We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, Love, Palmetto Dunes!!”

Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Named to the Top 25 of Travel + Leisure magazine's list of the World’s Best Family Resorts, Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort on Hilton Head Island has earned this distinction by providing a world-class golf experience alongside vacations that are sure to please the whole family. There's something to do and see for everyone, no matter the age, no matter the interest. Its 2,000 acres, nestled on three miles of sun-kissed Atlantic Ocean Beachfront provide the perfect venue for three world-class golf courses, an award-winning tennis center and an 11-mile lagoon perfect for kayaking, fishing and exploring the pristine natural environment. Offering vacation homes and villa rentals to accommodate groups of all sizes.
East Coast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Palmetto Dunes!!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have been coming to HH for over 20 years. We have stayed in all the other Plantations on the island. When we discovered Palmetto Dunes, we realized we had found our HH home-at least for the month we come every fall. We prefer a quieter location on the Fazio golf course, but always find a convenient place to park at the Palmetto Dunes beachfront lot and enjoy our time on the clean adjacent beach. Some of the bike paths are a little too close to the road to suit us, but makes for some great walking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaggiesMom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    22
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Arthur Hills”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Our golfing experience was top notch. The course was in beautiful condition, challenging and scenic. The perfect course to play on a beautiful day.

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Condos are well maintained and grounds are immaculate”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Liked that the plantation is gated for privacy and every stay on the plantation has been a good experience. Would recomment it for anyone. We always visit either in the Spring or Fall so I'm not sure how it would fare in the summer during the busy season.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, sc usa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Golf”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Several great courses to test all skill levels. Some tight fairways and the wind seems to blow in your face on every hole somehow and yes, that is an alligator.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank psand22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Golf Robert Trent Jones”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

They say they over seeded fairways and it was cart path only We play other resort courses and never run into this issue The halfway house was closed and it was a weekend For a resort course they are not customer friendly

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jlpgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing