodness you come to expect from staying at a Disney resort. Although we're looking to stay at different Disney resorts each time, we're already looking forward to going back to Disney's HH Resort soon! It really was that good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyonmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Visited Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort for a three night escape last week. The cast members there were of top notch Disney quality. The beach house and pool were great, however you should check for their operating hours before visiting for they vary according to season, and the beach house bar was not open on Sundays. They offer quite a few activities for resort guests that are posted daily. The two eateries, Tide Me Over at the resort & Signals at the beach house offer the typical Disney theme park type of fast food with a few local exceptions. I also enjoyed the fact that the resort is within walking distance of the Shelter Cove Harbour which makes for a great evening stroll. All in all it was a nice place to stay, the rooms were very good although a little pricey, but if you want Disney quality, you have to pay for Disney quality.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USFFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

This was our first trip to Hilton Head Island and to the Disney property. We are members of Disney Vacation Club, so we were staying there on vacation points during the off season, but there were plenty of activities, and we didn't feel like we were missing out on any opportunities at all. We felt welcomed immediately and the entire staff was always welcoming, friendly and helpful. The soundside location was calming and peaceful, and there was easy access to the oceanside beach house. Having heated pools at both places was great. The whole place was well maintained and clean. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gumby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.6 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
755 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Property: Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3522
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing