We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and will be back!”

A Lowcountry Backyard
Ranked #16 of 368 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Lowcountry Style Cuisine prepared the way it used to be. All homemade, delicious Crab Cakes, Fried Green Tomato BLT's, Banana pudding, Seafood, Soups, Salads and sandwiches, just to name a few. Fresh desserts and cakes prepared daily. Dine inside, or outside in a classic, Lowcountry Backyard garden complete with porch swing and flickering lamps. Relax and share food, stories and advice with each other. Definitely, make yourself at home. Welcome!
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful and will be back!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went for lunch on cloudy cold day with a few friends. Two of us had the Suzie Q blackened Tofu Melt, wonderful. We recommend it. We also shared the May River Blue Crab Dip. Very good as well. A third friend had the soup of the day and while I didn't taste it it did look good. They are known for their sangria and because of the time of day and weather we declined. Great service, a very nice place. I will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,890
    549
    151
    41
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome service!!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant for our first night in Hilton Head, and it was wonderful! Staff are super friendly and attentive. Our meals were fantastic! Collard greens and potato chip meatloaf were particular favorites. Great restaurant!!

Helpful?
Thank DeeDee432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must Visit if in Hilton Head!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We come down to Hilton Head every Spring and this is ALWAYS on our list of "must eats". The staff is very friendly and the food is excellent! My favorite is the Shrimp & Grits followed by the "Banana Puddin"but you really cannot go wrong.The place is a little difficult to find (Right after "Isle of Paws"and "Auto Spa"?) tucked to the left but is well worth the hunt!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewtownsend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTW
1 review
“A unique and personal experience”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Coming from the UK, you might think this would not be to our liking, but believe me it was. The service could not have been more accommodating, the Crab Dip starter was tasty and more than enough for two to share. The main courses - shrimp/grits and purloo - were wonderful. We've been coming to Hilton Head for years and this is now an annual must.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cozy, Warm Atmosphere and Great Food”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Really enjoyed our time Sunday morning for Brunch here. Sat outside. Was nice and quiet. Enjoyed the food and Katie did a great job taking care of us. Thanks again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee5891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lowcountry Backyard also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A Lowcountry Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing