We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Can't wait to return to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

What a wonderful time we had at Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort! This was our 1st vacation to Hilton Head Island. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. With there being 6 of us in my family and brother coming in to visit overnight we had plenty of room!
Loved everything about this resort! Even though we were not at Walt Disney World (where we vacation annually) we could feel the Disney magic that we are accustomed to. Lots of activities for the kids to do. Spent some time alone with my 6DD making a vacation pillow. Pool games for all the kids and pool side karaoke were fun! Mickey waffles and dole whips, just like at Disney!
Can't wait to return here for our next family beach vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    173
    40
    14
    7
See reviews for
485
171
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We have spent the past 2 nights here at Disney's HHI resort in a Studio in the Live Oak Lodge building. I cannot say enough about this place! The rooms are newly renovated and beautiful! The pool and recreation areas are so fun! The service from all the cast members is top notch! This was our first stay at a DVC resort, but it definitely won't be the last!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We are just wrapping up a week stay at Disney Hilton Head Resort. I think this might be out favorite Disney resort yet!

The resort is small and the parking area backs to a marina. The marina (Shelter Cove) has shops and several restaurants which are within a 5-7 minute stroll from the Disney cottages. There is really no need for a sit down restaurant on the grounds.

Our room was in building 15 and we had a great view of the marsh. We had a two bedroom which is plenty of room for our family of six. The room was newly remodeled and very clean.

We enjoyed many of the resorts activities including the marsh tour with a naturalist. Although this is owned by Disney and has all the niceties of a Disney
resort, it's focus is water and nature activities.

This is a great resort and we look forward to returning very soon!


  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hallfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
665 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 840 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We are DVC members with HHI as our home resort. Stayed here for a brief 3 night stay in a 1 BDRM the week of July 4th. Our room (1211)was located in the Lodge. Our last stay at the resort was April '13. Sadly we are beginning to come to the realization that our trips with our 3 boys-- 11, 14, and 16 are going to be going away sooner than we had ever imagined. College is looming around the corner. So this stay was very special to us all.

We liked most of the results of the renovations. Do miss the old full size picnic tables on the balconies. And are really going to miss the old green and white beach towels that are being transitioned over to white beach towels.

Our stay was all good. We just relax at HH. Nothing like having a secluded pool at the resort and a lovely beachside pool. Do wish that Disney had never allowed Palmetto Dunes folk to use their parking facilities.....makes driving down to the beach difficult in the summer.

I always laugh when I am driving across the bridge into the resort that the Hilton Head powers to be were scared that Disney was somehow going to put something terrible on their precious island. The resort is one of the best kept secrets on the whole island. Unlike all the Marriott properties scattered all over the place.

We love our home resort. All the perks of excellent Disney service without ever having to buy a single theme park ticket.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abcjjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Another sweet memory with the disney's experience.

The child at heart for disney's experience is great; plus more with the quality of relaxing welcome from Hilton are the excellent combination.

This is the place you're looking for.

No more searching, your wandering around stop here.

Very good service with smile and co-operate with all disney's facilities.

Your sweet family would never forget magical moment at Hilton.

I'll be back, with no excuse.

Love you, the Hilton.

Piyawong Setthawong M.D., Ph.D.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Piyawong_BOND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Been coming here for 18 years and over 25 trips and many changes have taken place and some I am not a fan of however since HHI controls the exterior I still find peace here! Disney has been transforming the resort to a more Florida feel rather than a Low Country SC feel that we bought into!? Rooms are now brighter with a mix of modern and old which is strange? New synthetic hardwood floors remove the coziness that carpet gave and seems to get your feet dirtier? Maybe they did too much? New furniture is comfortable however dining room table seems too fancy for low country? Picnic tables on the decks are gone and small recycled plastic tables and movable benches replace them. Be careful because our grand kids slid the benches to the deck rail and could have fallen?

Pools are still very nice, most cast members are great. Beach at the beach house is just AWESOME since it gets rebuilt often! An oddity at the beach house was the closing of the sand bar, however they reopened it up recently but it has limited hours and A VERY LIMITED FROZEN DRINK MENU!?

Summertime parking is a PREMIUM, Tuesdays brings a 10 minute firework display out in the creek and DVCHHI is the best place to watch! October would be my best choice to visit because water is still warm, weather comfortable and it is LESS crowded on the Island! A new Kroger is nearby however check out the Fresh Market down the street! A Whole foods is opening at the end of the month!

If you come ask for a second floor it should be quieter for you and check the chairs under the live oak at the end of the parking lot!

Paddle boarding, kayaking, paddle canoe is available at an activities window and plenty of crafts for kids!
Hoping to return summer and October in 2015!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Don042053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this resort for a weekend in June and came back with our car got hit and run. The parking space there is very small and crowded. Plus usually people who go there would drive big family van or SUV. The right front side of our car got hit and dented in nobody noticed that until we got back home. We called Disney Hilton head resort right away, but the front desk said they could not do anything because there's no surveillance cameras in the parking lot. And they are not willing to issue a report because we informed them after we left the resort. Besides the parking issue, we were disappointed with the shuttle service. This service is over at 5 PM so basically you cannot enjoy the ocean breeze from the beach because you have to catch up the shuttle to go back to the resort. It is impossible to walk from the resort with Little kids to the beach. The distance is just too too long! For the price I paid for, I expect to the shuttle service to be at least after 8 PM. Summer days are long, 5 PM is not enough time for the beach. Very disappointed and won't be back again !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grace Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Property: Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3522
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing