We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our fav vacation spot...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Everywhere
Level Contributor
259 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Our fav vacation spot...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have been DVC members since 1999 (BWV and HHI), we always enjoy our relaxing stay at Hilton Head. This time we had a studio, building 12..next to Live Oak Lodge. No complaints, staff always friendly and helpful. Facilities are always clean. See ya next year Hilton Head!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank we_out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    179
    41
    14
    7
See reviews for
504
181
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Enjoyed a peaceful 4 days. The resort is nestled in an oak grove. All of Hilton Head seems to be build under the oaks rather than bulldozed out. Beautiful island. Standard Disney room setup, but seem to be larger than WDW resorts. We were in a one bedroom unit. Large living area. Kitchen had basic pots, pans and dishes. We cooked In all our meals. The resort only had 2 snack shacks, one at resort and the other at the beach. Shuttle bus runes every 30 minutes between resort and beach; A thirty minute run. Both beach and resort have pools. The resort pool is nestled amount oaks and buildings. Well protected from wind. That pool is heated to 80 degrees. There is a small store near the pool. "Mike the Pool Guy" supervises the pool area and crafts. There is a daily schedule of activities. The best way to get around is walk or bike. You can bring it or rent one. During the winter they serve the best warm apple cider and two types of cookies in the lobby, they go fast. Best time to check in is early afternoon; they get busy at 3 and after. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We had only one problem, the Internet access was off and on. We had to reenter the password very time and sometimes we would loose connection . Great Trip. Very relaxing. And WELL visit again, soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baysinj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Everything about this vacation was amazing. The rooms are spacious the staff is so friendly and accomadating. Everyday at 2 they have fresh baked cookies and lemonade in the lobby for free. There are lots of activities for the kids. From a DJ party by the pool with dancing to roasting marshmallows by a camp fire with sing alongs. This was my first disney hotel and it left a lasting impression. The fooditself in hilton head itself was amazing. Every place we ate the food was awesome and fresh. If you like seafood it is a added bonus to this vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We come here every Fall to use our leftover DVC points. The pools are heated for the cooler weather, and it it not very crowded. There are lots of activities for the kids -some at a nominal fee. The beach house is not on the property, but it is very nice & there is a shuttle service. The only restaurant is a walk up window with breakfast & lunch, but there are numerous ones nearby. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccermama63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We'd never been to HH before so we decided to use some Disney points and give it a try. On the marsh side, it seemed to be a more tranquail setting and the view was amazing! Since it was a little off season, it was quiet, which is fine with us! Don't come expecting to see Mickey and Minnie, you'll be dissappointed. If you've been to Disney resorts before the rooms won't be a surpise to you. They're the same 2 bed, 2 bath units we're use to in Orlando, without the Disney symbols everywhere. They do seem to have activities scheduled to keep the kids from going stir crazy and ofcourse they have a nice kid friendly pool and a fishing pier. Hilton Head does seem to be a little more of an adult appealing place than for kids. Service here is about the same as in any Disney resort, maybe a bit more laid back but still very friendly and helpful. There are no nice places on site for a good meal. There are a few places you can walk to but the majority of good dining requires driving. Get directions before you go out at night, there are no street lights or lit signage to tell you where you are!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Two couples shared a two bedroom villa. The rooms were large and included a full kitchen with everything we needed for our stay. We had a very nice deck/balcony overlooking the marsh area. I agree with some other reviews that I read that recommend an upper floor room overlooking the marsh area (unless you have kids and want to be close to the pool and the center of the activities). The resort is in Shelter Cove, so it is an easy walk to the shops and restaurants there. There was a free bluegrass concert in Shelter Cove on the Thursday evening that we were there. There is no sit down restaurant on the Disney property, so you will likely want a car to visit other restaurants and explore the island. We had planned to go on a dolphin excursion and a kayak tour, but the weather did not cooperate due to Hurricane Sandy. The recreation staff called and let us know about the cancellations and suggested other alternatives. We ended up renting bikes to ride to the beach and enjoying some of the other activities at the resort such as shuffleboard, ping pong, etc. We were there to relax and celebrate two birthdays, so the windy weather didn't bother us too much. The only complaint that we had was that the couch was uncomfortable to sit on.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, and the marsh view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Disney's Hilton Head resort on our way back north from our Florida DW trip. It was a nice stopover point between VA and FL, plus we'd never been before. Here's my thoughts:

The Staff: While a tad more laid back than the employee's you run into at the main Disney hub, this resort was still full of fresh and smiling faces. Particularly Mike the Pool Guy. He was extremely helpful in providing detailed information on Hilton Head island *and* Savannah. These guys were more than happy to carry on a conversation.

The Resort: The lodge and it's surrounding buildings sits at the edge of a marsh, which I really enjoyed. I'm a fan of Chincoteague, VA - and I *love* watching wildlife. The resort had a lovely boardwalk that took you on a path along the marsh, overlooking the sound. We saw a variety of birds. This is not your typical Disney resort, so don't come expecting to find Mickey everywhere you turn. What I liked so much about this place was the peacefulness about it. Our stay was during the off season, early November, and the resort was quiet. I will note, however, that the only building with elevators is the main lodge. The rest are accessible only by stairs, which wouldn't have been such a big deal had we not arrived broken and battered from a 4 day non-stop excursion to Disney World. Thankfully, they were accommodating and arranged a first floor 2-bedroom suite for us. I noticed most buildings only harbored two floors. There is also a nice heated pool on site, too. The hot-tub can comfortably fit a fairly large group. We enjoyed dipping our feet in and soaking in the warmth. The private beach house, located just over a mile from the resort, was really nice. I didn't mind the bus ride. I'm not sure the 10-5 hours are very accommodating, though. I imagine the limited hours angers a lot of beach-goers during the beach season. It was perfect for the cooler weather, though. Just enough time to go and enjoy a long walk on the beach in the afternoon, grab lunch at the onsite quick service, and catch a ride home.

The Room: The decor is very different from what I was expecting. Normally you find hidden Disney references all over the rooms, but not the case here. The theme of the rooms seems to be fishing and camping, which I thought was quite welcoming given the surroundings outside and the setup of the facilities. Our beds were comfy, everything was immaculate, and we even had a marvelous view of the marsh right outside our back deck. Each deck comes equipped with rocking chairs, a huge bonus! I enjoyed sitting out there in the mornings, sipping coffee and watching all of the birds and boaters float by along the marsh. Quite relaxing. What I *did not* like about the room is how incredibly thin the ceiling seemed to be. Or perhaps they need to consider doing a better job soundproofing. We could hear every thump, every shoe dropped, every suit case rolled, every noise made by the people up above us. Even their TV! It ruined the ambiance of the quiet resort a bit.

The Activities: The resort offered a decent amount of activities for both kids and adults. Some free, some that cost money. Personally, we didn't partake in any of them. We did, however, enjoy watching Disney's "Tangled" on a giant movie screen just a few steps away from our front door. Most evenings they hosted a campfire and movie. They also have game areas for horseshoes, cornhole, pingpong, foosball, etc. My friends and I had a great time playing pingpong for the first time in years!

All in all - we'd stay here again in the off season. I can only imagine what this place is like during the warmer months. With the thin walls, I'd rather hold out for the less crowded times of the year. We enjoyed ourselves immensely just walking around, relaxing in hammocks, and playing the onsite games.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room near the pool - the thin walls and loud noise echoing from the pool area ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Property: Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3522
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing