We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual Chique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bomboras Grille & Chill Bar

Bomboras Grille & Chill Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Bomboras Grille & Chill Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 362 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bomboras Grille is located just off Coligny Beach. The menu is Low Country, made from scratch using the freshest ingredients. Both Lunch, Dinner and Late Night is served. Come in and see your beer fill up through the bottom. Indoor and Outdoor seating is available. Come in and chill. Family Friendly! Voted Best BBQ Pulled Pork on Hilton Head with our BBQ Pulled Pork Sliders!
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Casual Chique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We were quite happy with Bomboras! We went for an early Saturday dinner. They have a nice patio. We sat at a high top that was sheltered because it looked like rain. (And it did indeed rain!) There are also several tables with umbrellas. The inside is sleek and sophistcated but inviting at the same time. Nice bar! The menu is quite extensive with appetizers, soups and salads, sliders, "social plates" (aka small plates) and large plates. Everything we had was delicious - interesting and flavorful, good presentation. My favorite was the social plate crab cakes - four small cakes full of flavor. Also had goat cheese and tomato appetizer. It is a tomato purée with melted goat cheese that you spread on crostini. Yum! My hubby had cheddar and jalapeño hush puppies and pork sliders. The sliders were a good size, not those tiny ones you sometimes get. Then we shared pork egg rolls. All in all a very nice evening!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rwalk1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    181
    74
    32
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Bomboras Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently enjoyed an evening here with friends. Great atmosphere and great food. The menu is a mixture of either small sharing plates or full sized meals, your choice (the fried pickles were delicious). They have also have a neat way of filling your glass with beer at the bar - not going to give it way here, but you should go and find out for yourself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“To each their own...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Saw the great reviews, and visited Bomborras our first night on the island. Overall, we were pretty disappointed. We thought the dinner menu was pretty limited with only a few seafod dishes, and one steak despite the advertising that this is a specialty. Friday night dinner at 6:30, and their were no dinner specials that night. Another couple was seated next to us, and they left after looking at the menu.

Pork spring rolls were excellent, and we loved the fries. Good beer menu. However, service was just average.. kind of rushed and not even asked if we enjoyed our meal. Much better choices on the island. Doubt we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JYDConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Tried a few appetizers and they were all fantastic. Pulled pork spring rolls, chili fries and the fried pickles were amazing. The drinks were very good with a wide variety. We also tried the pulled pork sliders which were good but I thought could use a bit more bbq sauce. Great service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank del_2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the BEST resturant in Hilton Head! The seafood is to die for, the beer and other adult beverages are awesome and the atmosphere is is great. Can't say enough good things about Bombers! Oh, and if you like black eyed peas, they have them deep fried and they are sooooo good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beatwalkerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomboras Grille & Chill Bar also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bomboras Grille & Chill Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing