We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Van Der Meer Drill and Play Tennis Weekend Clinic”

Van Der Meer Tennis Center
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Van Der Meer Drill and Play Tennis Weekend Clinic”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Participated in the weekend Drill and Play clinic in June at the beautiful Van Der Meer Tennis Center in Shipyard Resort. Outstanding instruction and tips that truly helped my game improve. Six players to every pro - excellent ratio. 10 hours of tennis and we did not miss a minute due to rain, thanks to them having 3 very nice indoor courts. No ball machines were ever used. They even had a courtside reception for us on Friday night on the porch of the tennis center with ice cold beer/wine and good food. Fun, social time to get to know the pros and the other players in the clinic. Can't wait to come back this Fall and bring my entire league team!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meticulouslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Both instructive and fun”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Booked two private lessons with Mike for our family. He taught us a lot, but, clearly seeing that we were beginners, kept it light and fun for us as well. Very happy that we did this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Great professional tennis instruction. Much better instruction than I get at my country club or local tennis centers. Beautiful location. I'd love to come here again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYCAMPERSFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Facility looks old but clinic was great”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had a great tennis clinic with Loui for 1.5 hrs. However, I've been to other tennis facilities and this was not what I would have expected from a property in Hilton Head where everything is always so lush and beautiful. It was just ok.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jones4Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice tennis center”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Played daily and some of the family took a few lessons. Courts were nice, lessons very informative, people were very friendly and helpful. Pro shops need more items for visitors to buy, but our experience was very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kytravel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Der Meer Tennis Center also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Van Der Meer Tennis Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing