We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another awesome meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Lowcountry Backyard

A Lowcountry Backyard
Ranked #17 of 361 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Lowcountry Style Cuisine prepared the way it used to be. All homemade, delicious Crab Cakes, Fried Green Tomato BLT's, Banana pudding, Seafood, Soups, Salads and sandwiches, just to name a few. Fresh desserts and cakes prepared daily. Dine inside, or outside in a classic, Lowcountry Backyard garden complete with porch swing and flickering lamps. Relax and share food, stories and advice with each other. Definitely, make yourself at home. Welcome!
cincinnati
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another awesome meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was my third visit, and meal was great as usual. Be prepared for a wait, this place has really become popular. Shrimp and grits were the best I ever had! Definitely worth the wait and I cant wait to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,836
    524
    147
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant got very good reviews from trip advisor so we went. We ate outside in the backyard which had great ambience. However, the food and the waitress left a lot to be desired. The fried green tomatoes were a disappointment as was much of the other foods. The waitress was not willing to make accommodations for our friend, who had recently had surgery. She was unable to eat more than 4 oz total of food. She asked for a side dish portion of an item and she said it was not possible without even checking with management.
I don't believe we will be going back anytime soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mitzi girls weekend Oct 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my 2nd visit to this restaurant. I was so impressed the first time, I HAD to go back again. I'll be back in Hilton Head the weekend of Nov. 1st and plan to eat there again; yes... it's that good!

There are a LOT of good places to eat on the Island; but the food and the outdoor atmosphere of the BackYard has won me over!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MitziMB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ate dinner at A Lowcountry Backyard on our recent trip to Hilton Head based on the Tripadvisor ratings. It was even better than we expected. Food was fabulous, service was great and the atmosphere was just what we were looking for. It was so good we ended going back a second night during our visit. Second time was just as good as the first. Fairly small on the inside so be prepared for a little wait. Just have a drink and relax, the wait will be worth it. Our new favorite place in Hilton Head!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We come to Hilton Head every year and look forward to brunch at A Low Country Backyard. We just had another amazing meal there. My Mom had the Bananas Foster French Toast and I had the Low Country Benedict. Oh my gosh both were wonderful! Just as expected. Make sure you take the time to eat here while in the island. You won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lowcountry Backyard also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A Lowcountry Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing