We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family resort with beach access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful family resort with beach access”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This resort is well done, in typical Disney fashion when they say "Welcome Home!" as you check-in. Every employee greets you, even the 20 something lifeguard walking about 30 feet away turned to say, "Hi, How's your day?". We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom unit which had very spacious bedrooms and baths, full kitchen, washer & dryer... everything you'd need for a week's stay. Only complaints we had were that the couch which was also a sofa bed, wasn't super comfortable, and my husband complained that the tvs were small in the bedroom, but you are not there to watch tv.
The pool was a good size with a water slide for the kids, shuffleboard, playground, and even a fire pit. While some have commented on the beach not being at the resort site, it really wasn't a big deal to drive over to the beach. The pool there was nice as well, nice lounge chairs, fast food restaurant and a bar. The beach is quite wide with really packed sand, so many people were riding bikes on it.
Most of the buildings require going up to at least the second floor(I'm sure because of flooding possibilities), so there are a lot of stairs to do. I'm sure Disney has elevators around, so that's just an fyi.
Just fast food on the property, but there are several restaurants within walking distance and so many good ones within a few miles.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelhutjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    185
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
532
187
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I wanted to use our DVC points so on our way down to visit family in Florida, we stayed one night on the way down and one night on the way home. It was great! From the moment we checked in until we left to go home, we loved it. Our 2 bedroom villa on the way home looked out onto the water and fishing pier, what a great view. It was spacious and very comfortable, plenty of room for a family of 5. There was a lot of activities for the kids and when we come back next year for a longer stay, I will make sure we participate in these. We drove ourselves to the beach house and that was beautiful also. I wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnston128c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

First trip to Hilton Head. No kids this trip. There was a lot to do for adults with a romantic atmosphere. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Kyaking is a must! Got a great massage arranged through the resort.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psquared86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our first time to Hilton Head. With my family of 5 we stayed in a two bedroom on the second floor. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Grandma absolutely loved the rocking chair on the porch. Never felt cramped or confined. The staff was awesome always went above and beyond. Even helped out with a bicycle repair at no cost. The campfire was awesome the kids had a great time. Highly recommend bicycles that is the best way to get around. As DVC members this is well worth driving up from south Florida going right by Orlando. We cant wait for next Spring break. Be sure to take a nap on a hammock.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeySWFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Using a friend's Disney Vacation Club points, 2 grandparents, 2 parents, and 3 children stayed at this resort over Easter vacation. The 2 bedroom unit was more than adequate and decor most appealing. Don't expect "Mickey and Minnie" to be around and the activites for children were not what our 16/13/8 year olds wanted to participate in. If I were paying full price for the 4 nights, I would have been disappointed. The beach area and pool were great, but no food except for a very expensive brunch buffet was available on Easter day at the Beach House. However, the island of Hilton Head had many great and reasonably priced restaurants - would definitely consider this area again "off season" but probably not the Disney resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gee-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We have the Disney Vacation Club and have stayed here many times over the years. We love the resort and have always enjoyed our stays. My only complaint is that the rooms are needing to be cleaned better. We've stayed in one, two and three bedrooms and it's always the same. The kitchen is never very clean, the whirlpool tubs have stains and the rooms don't smell "fresh and clean".

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Every stay at Disney's HHI Resort has been incredible. The staff is top-notch; the rooms and resort is beautiful. There are a number of activities for the whole family right at the resort, and the rest of HHI offers a great number of great restaurants. The beach house is very nice, as is the main pool. We hope to stay here many times in the future!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.6 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Property: Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3522
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing