We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a find!!”

A Lowcountry Backyard
Ranked #16 of 365 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Lowcountry Style Cuisine prepared the way it used to be. All homemade, delicious Crab Cakes, Fried Green Tomato BLT's, Banana pudding, Seafood, Soups, Salads and sandwiches, just to name a few. Fresh desserts and cakes prepared daily. Dine inside, or outside in a classic, Lowcountry Backyard garden complete with porch swing and flickering lamps. Relax and share food, stories and advice with each other. Definitely, make yourself at home. Welcome!
Hillsborough
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

It's been here for four years and we just found it-not really easy!! I don't know if they take reservations, but make one if you can. Live music, unique setting, and shrimp and grits to die for!! We visit Hilton head often, and we'll definitely be going back to this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,867
    540
    150
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Glad we came here early in our trip because we came back again! Come early, as soon as they open at 4:30 to ensure you have an outdoor table in their small, but lovely garden area with fountains, a putting green and bags that help keep the little ones entertained. Very family friendly, very idyllic, very good food with dessert options that change daily. Get the amaretto bread pudding if it happens to be an option the night you're there (actually, get two, you won't want to share!). Our bill for two adults and 1 child which included an appetizer, meals, two drinks and two dessert was around $100 each night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidwestGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family Oriented Yet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Family oriented yet excellent choice in drinks. Try the moonshine specials a really enjoy your afternoon. Very good food as well

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BILLYWAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We took our 3.5 year old twins here after a day of fun in the sun. They were tired and a bit cranky while we waited outside the fence. We should have waited inside but we didn't know that was an option. Once inside the kids saw other kids playing games (putt putt golf, bean bag toss and ring thing) and they instantly perked up and went over and made friends. Needless to say, the atmosphere is fantastic and perfect for families. Then... The food came and the adults were blown away! The pulled pork, the barbecue chicken and shrimp and the wahoo special were all amazing. We even tried the moonshine sampler (not for the faint of heart!). Overall, this was one of the best meals we have had out at a restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mokiemokiemokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statham, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We got there early, about 4:30, right as they opened because we wanted outside as everyone said. It was really nice day, great to be eating outside in the "Backyard". The staff is great, very attentive and friendly, without being overbearing. My wife had the special, blackened sea bass with shrimp and crap. It was really good. Perfect portion, great taste. She loved it. I had the shrimp and grits and was not thrilled by them. Don't get me wrong, they were good. I was just expecting more for all the reviews talking about them. Just not the way I like them. But all these reviews can't be wrong, just not my taste. I like them a little spicy, more of a cajun style I guess.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slw642000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lowcountry Backyard also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A Lowcountry Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing