We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly better than average”

A Lowcountry Backyard
Ranked #14 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Authentic Lowcountry Style Cuisine prepared the way it used to be. All homemade, delicious Crab Cakes, Fried Green Tomato BLT's, Banana pudding, Seafood, Soups, Salads and sandwiches, just to name a few. Fresh desserts and cakes prepared daily. Dine inside, or outside in a classic, Lowcountry Backyard garden complete with porch swing and flickering lamps. Relax and share food, stories and advice with each other. Definitely, make yourself at home. Welcome!
Tri-Cities, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slightly better than average”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Being in slot #3 for best overall restaurant on Hilton Head comes with a lot of high expectations! The food was really good and was presented very well, but our family was a little disappointed how small our meals were. For the money we thought we would get a decent sized portion but we almost left still feeling hungry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MCHEGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,967
    576
    158
    44
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome, friendly and accommodating to our large group!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a large group of 16 people including children. The wait was about an hour however it was well worth it! They served us drinks and appetizers while we waited outside. The kids could played with all of the yard games and had a fun time. The staff was very friendly and very personable which is especially nice when traveling with small children. The food was excellent!!! Our group tried a little of everything. My father in law can't stop talking about how much he enjoyed the restaurant as we are vacationing in HHI for his 70th bday. Will definitely be back next year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lpeter299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I posted a review previously but apparently the owners have a way of having them removed. We waited like others have mentioned. Not just the 1 hours stated but 2 hours then told we would be seated outside only to seated at an inside near the kitchen table near closing. Food was definitely average and not worth the wait. Beware it is a island gimick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowcountryBackyard, Owner at A Lowcountry Backyard, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
As an owner, the last thing that you wish to do is hear that someone had a terrible experience at your restaurant. The second to last thing you wish to do is face off on issues with the person who wrote it. Since we have not been on a two hour wait since june of last year, the conclusion can only be that this was a summer customer. Unfortunate that they thought they wrote a review and we removed it. Business owners cannot remove TripAdvisor reviews, only TripAdvisor can. They do sometimes remove the review of those who violate writing policies or do not adhere to their review guidelines. If you indeed wrote one, maybe your original review was removed for that? I honestly hope that they remove this one too since it just seems obvious that this persons agenda is simply to steer people away from our restaurant, almost like they want to see our sales hurt or something. So angry. Why else would you wait over 9 months to post a review that is broadcasting a signal to people not go there, unless your aim is to hurt the restaurants business? Why do that? We are a family run business who strives hard to satisfy every guest or we certainly would not be so highly rated. "Beware, it is an island gimmick"? So out of the over 1,000 reviews of our restaurant and to those people who felt we deserved four to five stars, your are right and everyone else is wrong, that our restaurant is a gimmick? What does that even mean pertaining to your review? Does it mean that you decided to eat there because you fell for the reviews of 1,000 other people who thought we did a great job but you didn't like it? That doesn't make us a gimmick, it makes us a restaurant that isn't on your list of places that you enjoyed. You didn't mention why you had to wait longer. Did we make a mistake, did you leave the property and come back late, did another party stay longer than expected? How can we do better if you don't tell us what happened? If you had to wait over your quoted wait time to do our errors, or something that was simply out of our control, I apologize. It is not a normal occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Pimento cheese appetizer was the best ever; shrimp and grits - I overheard "best I have ever tasted"; Bischick - perfect combination; and the Purloo...we may come back for brunch tomorrow. And the service - impressive. So friendly and prompt!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suthrngirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Barbeque in Decades”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife & I went here last week and would definitely go back. I had the Backyard Reunion and it was the best barbeque I have had in decades. The Rootbeer glazed shrimp were a bit different - but fun! My wife really liked the fried green tomato BLT. We read quite a bit on Tripadvisor about the staff there. Absolutely no exaggeration. These were about the nicest people you could ever meet. Very glad we found them!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCSaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lowcountry Backyard also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A Lowcountry Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing