We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could use a little updating!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We checked in for 11 nights and only stayed about 9. ( we have relatives on the island and in Bluffton). Our room by the pool (overlooking the broad creek and dock) was noisy. We have outgrown the "baby~ little kid" stage so maybe this wasn't place for our family. My 2 younger children liked it but not our 14 year old. The staff is very nice and the tie dye shirt activity that our youngest did was great. We thought the pool was small and the room was pretty outdated. The carpet was really dirty. I wore shoes the whole time. Kitchen also needed a "brightening up".The TV was in a strange low spot on the kitchen island the couch was a horrible, slippery material that sloped up in the back like those chairs that lift for the elderly. We only had a bed change once in 11 days! and the housekeeper was surly when we asked her to come back it was only 9am) We didn't care for the location either. we won't be back.

Room Tip: can't imagine wanting to overlook that loud pool, but i see a review here where someone actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceykrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 995 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our first time staying at DVC Hilton Head Island, and you can be sure we will be back. A small complex by Disney standards and that what makes this place so great, nestled by the marsh, sheltered by shade from the surrounding trees, and a small number of rooms all create a quite atmosphere. The complex even has a great beach club right on the ocean reserved for guests. You may have a hard time getting a reservation here, I did, but the wait was worth it.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank atcretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We are DVC members and this was the first time staying at this resort. First, the hotel is not on the beach. You have to either walk or take a shuttle across the street to the beach. Secondly, the pool was small for all the guests we encountered during the 4th of July holiday. As for the accomodations they were average. The decorations were cute however everything seems old. The rugs in the room and the fixtures looked worn. We were disappointed with the overall appearance and comfort of this resort. The one thing we did enjoy were the festivities at the pool on 4th of July. They had a dj and lots of games for the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights, two adults and two children in a two bed apartment. We really liked the setting and we were looking forward to a relaxing break, different to the Orlando experience as we were lead to believe from the literature. We are DVC members and have stayed in every Disney Vacation property over the years.
Check in was excellent, Maureen and Hannah were helpful and very nice. The guys at the bike rentals were also very friendly and efficient.
The main area of disappointment for us was the size of the pool at the main property, pool at the beach hut as good. However, our main complaint is the volume level of the music at the pool, this was so loud that we moved two days running to get away from it, we shouldn't have to do this. It was clear that all the pool staff were having a great time and they were encouraging each other to turn the volume up, this can not be right! They said the music was due to children's activities about to begin, however, the volume level was inappropriate, a number of other families left when we did.

One other area that needs to be looked at is; our door was knocked really loudly at 9.15am on our day of departure by housekeeping, when we answered, the housekeeper was quite sharp and demanded that we vacate the room by 11am. Firstly, we are DVC members and fully know the departure protocol, we were heading out of Hilton Head back to the UK, and we were fully packed the night before and were still in bed at 9.15, hoping to have a final lie in until our set alarms at 9.45, having enjoyed a final late night in Hilton Head!

We enjoyed our time in Hilton Head but feels little let down on the promise of a relaxing, slow pace.



Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Wpd58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our four adults and two small children shared a two bedroom villa - we found it excellent. The "rustic" feel is about the decor - not the condition. The place feels very comfortable and I think children, especially, feel very comfortable here. As you would expect, Disney tends to the smallest detail. The staff is very well trained and very friendly.

The resort itself is 1 1/2 miles from the beach, but Disney has a private facility at the beach that is wonderful. Besides a nice pool there are games, food, a bar, a kids play fountain, and lockers available for 25 cents where you can store items you don't wish to take to the beach.

The pool at the resort has a great water slide that is open until the life guards leave at six. The pool is open till 10 pm. Disney holds a number of activities through the day - but there is plenty to do do.

Disney runs a shuttle bus between the resort and the beach. There is parking, but our first day all the spots were full. I'd recommend the shuttle as the easy option. Beach umbrellas with two chairs are available but the rental is not handled by Disney. Cost for an umbrella for a day was $18. Older kids would enjoy renting a bike for the entire stay, and the prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: If your kids can't climb steps avoid the second floor units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed her efor 1 night in January and of course,the stay was excellent. We were in a studio just above the main lobby. I was a bit unsure of what it would be like, but being a Disney Vacation Club Resort, I knew it would be great and it was. The room was very clean and well stocked, we had a nice roomy balcony, and comfortable bedding. We did have some difficulty with the DVD player, but nothing we couldn't figure out ourselves. We hope to get the chance to stay here again and enjoy more than one night.

Unfortunately, the Beachhouse was closed for Refurb, and there was no parking at the area where they sent us to use beach access, but we found a public acces area and were able to enjoy the beach for a little while, even though it was January (a very warm day).

We also did a little shopping at the store, always love a Disney giftshop.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlemiss211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Place is awesome, staff is great. some of furnishings need to be renovated as well as some carpets replaced, but overall such a great place!! Pools great, beach great, lots of activities for kids.
2nd time to this resort and it's so relaxing. grounds beautiful. recommend renting bikes. It was so nice to ride to beach house and ride on the sand in the early am.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kscj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.6 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.5 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
808 reviews
2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3522
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $138 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing