We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Course with a view.

Palmetto Dunes will challenge any golfer. It has some relatively easy holes but as you get closer... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
mkcasavant
,
Hilton Head, South Carolina
The perfect place for a family vacation

We have been to Hilton Head a number of times and our favorite resort is Palmetto Dunes. There is... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
Nils Y
via mobile
Read all 190 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Hilton Head
from $125.00
More Info
from $29.95
More Info
from $119.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
146
25
12
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
25
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store vacation company barrington court windsor place three bedroom terrific vacation golf course great golf dunes buggy robert trent jones gated community either direction favorite activities three courses bike shop bike rental year after year
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Palmetto Dunes will challenge any golfer. It has some relatively easy holes but as you get closer to the ocean it all changes with winds and views. Do you finish your round or go for a stroll on the beach? Some holes become so challenging the stroll on the beach might be the better choice. Totally enjoyed my round and makes you want to try again.

Thank mkcasavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We have been to Hilton Head a number of times and our favorite resort is Palmetto Dunes. There is plenty to do; the entire resort area is quite pretty and tranquil; it is convenient to shopping and restaurants; and if you are a beach person you will not be disappointed, it is wonderful; and there is plenty of great golf and tennis to keep a person occupied.

We have previously rented both two and three bedroom condos on the beach, but this time it was a family get together and we needed a large house. Our rental was through Palmetto Dunes and the entire rental experience was excellent. There were plenty of choices in a variety of sizes and locations and the website was easy to use. The house we rented was spacious, well maintained, had both a pool and a short walk to the beach, and quite simply it was perfect. In addition, there was plenty of follow by the Resort to ensure there were no issues with our rental.

Thank Nils Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Loved the pro shop and Mike fixed my missing spike in my golf shoe. Everyone was very courteous and professional. The course and facilities were excellent and loved the golf course and especially hole #10.

Was a little surprised that the tees were not perfect. It was a great experience.

Thank waterdog69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

The beach is clean and beautiful, the amenities are outstanding, the service is impeccable. We first came to Hilton Head (many years ago) because we had run out of places for weekend jaunts. Now it's one of our favorite places in the world. I come here for vacations, holidays, golf trips, and meetings. Palmetto Dunes is a world unto itself and we love it. Great location, great times. Be sure you do the kayaks around the lagoon. If you play golf, the RTJ Ocean course is not to be missed.

Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

This place was amazing.... there is just about anything you want to do here. Walking track, bicycles, golf, kayaking,swimming and right on the ocean. The only issue was getting in the place.. the condo owner had called 2 times to give our name to get in but they couldn’t find it in computer. I guess that’s good security but the lady was quiet hateful trying to explain at the check-in window.

Thank beachbabymorristown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

This was our second time visiting Palmetto Dunes. Also our second time in our fantastic Villa in St. Andrews Common. An exceptional Villa, wonderful location,all the comforts of home, and more importantly the best owners you could ever have to deal with. Roberta and her husband are just simply the best. They are so accommodating and wonderful to work with. If you want the best relaxing vacation ever, then stay at this Villa! It has it all!!

1  Thank coach2731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

Great location for vacation. When you book, be aware that this is a collection of properties including hotels, condos, villas, and houses with varying amenities. The overall property amenities include golf, tennis, rentals for bikes, kayaks, canoes and beach chairs/umbrellas, 3 restaurants, and a general store. Some properties are on the beach, others are not. There is a 5 mile bike path that runs through the property. There is no early check in for rental properties so plan accordingly. Kroger and Whole Foods close by.

1  Thank bagel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

This was our first time staying in Palmetto Dunes Resort and we loved it. We stayed at Moorings 73-74 a two bedroom condo rented from the Vacation Company. The condo was very nice and had everything we needed for the week. The condo was very close to the beach and bike trails, all the bike trails in the resort were well kept and easy to ride. We saw wildlife everyday that we were there, from Dolphins on the beach to alligators in the lagoons, deer and heron everywhere. The beach was so nice to ride bikes on and swim in the afternoon. we were able to walk or ride bike to the stores or restaurants when ever we wanted, Peaceful and relaxing location.

1  Thank norma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Great place for older children but this resort does not have much in the area for young children to do. I had two 6 year olds a 12 year old and a three year old that was board because there was nothing but the pool and the beach to entertain them they had no interest in golf or tennis or riding bikes. Children and only take so much of the was before we have to go find fun elsewhere and the island has nothing of interest for nobody but golfers!! We made the best of our vacation while we were here the condo was nice the beach was clean but the place has no night life!!

1  Thank tlr398228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

This was our first trip to HHI. We loved it HHI, and will definitely return, however we might check out other areas besides Palmetto Dunes. Pros: great family vacation area with beautiful beach. Cons: the pool where our condo was located was very small for a neighborhood pool. It was the size of a pool in someone’s backyard. We have travelled to many different areas in Florida and South Carolina for vacation, the pool at Palmetto Dunes is by far the smallest. Also, the pool was closed for three days of our stay for the week. We called the Palmetto Dunes property number. The lady acted surprised that the pool was closed, and asked for our information, she told us that she would investigate and call us back. We never received a call back. We had to check daily to see if the pool was open.

1  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews