We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Sea crest informed us in advance that only one parking space per unit. They told us that additional parking was available. They didn't mention that there were only 5 additional spots. When I asked about more parking the manager said "your on your own" and was unwilling to even offer help. When I insisted for her help she informed me that there was nothing she could do and it wasn't her job.

The resort is OK. It's 2 blocks from the beach. Very nice pool area with a playground and park. The general rudeness and complete lack of customer service ruins it. Go to a Wyndham resort instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    59
    35
    17
    20
See reviews for
105
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a fantastic little resort in an ideal location. I've been coming to Hilton Head for 30 years, and know/love this island well. Sea Crest has a Caribbean feel to it with lots of indoor/outdoor space, flowers and plants. The one bedroom units have a small one bedroom, which is ok, as you dont go to HH to spend much time there/inside, but I suggest the 2 bedroom unit whose master bedroom is HUGE. The property has 2 nice pools, but the real treat is being able to use it's sister property's ocean front facilities (right across the street) - gorgeous pool, tiki bar, bathrooms, and views views views. Coligany plaza is right across the street too, with lots of lovely boutiques, restaurants, wine and specialty shops, and market. This is a family run resort with very helpful staff. The units are not huge or super fancy as are some condos on the island, but they are immaculate and comfortable, and if you are looking for a fun beach vacation, this is the place.

Room Tip: Recommend 2 bedroom units on office/am sun side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCrestSurf, Manager at Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words!! Here at Sea Crest we try very hard to make sure everyone has an enjoyable vacation. The staff truly cares about our guests, and we appreciate hearing that is how you felt. Please come back for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Although not the most up to date decor, this resort fit the bill in many ways! Location, location, location! It is located very close to the beach and across the street from a shopping mall with restaurants, shops and a Piggly Wiggly for last minute purchases! Also, RIGHT ON the beach was their sister resort with a pool and restrooms. We had use of both resorts! Very convenient!
Check in and out was breeze. The rooms were big with bedrooms that were separate enough for total privacy! The decor was a bit dated but they were furnished with everything needed for a good stay.
With two pools on property AND one at the ocean resort AND the close proximity to the ocean, we enjoyed lots of quality time in the water! We enjoyed the resort and the location. We could park the car and do everything we enjoyed. I had no need to go to the office after a quick and easy check-in.- there was no need to interact with any of the staff because there were no problems during our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia123444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCrestSurf, Manager at Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!! Thank you for talking time and writing us a review. We refurbish all of our units every four years, and will be replacing the decor, and furniture. We hope you will make back to Sea Crest to see all the changes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Sea Crest is far from the best but it is still okay. They have 2 very nice pools. The rooms are spacious with balconies. The kitchens are furnished. Its about a block from the beach and across the street from a very nice shopping center.

Room Tip: We had a very spacious 2 bed room on the 4th floor. It had the master bedroom with a king bed and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdublu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCrestSurf, Manager at Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to write us a review. We try very hard to all of guests to feel like that they are at "Home" for the week that they are visiting. Suggestions are always welcomed. We take all of our feedback very seriously and try to always make Sea Crest better. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed there this past April with my son and grandkids on an RCI exchange. What a dumpy place and a total waste of a transfer fee. Whenever we went to the office, it was full of smoke...illegal. They charge for a change of towels...$5. We had to buy dish detergent and paper towels, as they were not provided. The beds were so very uncomfortable. The bunk beds were not even made up; had only the bedspreads on. The unit (103) was not clean; mold in the shower area. The place is old and has not ever been updated. Also, DO NOT LEAVE ANYTHING VALUABLE IN THE CONDO AS THE EMPLOYEES HELP THEMSELVES TO YOUR BELONGINGS. Will never, ever go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davmar97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCrestSurf, Manager at Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit here at Sea Crest. This is the first time that we have heard that you did not sleep well or that you had an issue with the shower. Next time please do not hesitate in reporting any issues you might have, we will promptly have everything taken care of for you. We had the mattress checked to see if it is needed to be replaced, and housekeeping went to check the shower. Mold was not found but for good measure the shower was bleached and re-caulked. Thank you for bring this to our attention. Each unit here at Sea Crest is re-done ever 4 years, we redo 20-25 units per year, so the oldest any unit would every be is 4 years old. We have owners who have been coming for 30 plus years, who are very happy with how Sea Crest is kept up. The unit that you stayed in, 103 was redone in October of 2011. It will be redone again in 2015. We try very hard here to help our guests and maintain a beautiful resort. Sea Crest supplies to each unit with Coffee Filters, dishwasher detergent, toilet paper, trash bags and bar soap, there is a grocery across the street which is very convenient for our guests and they carry paper towels, and anything else you might need. We also supply each unit with full set of bath, hand, wash and kitchen towels. There is a laundry room on site if you need clean towels during the week or we offer a towel exchange program for $5.00, for the entire unit. Our staff has been working here for many many years, and do not go through anyone's belongings. We accommodated you immediately when your belongings were found left in the unit. We promptly shipped ALL of the belongings that you left to you. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to track down any additional items that you might have misplaced. Hopefully they will turn up. Please come back and let us try to make your next visit highly enjoyable!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I too have been coming to Sea Crest since the mid 80's when my parents bought a time share. We have been coming here the first week of June ever since, this next trip will have 4 generations of our family there. The units have held up well over time and they do "update" them periodically with new paint, furniture, carpets, appliances as need be. They've added DVD players in the rooms and (from reading some of the reviews) I'm guessing wifi now for internet access. Nice gazebo, grill area and playground in the back. Spacious and great location for a week at the beach. Nice pools and the jacuzzi, the grounds are always nicely landscaped and well cared for. You can't beat the location, just across the street from Coligny Plaza. The public beach access area across from the front of Coligny was "improved" several years ago and it's great! Swings, splash fountain for kids, showers, changing rooms and plenty of parking. It's a lovely island area that has held up well over the many years of tourist traffic. I look forward to this trip every year. :0)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCrestSurf, Manager at Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review!! We appreciate your kind words. Sea Crest is more like a family here with many of our original owners coming back year after year with their families. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I enjoyed our recent stay. The rooms were excellent and I thought the internet connection was the best of all the place I stayed. The kitchen and supplies was excellent. I highly recommend the faacilitie.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomofsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCrestSurf, Manager at Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
I am so very glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Sea Crest. The wi-fi in the units were installed recently, and am very happy to hear that it worked so well. Thank you for your review, we appreciate that you took the time to write one. I hope that you can make it back to island soon for another visit at Sea Crest!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
0.7 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club

Property: Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club
Address: 3 Avocet St, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club!!A great family resort, the place to be for the best location on Hilton Head Island. At the Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club you will find 3 Swimming Pools, one of which is heated, an outdoor Hot Tub, 4 Tennis Courts & a coin operated Laundromat. The Resort has WI-FI in each Condo and at each of the Pool Areas.There is a courtyard area with shuffleboard, gas and charcoal barbeque grills, picnic tables and a playground for our little friends. On site there is also an activity center where books, games and various other items can be signed out.Guests have access to a third pool & deck overlooking the Beach, here you will find a junior Olympic size Pool, Kiddie Pool, Snack Bar (Seasonal) & Restrooms.Sea Crest accommodates each reservation with one parking spot. A parking pass for your car is passed out at check in. This pass needs to remain visible in your windshield at all times during your stay. Anyone with an additional car is welcomed to find public street parking.To those of you visiting the Sea Crest for the first time, may we offer a special WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Crest Surf And Racquet Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing