We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a different sort of Disney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a different sort of Disney”
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Just returned from a stay at Disney Hilton Head resort. We had a 2 bedroom suite- which was roomy, very clean and comfortable. Had a lovely view of Broad Creek. Loved the nearby horseshoe pit and hammock. The service was friendly and attentive. We were concerned there might not be much to do this time of year and with teenagers. But we thoroughly enjoyed riding bikes all over the island, kayaking on Broad Creek, playing ping-pong and swimming in the nicely heated pool- even when the weather was chilly. There were many activities to chose from for all ages.
My only complaints - which are minor- is that I wish the beds had fitted sheets. Remaking the bed each day was a pain...and we are not 'wild' sleepers :) Both the mattress cover and the bedspread were nubby and worn. Wish the coffee cups were larger. One of our light bulbs was burned out and our remote control was missing batteries - which was quickly remedied. If you want to be close to the beach - this is not the location for you. Though getting to the Disney Beach house was easy by bike or car- we didn't use the shuttle.
We would stay here again if we visit Hilton Head.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bexley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    191
    44
    14
    8
See reviews for
561
200
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Our week at Hilton Head with our children and grandkids (8 and 11) was wonderful! The first night we went to the Campfire where the staff led camp songs, enjoyed by all ages. The resort has a real "summer camp" feel. From our spacious balcony, we had a view of the estuary through the tall pines. There are a number of semi-secluded seating areas and hammocks scattered throughout the resort. The workout area was a little cramped, but clean and up-to-date. The resort was very clean and litter free. The staff was friendly, and guest services helped with both our golf reservations. The rooms were a little dark, and the second bath needed a counter-top vanity and luggage rack. However, having two queen size beds in the 2nd bedroom was very nice! The kitchen was stocked with the necessary kitchen wares and was clean and roomy. It was handy to have a washer and dryer in the room.
We rode rented bicycles the mile and a half to the Disney Beach House. The pool was clean and had a beautiful view and handy access to the beach. Lockers and showers are available as well as a snack bar. They had a shrimp boil with live entertainment one night. The meal was tasty and plentiful, and the entertainment was appropriately "Disneyesque". Guests should be sure to ride their bicycles on the beach. It was a new experience for us, and we can't stop talking about it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skylark09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Just returned from a short stay at Disney Hilton Head and can't wait to return.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The 2 minor problems I had were taken care of quickly. They even snuck in to leave a balloon bouquet and birthday card for my daughter.

The resort was beautiful and clean. The landscaping made it seem like you were miles away from civilization but that wasn't the case. There were hammocks throughout the property perfect for napping or reading a good book.

Had a beautiful view from a spacious covered porch. It overlooked the marsh and pier. The porch was spacious for relaxation (2 rocking chairs) and eating outside as it included a picnic table too. The room was very spacious as well. We had the 2 bedroom unit and it contained everything we needed for a home away from home.

My kids enjoyed the water slide at the resort pool which was heated. The pool at the beach house was as well. It was nice to have a pool at the beach for those who do not like ocean swimming or sitting on a sandy beach. The beach house was beautiful. There were places to play, rest and eat. So nice to have all that right at the beach's side.

At the resort there were enough activities to keep busy and entertained but I was there for the relaxation. Since it was "off season" the temperatures and no crowds allowed me to do just that. As I said earlier, you felt far away from the hustle and bustle lifestyle but were actually close enough to walk to the marina, shops and places to eat.

The furnishings were VERY COMFORTABLE especially the beds and pillows!

Helpful?
4 Thank cjtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

My family and the in-laws visited for a 4 day weekend. We got a good rate because of the time of year and also the property was undergoing a renovation. While it was cold and we'd never go into the ocean being so cold, we still had a splendid time.

The resort was very nice and had great views of the inlet (or bay or whatever it is). It was on par with DisneyWorld time-share resorts. The staff was very friendly and helped us find our way around. If you've never been to the island, make sure you have good vision. Trying to find your way around at night is difficult. There is NO LIGHT anywhere. I'm in favor of this ordinance, and after 2 days you can find your way around easily.

The rooms were kept up nice and our room hadn't been renovated yet either! The living area was spacious as were the bedrooms. The only complaint I'd have is the dining area is small. We did a day trip to Savannah and found this resort a good base to leave from. Only about 30-45 minute drive if I recall correctly.

We only went to the beach house, but it seemed very nice and a short drive across the street from the resort. I actually prefer the resort not being on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank videoeditman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augusta, ga
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

The resort was a clean, friendly, and lots of activities for the whole family. I would recommend to all. The staff was outstanding and very nice.

  • Liked — Size, cleanliness, and location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank brynwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

There is nothing at all negative to say about this place. We were there in mid-November. This is considered off season, although it was sunny and warm every day. The beach is not actually at the resort location. It is just a quick drive or bike ride away. There's lots of shopping and good restuarants nearby. The resort itself feels like it is built on a nature preserve. There's a dock and lots of big old trees. It does not feel like Disney World at all. The pools are heated and surrounded by beach chairs.

Helpful?
5 Thank ejinks1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We have stayed at Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3x, and we loved it so much after our second stay that we decided to buy points and make this a home resort. This is an unbeatable family vacation in the summer months because of the pool activities, kids activities, and wide variety of things to do. Even though it is not on the beach, we love the marsh view and having the beach resort makes it feel like it is 2 resorts in one. Even though it is small, it also feels like it is a world away - yet right among civilization. If you are looking for a week at the beach with only having sand between your toes the entire time, this place may not be for you - but if you are looking for a wonderful family vacation with middle school aged kids or younger, with lots of family-friendly activities, both organized and freeform, and the Disney "magic" look no further. Our kids are 5 and 7, and we probably had the best 5 day vacation of our life last August.

  • Liked — Clean, big rooms, lots of activities
  • Disliked — Price, difficult to get reservations in summer months
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank dunnhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.5 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
837 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Property: Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3522
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing